1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311, +7 = 227

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312

This weather is crazy. It was sunny and 58 in Colorado yesterday. Today is snowing with a high of 20.

(commented on earlier thread re Eddie :mrgreen: )
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think I keep things the same for a few more cycles. It is hard to get insight from Eddie's ss as he does take awhile, and he has different levels with similar doses. For instance, the 1.2 looked great on 1/21. So that might mean you need to lower the dose a smidge on the pinks. But he seems to be pretty consistent in the yellows with this higher scale, which is not a bad thing.

I'd figure he is generally below the renal threshold so his pancreas can be healing. If he doesn't lower overall on this scale, then you'll have the interesting decision to raise or lower. Let's hope he gives us more direction........

I suspect we'll get an odd cycle here in the next few days that will maybe give us some clue what he'd like to do. :smile:

I'm half-way wondering if these relatively flat cycles are bounces, even though they're in the 200's, rather than the flat 300 cycles that he had after first starting the 1.4u dose. I'm hoping that maybe his liver is just a little nervous about letting him go below 200, but that it will calm down and let him go down a bit over the next few cycles. It does seem odd that he'd get good numbers in the low 100's on this dose like on 1/21, but then get stuck in the 200's after he's settled in. We will see!

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This weather is crazy. It was sunny and 58 in Colorado yesterday. Today is snowing with a high of 20.

That sounds like Minnesota weather! :mrgreen: We had a 50 degree swing a couple days ago. The adage in Minnesota is that if you don't like the weather, just wait a day. ;-)
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312

Please tell me you don't have to leave your house today! In the 40s here today (Alabama). We started around 48 today and temps should go down through the day...hoping for snow tomorrow but not expecting it. At least it's above zero!!
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312

Rachel said:
Please tell me you don't have to leave your house today! In the 40s here today (Alabama). We started around 48 today and temps should go down through the day...hoping for snow tomorrow but not expecting it. At least it's above zero!!

I wish LOL! I just wanted to bury myself in the covers this morning and not crawl out. I have to work today unfortunately. Have to go start my car a couple times throughout the day to make sure I can start it. Almost all of the schools in MN are closed today due to the cold, and even most universities have cancelled classes, which happens only about once every 2-3 years. The state closed schools on January 4th, which was the first time that's happened since 1997. I don't remember a winter with this many days that are so cold. We usually get one or two in January that are a several degrees below zero, but this -20 below zero stuff is fairly unusual. Yicko!
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312

At +6, we're at 282. We seem to be repeating the cycle of relatively high and flat. I'm thinking it's possible he's bouncing, but I'm not sure what from. The only thing I can see that might be responsible was the PM cycle on 1/23. He had a late nadir sometime between +6 and +12 and was still at 143 at +12. We had to skip the shot the following AM because he wasn't clearly rising before I had to leave for work. Last time, it wasn't until the 8th cycle that he seemed to clear the bounce. This AM cycle is cycle number 7 following that last low which was on a 1.4u dose. Am I imagining things, or is my bouncy Eddie still bouncing?
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

That's the $6,000,000 question. I was told early on, they bounce till they don't. :lol: I can vouch for that, my Lucian is a very bouncy boy, but nothing like when he was on Lantus. :shock:

Is it feasible to reduce your 'no shoot' number to like 120 or something? You know, I know nothing about PZI, so I'm just asking.
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

nckitties3 said:
Is it feasible to reduce your 'no shoot' number to like 120 or something? You know, I know nothing about PZI, so I'm just asking.

I do intend to trial a reduced dose for somewhere in the range of 175+. I haven't tried it yet, since we haven't had one of the lower pre-shots in a couple days, and wouldn't want to unless I could monitor, but being able to do that when he's having a lower pre-shot would hopefully avoid some of the wonkiness that follows skipping a shot.
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

With Lucian, not shooting or shooting a reduced dose was a disaster, so I don't even have a 'no shoot' number at the moment. I've shot full doses in the 50's, but not PZI.

I have to learn how it effects him first to determine what I do if/when it's needed. When I did that with Lantus and Levemir, it would take weeks for his numbers to get anything close to HIS normal, which wasn't good to start with. With Lev, the onset and nadir are so late, it wasn't a problem shooting low, he'd continue to climb for 4-6 hrs before onset.

Plus, I'm home 99% of the time. I can't imagine trying to take care of an FD kitty and working at the same time. Bless you!
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

Yeah, with the non-depot nature of this type of insulin, the shoot low to stay low rule doesn't really apply (at least not that I've seen!). If I'm incorrect in this, I hope someone will chime in.

Eddie can drop a couple hundred points in an hour, so that's the danger of shooting when he's lower than normal, if I'm not absolutely confident he's on the rise. If he has a weird cycle that lasts longer than I'm anticipating, and the new dose onsets at +2, I could easily get too much overlap and drop him way too low.

