Re: 1/27 Eddie AMPS = 312, +6 = 282, PMPS = 311
Eddie is my forever kitten. He's so darn cute!
nckitties3 said:
As high as his nadir is (and I'm assuming he nadirs about +6) and as shallow as the cycle is, would you consider upping his dose to help bring him down a bit? Would that be the usual course of action?
Yep! That would be the usual course of action. :mrgreen: You are generally looking for a 50% decrease between pre-shot and nadir. And nadirs consistently above 150 may warrant a dose increase as well. That said, it seems like a lot of kitties need some time to adjust to a dose change, so you'll generally see that it's recommended that a dose be held for at least a few cycles before making any changes.
Eddie, for example, seems to like to take his time to settle into a dose, and he seems to bounce for several days after a lower number - and lower for him means high greens or low blues at this point. Bouncy pre-shots are pretty easy to spot, but it's hard to differentiate between a bounce cycle, or just hanging flat, so that's why I'm hanging onto the current sliding scale for at least a few more cycles. The frustrating part is that he has gotten good cycles on this dose within the last week even, so I'm not sure whether the current trend is just some bouncing, or whether he's settled in and he's just high and flat. But he's also had a couple cycles with late nadirs and shots that last 14+ hours before he starts to come back up again. See the PM cycle of 1/23 for example. That was at 1.4u after 7 flat cycles on the same dose. Sue convinced me to put the patience pants back on the AM cycle before that, and not to increase quite yet, and wouldn't you know it, that PM cycle, he suddenly had low blues on the same dose that we'd had flat numbers on for 7 cycles.
If he continues in the same holding pattern, the next question, as Sue pointed out, is whether to increase or to decrease. And as of right now, I have no idea. :mrgreen: I'm hoping Eddie will give me some sort of clue which way he'd like to go if the current sliding scale isn't going to work. Trust me - it's hard to see flat yellow numbers knowing he's seen green and blue on the same dose recently. I have moments where I want to say, this isn't working, I'm increasing, but I may very well end up working backwards as a result. I have many pairs of patience pants that have been generously donated by Sue, Misty and RumpelT, and Deb and Wink, and many others, and some days I need to don multiple pairs at the same time.
