1/27 Fortune AMPS 312 +1 353 +2 377 +4 326 - advice for internist in NNJ/NYC?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by RachelG, Jan 27, 2021.

  1. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Yesterday

    Fortune is pretty flat so far - hoping we get a curve soon!

    Also, not sure if this is the best place to post but I'm trying to find a vet that specializes in bowel disease and diabetes. I'm overwhelmed and worried that my boy isn't getting the best care the more I learn, and while I have an appointment with an internist I don't want to delay getting him the right care. I live in Northern NJ but not far from Manhattan and willing to shlep for the right specialist.
     
  2. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    RachelG and JOJI and Kit like this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm sorry but the practice I go to are not internal specialists.
    So sorry . I hope you can get in soon with the one you found
    @RachelG . I think about Fortune all the time ♥:bighug:
    :bighug:
     
    RachelG likes this.
  4. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    sorry, we don't
     
    RachelG likes this.
  5. Lisa & Oberon

    Lisa & Oberon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Oradell Hospital in Paramus has several internists; I was generally happy with the one I saw in Sept but she wasn't a diabetes specialist per se. If you're able to go a little further away you might also look at Penn/Philly area to see if there's anyone affiliated with the vet school who might be helpful.
     
    RachelG likes this.
  6. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Thank you all for chiming in! I'll keep looking. @Lisa & Oberon Paramus isn't far, we are scheduled with an internist at Blue Pearl but I'll look for a second (third?) opinion at the vet school. Appreciate it!
     
  7. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Hi Rachel, I lived in Manhattan and recently moved to Hoboken. Ruby saw an internist at Blue Pearl when she had her DKA episode last fall. We went to the one in Midtown West in the 50s. I would talk to them to make sure that they're ok with you being in charge of Fortune's diabetes testing and dosing because the internist I saw there did not advise me to home test, and wanted me to use a Freestyle Libre to monitor Ruby's BG levels every few weeks and they would adjust the dosing accordingly. When I asked if I could home test her BG, they were resistant and wanted me to the use an Alpha Trak. They also were adamant about her eating prescription food. They were SUPER expensive--Ruby's three night hospital stay cost me over $10,000--and after her stay it was impossible for me to talk to the internist herself, I only had conversations with nurses and techs, unless I brought Ruby in to see her. I gave up and I manage her diabetes with her primary vet in Hoboken now who is thrilled with the progress we have made and is happy to let me take over that part of her care. But I too need an internist as her situation is getting more complicated with CKD and possibly also either IBD or SCL, so I'm watching this thread with great interest!
     
  8. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Oh I'm so sorry to hear that was your experience! That's so frustrating.

    We have been to the BluePearl Paramus twice - once in 11/2018 when Fortune's claw got stuck in our other cat Marty's arm and caused an emergency (he is 100% great now!) and back in 01/2018 when we had an endoscopic biopsy to get a diagnosis of SCL. Fortune only recently developed diabetes as a result of the prednisone used to treat, and his ultrasound indicates that he is out of remission with possible pancreatitis so we are trying to find someone equipped to help and is up to speed on the latest standard of care.

    The internist we saw in 01/18 moved, so we have an appointment with whomever was available so I'm still looking to get a second opinion without delay. The best advice I can give is to get a clear biopsy/diagnosis on the IBD or SCL to have the clearest picture for treatment options. Fortune's biopsy was inconclusive so three years later we are stuck potentially having him undergo another biopsy procedure when he is feeling even more unwell to make sure we get him the best treatment.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  9. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    My vet recommended Animal Emergency and Referral Associates in Fairfield as well as Red Bank Veterinary in Tinton Falls, which is a little too far for me. Have you looked into those places?

    The IBD/SCL issue only came up for me when last week I was organizing Ruby's lab work and requested the hospital records from her stay at Blue Pearl in September. I was so preoccupied with her DKA and getting her out of that situation that I had forgotten (as did my primary vet) that they did an ultrasound and found thickening of her small intestines. At the time, the internist at Blue Pearl only mentioned IBD as a possibility, never SCL. I was really upset during her hospital stay but I would definitely have remembered if someone mentioned the word "lymphoma" to me! New to the world of ageing cats, IBD didn't seem to be as pressing to me as resolving her diabetes. So here we are. I am unemployed at the moment so the thought of going through the expense of another ultrasound and possible biopsy is daunting to say the least. That's why I think it's important that I get another opinion to make sure it's necessary. I am also hoping that Ruby will get off the juice soon <anti-jinx!> so that we can focus on her other issues.
     
  10. Lisa & Oberon

    Lisa & Oberon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    I've been happy with AERA for both emergency and specialty services. My regular vet wasn't as positive about Red Bank, at least for dental work. Don't know about internists, though.
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    @Bronx's dad (GA) Paul is in New Jersey and comes on occasionally. I know Bronx got his radiation therapy at one of the Red Banks.
     
  12. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Hi Rachel. I am in NNJ and was referred to internist Dr Christian Eriksson at Blue Pearl in Paramus after my Ho-Ho-Kus vet gave up after Bronx reached 3u BID of insulin and was still unregulated. Dr Eriksson is very familiar with feline diabetes and was willing to work with me on using Cabergoline to treat Bronx's acromegaly and even knew about TR. I think we were one of the first cats in the US to try Cabergoline. Bronx ended up getting SRT radiation at Red Bank Hospital in Tinton Falls by Dr Dustin Lewis (they had just gotten a brand new machine). I would recommend both doctors. Dr Eriksson's email is christian.eriksson@bluepearlvet.com. I know Oradel is known for their specialists, but I was happier at Blue Pearl and I don't think it is as pricey as Oradel. Also, I heard Oradel uses residents during off hours, while Blue Pearl always has experienced doctors 24/7. Hope that helps.
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.

Share This Page