He seems to be doing OK thus far with the sliding scale I'm using, relatively speaking, so a reduced dose for a lower pre-shot will just be about 0.2 less than I would shoot at a 200 pre-shot. That's the nice thing about ProZinc is you don't necessarily have to hold a dose for any length of time, although Eddie doesn't follow that rule LOL. Lots of kitties seem to do well with a sliding scale on ProZinc. Definitely a trial and error thing! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

Might just be surfing along. At least no reds. :smile:

Where are the patience pants? :lol: I would give Eddie a little more time to 'settle in'. IMHO

Keep warm everyone. Hmmmm...you midwestern people keep sending the cold to us in the east. :evil: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

misty1477 said:
Where are the patience pants? :lol: I would give Eddie a little more time to 'settle in'. IMHO

Yeah that's pretty much what I'm thinking :) I figure maybe he'll do something dramatic, rather than surf in the yellow, to let me know it's time to change. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282

We have had a few people shoot below 150. Misty got pretty brave when Rumpel was headed OTJ and shot lower but she had months of data and knew she would be around.

And yes, Jen, you are right. Because ProZinc has a shorter (and not as flat) cycle as the Ls, we don't advise shooting low to stay low. We did have a recent newbie who was very aggressive and dosed low but she was a nurse and was willing to do it with her cat. It did work for her, but I could never advise anyone else to do it with their cat.
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, +10 = 299

Thanks to you all for the great info. It helps me a lot. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311

Pretty even (if shallow) ride today. It will be interesting to see if he continues flat tonight or decides to take a dip.
PMPS = 311

But mostly I just wanted to share this picture of Eddie checking out his shipment of Weruva and Tiki that grandma bean sent him. :mrgreen:
 

Attachments

  • Edweirdo resized.JPG
    Edweirdo resized.JPG
    130.4 KB · Views: 214
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311

Aww what a cute boy! I had to call my Patches girl over to see him and she thinks so too. ;-)

Let me ask you about his numbers. As high as his nadir is (and I'm assuming he nadirs about +6) and as shallow as the cycle is, would you consider upping his dose to help bring him down a bit? Would that be the usual course of action?

Remember, I ask because I don't know and want to learn. :oops:
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311

Eddie is my forever kitten. He's so darn cute! :-D

nckitties3 said:
As high as his nadir is (and I'm assuming he nadirs about +6) and as shallow as the cycle is, would you consider upping his dose to help bring him down a bit? Would that be the usual course of action?

Yep! That would be the usual course of action. :mrgreen: You are generally looking for a 50% decrease between pre-shot and nadir. And nadirs consistently above 150 may warrant a dose increase as well. That said, it seems like a lot of kitties need some time to adjust to a dose change, so you'll generally see that it's recommended that a dose be held for at least a few cycles before making any changes.

Eddie, for example, seems to like to take his time to settle into a dose, and he seems to bounce for several days after a lower number - and lower for him means high greens or low blues at this point. Bouncy pre-shots are pretty easy to spot, but it's hard to differentiate between a bounce cycle, or just hanging flat, so that's why I'm hanging onto the current sliding scale for at least a few more cycles. The frustrating part is that he has gotten good cycles on this dose within the last week even, so I'm not sure whether the current trend is just some bouncing, or whether he's settled in and he's just high and flat. But he's also had a couple cycles with late nadirs and shots that last 14+ hours before he starts to come back up again. See the PM cycle of 1/23 for example. That was at 1.4u after 7 flat cycles on the same dose. Sue convinced me to put the patience pants back on the AM cycle before that, and not to increase quite yet, and wouldn't you know it, that PM cycle, he suddenly had low blues on the same dose that we'd had flat numbers on for 7 cycles.

If he continues in the same holding pattern, the next question, as Sue pointed out, is whether to increase or to decrease. And as of right now, I have no idea. :mrgreen: I'm hoping Eddie will give me some sort of clue which way he'd like to go if the current sliding scale isn't going to work. Trust me - it's hard to see flat yellow numbers knowing he's seen green and blue on the same dose recently. I have moments where I want to say, this isn't working, I'm increasing, but I may very well end up working backwards as a result. I have many pairs of patience pants that have been generously donated by Sue, Misty and RumpelT, and Deb and Wink, and many others, and some days I need to don multiple pairs at the same time. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311, +3 = 282

Oh I hear ya! Patience is not my virtue.

I think it was Mel that loaned me her leather patience pants about a year ago, when I first got to FDMB. ;-)

Thank you for explaining and it's always nice to see someone, other than me, with a cat that refuses to read the manual. :lol:
 
Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311, +3 = 282

I'm glad I can help! We're definitely still learning too, and if there's anything I've learned is that there are a lot of different approaches to PZI, and you just have to try different approaches until you find one that works for your sugar kitty. :mrgreen:

You seem to be doing a great job with Lucian! His numbers are really starting to look nice for a PZI curve. :-D I hope that the TID continues to produce good results! I don't think TID would necessarily work for us, but watching Lucian's numbers thus far has been very educational!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top