1/27 Cosmo AMPS 371

WOW! Cosmo whatcadoing chasing sharks? Did you shoot last night? The dosage field is empty...

He seems to really like this dose, so it appears you're going to adapt the 3 x under 50 rule at this point? On TR you can use this as a method to keep from changing the dose so frequently - cats who don't hold dose reductions well (ie Luci) use this method to hold off reducing for a while to see if he'll level off and have some more nice blues without dropping too low...

The clue for you was going from 189 to 100 - although not 100 point drop, it was a significant drop so that was the 'clue' to bring on perhaps a teaspoon of medium carb along with a small serving of LC just to see if you can get him to surf.

He's back in the bounce this morning so let's see how fast he clears the bounce this time.

I know it's difficult to get them to surf - Luci used to do this to me all the time. But he cleared that bounce really quickly so he's working with a full depot from the looks of it. This boy is going to need to be watch closely to try to keep him closer to the better numbers and hopefully stop the bouncing.

You've also probably removed the dry treats from his diet, so there's a possibility that's having an influence on his numbers as well and he may earn that dose reduction in the next few days. I'd keep a close eye on this little boy :) Have a great day Karen!
 
WOW! Cosmo whatcadoing chasing sharks? Did you shoot last night? The dosage field is empty...

He seems to really like this dose, so it appears you're going to adapt the 3 x under 50 rule at this point? On TR you can use this as a method to keep from changing the dose so frequently - cats who don't hold dose reductions well (ie Luci) use this method to hold off reducing for a while to see if he'll level off and have some more nice blues without dropping too low...

The clue for you was going from 189 to 100 - although not 100 point drop, it was a significant drop so that was the 'clue' to bring on perhaps a teaspoon of medium carb along with a small serving of LC just to see if you can get him to surf.

He's back in the bounce this morning so let's see how fast he clears the bounce this time.

I know it's difficult to get them to surf - Luci used to do this to me all the time. But he cleared that bounce really quickly so he's working with a full depot from the looks of it. This boy is going to need to be watch closely to try to keep him closer to the better numbers and hopefully stop the bouncing.

You've also probably removed the dry treats from his diet, so there's a possibility that's having an influence on his numbers as well and he may earn that dose reduction in the next few days. I'd keep a close eye on this little boy :) Have a great day Karen!
Dosage field fixed. So the plan is to give MC food BEFORE reaching hypo numbers if there is a significant/fast drop.
 
So the plan is to give MC food BEFORE reaching hypo numbers if there is a significant/fast drop.
If you find Cosmo is dropping fast, you can ‘feed the curve’ to slow the drop. I would try low carb first to see if that is enough to slow the drop. We don’t routinely feed medium carb to feed the curve. If there is a big drop early in the cycle to lower numbers, before the onset of insulin, it is sometimes a good idea to give a higher carb food so there is a bit of leeway for the onset of insulin.
If you find the +1 is the same or lower than the preshot BG, that is a clue that the cycle may be an active one and I would give a small snack…just a teaspoon or two of low carb …get a +2 or a +3 to see where the BG is going. If it is still dropping I would give some more low carb and continue testing. It is trial and error to see how he goes with the snacks and how he reacts to the low carb. Put what snacks you give in the remarks column so you can see at a later date what worked.
 
Last edited:
If you find Cosmo is dropping fast, you can ‘feed the curve’ to slow the drop. I would try low carb first to see if that is enough to slow the drop. We don’t routinely feed medium carb to feed the curve. If there is a big drop early in the cycle to lower numbers, before the onset of insulin, it is sometimes a good idea to give a higher carb food so there is a bit of leeway for the onset of insulin.
If you find the +1 is the same or lower than the preshot BG, that is a clue that the cycle may be an active one and I would give a small snack…just a teaspoon or two of low carb …get a +2 or a +3 to see where the BG is going. If it is still dropping I would give some more low carb and continue testing. It is trial and error to see how he goes with the snacks and how he reacts to the low carb. Put what snacks you give in the remarks column so you can see at a later date what worked.
Ok good to know. I didn’t use food last night to slow the drop (until numbers were low) so I will watch those numbers today and tonight to see if Cosmo should have food to slow a sharp drop. The 1.75 dose is finally giving me some blues and greens so I’m hoping to stay at this level a bit longer to stay in that range.
 
The 1.75 dose is finally giving me some blues and greens so I’m hoping to stay at this level a bit longer to stay in that range.
If Cosmo falls under 50 on TR you need to reduce the dose to 1.5 units. It is already an aggressive method so this is done for safety.
If you find it is a failed reduction, (you will need to give the bounce time to clear) you can go back to the previous dose. People just starting out on TR do not do three drops under 50 to get a reduction. This is for cats who cannot repeatedly hold reductions and you would need to be advised by one of the experienced people before trying that.
It is exciting that you are finally seeing some decent numbers for Cosmo but we also want to keep him safe.:D
 
If Cosmo falls under 50 on TR you need to reduce the dose to 1.5 units. It is already an aggressive method so this is done for safety.
If you find it is a failed reduction, (you will need to give the bounce time to clear) you can go back to the previous dose. People just starting out on TR do not do three drops under 50 to get a reduction. This is for cats who cannot repeatedly hold reductions and you would need to be advised by one of the experienced people before trying that.
It is exciting that you are finally seeing some decent numbers for Cosmo but we also want to keep him safe.:D
Ok 1.5 it is tonight. Thanks!
 
Back
Top