1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low PS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Well, he's almost there in the BLUE and wondering if I should hold the dose of 2.5u he is currently on for an extra day..........we were going to increase him tomorrow if he didn't go into blue today..........

What do you think???? He is dropping and today is his lowest overall overall day yet with the exception of Day 1 when he first went onto the insulin.

UPDATE: 16:00 - My Vet called me (what a great guy to call without prompting) and said Davidson is doing GREAT and dropping steady now and I should keep him on 2.5 for an extra day or two as long as he continues to drop. It's better if he is on LESS insulin then more, and we can always go up. I agree with him.

Thanks
Shawna
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +6 327 amps 305 +3 242 +6 207

He's starting to look good. You'll want to see less pinks and yellows, and more blues and greens, though. He'll start to feel better in lower #s. Good luck!
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +6 327 amps 305 +3 242 +6 207

Hello Shawna and Davidson! I haven't stopped by your condo yet, so just saying hello. Glad you're getting to see some more yellows. Although I think you may still have another increase lurking in the near future, pretty blues might be just around the corner. Good job!
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +6 327 amps 305 +3 242 +6 207

YIPPEE!!!!! Davidson's in the BLUE!! We're having a party, going to get some extra dehydrated chicken and duck treat........What a relief............gonna have a discussion with him about what took so long.
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +6 327 amps 305 +3 242 +6 207

glad to see that peek of blue! the protocol would have you hold 6 cycles with nadirs in the 200's and then increase by 0.25u. So tomorrow morning's shot would be 2.75u.

Tight Regulation Protocol
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

i've highlighted the part that would apply to Davidson right now. You might ask your vet what he thinks about going up 0.25u if you are uncertain. what we find is that holding a dose too long, ie staying too long at a dose that's not getting a cat into desirable numbers can make the cat accustomed to that range and ultimately lead to needing a higher dose. it's called Glucose Toxicity. That's why we tweak doses based upon the nadirs, using the timeline suggested by the Protocol.

Enjoy that bit of happy news. it's great to see Davidson responding!
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +6 327 amps 305 +3 242 +6 207

Thanks Julie........I did speak with my Vet and he and I both agreed to hold him for another day or so at 2.5 since he is now dropping and his body may finally be reacting at the dose he is at now. Better to see how it goes then to increase and have to drop again. The lower the dose that he can get regulated on the better. This is the 3rd day on 2.5 so it won't harm him to stay on it for another day. THANKS..............at least Davidson is moving in the right direction now.

Shawna
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180

She could be heading to a low pre shot - if he is under 200 at pre shot does she shoot?
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180

QUESTION..............Davidson is dropping today and doing well. I will do the PMPS at 9:30 and if he is still under 200 I don't think I should give him a shot. What does everyone think??? I can then do another test in 30-60 min and if he goes up I can shoot, otherwise if still in the 200's then best to wait until tomorrow morning for the shot since he is new at this level and don't want to rush things...........

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180

I would give the shot on time unless it is a drastic drop. If it is at all possiBle to keep the shot times consistent, that is how you should proceed. Fine tuning shot times can lead to wonky numbers. The protocol is the way to go!

Davidson is looking good today.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty

(edited to omit a hasty and inaccurate postscript!)
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180

We use 150 as the post and ask for help number if you are new to using Lantus. If you take a look at the subject lines on the Board, you'll see that many of us will shoot low numbers (i.e., anything above 50). I'm not suggesting you shoot that low but it's important to begin to collect data as you shoot progressively lower numbers so you have an understanding of how Davidson responds when you are shooting lower than your current level of pre-shots. The basic mantra around these parts is, "Shoot low to stay low." if you were to skip the PM shot, you will be back to square with with regard to holding the current dose since it will be a guarantee that Davidson's numbers will be high in the AM.

There are alternatives to skipping. If you have the flexibility with your schedule, you can always stall.
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

Thanks Sienne;

I will shoot if he is at the 150 mark. If he drops lower then I can stall for 30 min. if that is what you recommend.

QUESTION - if I shoot at the usual time, should I do a BG test again at +3 or +5? PLEASE let me know as I will have to set my alarm

Thanks again,
Shawna
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

Hi there :cool:

In case Sienne does not see your question-Below are general guidelines, from the 'shooting and handling low numbers' sticky:
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Regarding stalling:
50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
I've done my fair share of both :cool:

Please don't hesitate to post if you have any questions or concerns.
eta -- I'll be around for a while - I remember our first blue PS . . .
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

Looks like he is up a bit so I gave him the shot and fed him since he was very hungry

I will do another test at +2 and +4 .........any other recommendations before you all go to sleep??

Thanks........first good day in the blues!!!

Shawna

** edited to update that shot was given
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

I would but definately get a +2, and if it's lower set the alarm for a +4 at least depending how low.
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

SHOOT!! And test as other Wendy suggests. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

All good, shot him and he's eating and will test again at +2 and update accordingly.

First BLUE day for Davidson........
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

Sorry, corrected it.........yes test again at +2 and if low will test again at +4 as recommended.

THANKS...........
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

Congrats on shooting your first 200 Shawna!! And what a pretty blue you got today too!!

That's a good +3 too...although we'd like to see a little lower by then, you also don't want them dropping too much, too fast or you set them up for a bounce.

I think you could still go up to 2.75 tomorrow. His nadirs are still running in the 200's (until today) and because you ARE getting some movement into blues, it might be the perfect time to go ahead and give that little bit of an increase, especially if you can be home tomorrow to test.

If you choose to stay at 2.5 for another cycle, if you don't see even better numbers tomorrow, I think you really should go ahead and increase the .25. We want them to drop to 50-120 at their nadir so their pancreas gets some "healing time" in!

Good luck! I know it's got to be exciting for you to start to see some better numbers, but as was said earlier, we don't want them staying in "better" numbers...we want them in "healing" numbers!
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

Morning.
So Davidson has higher numbers today so perhaps I need to increase his AMS to 2.75

PLEASE confirm this is recommended and ALSO advise how often to test as I am here all day

Thanks for the input

Shawna
 
Re: 1/27 DAVIDSON +3 242 +6 207 +8 187 +10 180 - first low

It's best for you to go ahead and start a new condo today, but make sure to copy the link to this one and add it so people can see what's been said.

What's his AMPS? Looks like it may be in the 200's so I think you'd be good to go ahead and increase to 2.75 this morning since you said you can be home to test.

It's always nice to get a +2 since that's a good indicator of where he might be going later in the cycle..if there's a big drop from pre-shot to +2 (or +3), that's a hint that you need to probably test more frequently.

After you get that, if it's not a big drop, get another test sometime between +5 and +7 or so and reevaluate from there

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top