1.27 Bubba-79,+2.25-175,+4-186,+5.5-158 ,+9.2 5-110,PM--74.+2-92,+6-95.+9.25-70

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hoping that you can take it easy today and get some rest! And, Bubba, aren't you tired? Not a good day to be on the trampoline - the lagoon is so much more relaxing.
 
Hoping that you can take it easy today and get some rest! And, Bubba, aren't you tired? Not a good day to be on the trampoline - the lagoon is so much more relaxing.
He's going to wait and dive on me again tonight......I did manage to go back to bed after his 5:30 AM dose for a few hours checked on him and back to bed for an hour..... :blackeye:
 
What a night you had! I hope you're able to get a nap in today. I'm glad you stuck with 5u this morning. Hopefully it will help the bounce clear quickly.

Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out. If he shows a marked drop into shot time tonight, I'd be tempted to take a 0.25u reduction... if only because of the amount of HC you had to feed last night. The reduction wouldn't be a solid "earn" as you say, but he's spent a whole lot of time in green over the last 12 days. I think that counts for something. I also can't help but think he'll go right back to those greens if we ease the dose down.

About 0.5u increases/reductions once kitty gets to or surpasses 5.o units BID...
In my opinion and given the data collected, this technique is not necessary for Bubba. It may even cause him to lose momentum. He is doing extremely well following the TR Protocol as written at this point in time. Who knows... that may change, but for right now I'd steer away from it. JMO.

So that's what I think, but what do you think? You're there with him. You know first hand the degree of difficulty involved when it comes to managing his curves. Your input should be given the most weight when making decisions.

Take some time to think about it.


PS - Sorry I wasn't around last night. I thought I was just exhausted from watching the eagle cam til the wee hours of the morning, but unfortunately that wasn't the case. I became sicker than a dog last night. Must have the flu. :(
 
OH, Jill, so sorry that you might have the flu! I am still sick with this respiratory crude and I have NO voice except a whisper and an occasional squeak. I too, am glad that I stuck with the 5 units this AM for the same reason, the bounce. I like the idea of only reducing .25 (even if those dang .75 are hard to see) because the last thing I want is to have him lose the momentum. I am glad that I woke up at the 5.5 to go potty, otherwise, I would not have caught him dropping until +8. If you get see this before PM, throw a number out that I should consider reducing .25 for at PMPS.
 
Sorry to hear you're sick, too!

I am glad that I woke up at the 5.5 to go potty, otherwise, I would not have caught him dropping until +8. If you get see this before PM, throw a number out that I should consider reducing .25 for at PMPS.
It's so much about a number. It's more like what's happening. If he starts speeding downwards into shot time, I think it would be an opportune time to take a reduction because there will already be some downwards momentum going on. Why not take advantage of it?

One thing to remember, even if you do reduce the dose tonight, it doesn't mean you'll see the effects of the reduced dose tonight. Monitor as usual to know if further monitoring is needed.

Make sense?
 
Sorry to hear you're sick, too!


It's so much about a number. It's more like what's happening. If he starts speeding downwards into shot time, I think it would be an opportune time to take a reduction because there will already be some downwards momentum going on. Why not take advantage of it?

One thing to remember, even if you do reduce the dose tonight, it doesn't mean you'll see the effects of the reduced dose tonight. Monitor as usual to know if further monitoring is needed.

Make sense?
Okey dokey, Thanks and it's nap time. ;)
 
Remember the other day (was it yesterday?) I told you he'd drop in the middle of the night?! Sorry you had to have a pajama party. He does like to keep you on your toes! Sorry you're still sick. Back to bed with some hot tea maybe?
 
Remember the other day (was it yesterday?) I told you he'd drop in the middle of the night?! Sorry you had to have a pajama party. He does like to keep you on your toes! Sorry you're still sick. Back to bed with some hot tea maybe?
Yes, you did Shane! What are you doing tonight, say around 10 PM Pacific time? Possible PJ Party,LOL!!
 
Hope you have managed to catch up on some sleep, you had a very busy night last night.

Surf safe Bubba, don't keep your momma up too late Little Pirate.
Got two cat naps ( no pun intended) Did you get to take your walk and have lunch with your friend? Hope so!
 
Interesting to see Bubba working his way off that mini bounce today. Good call on the reduction tonight. Still might mean a busy night, but not as long.
About 0.5u increases/reductions once kitty gets to or surpasses 5.o units BID...
In my opinion and given the data collected, this technique is not necessary for Bubba. It may even cause him to lose momentum. He is doing extremely well following the TR Protocol as written at this point in time. Who knows... that may change, but for right now I'd steer away from it. JMO.
My comment yesterday was just to watch and observe if larger increases are necessary. So far not for Bubba. The reasons that a cat is going down dose is ECID, and it's not always because of a pancreas healing. In Neko's case it's tumor cells dying off and this is my second time going down this road. I'm cautious because I've messed up twice the last two months with too small a decrease - I hate seeing 20's and low 30's on the meter! Overfull larger depots are a bear.
 
So glad I didn't decrease this AM. So, is this what is called "shooting through the bounce" ? @Andy & Pimp just schooled me on it the other day. Hope this reducie holds and there will be more sliding down the dosing ladder. :)
 
Yes, shooting through the bounce is when you shoot the old higher dose one more time after a reduction, to help ease down the bounce. It's not a trick you can use forever. Once kitty starts clearing bounces quickly, shooting through the bounce can leave you with an overfull depot that you still have to deal with on the cycle after, when you start the lower dose.

All paws here crossed for the reduction.
 
Yes, shooting through the bounce is when you shoot the old higher dose one more time after a reduction, to help ease down the bounce. It's not a trick you can use forever. Once kitty starts clearing bounces quickly, shooting through the bounce can leave you with an overfull depot that you still have to deal with on the cycle after, when you start the lower dose.

All paws here crossed for the reduction.
Thanks Wendy. ;)
 
Good luck with the reduction, Bobbie! :)

@Wendy&Neko
The reasons that a cat is going down dose is ECID, and it's not always because of a pancreas healing. In Neko's case it's tumor cells dying off and this is my second time going down this road. I'm cautious because I've messed up twice the last two months with too small a decrease - I hate seeing 20's and low 30's on the meter! Overfull larger depots are a bear.
That's for sure! We've seen a multitude of reasons for going down the dosing over the years! And in many cases, dose, depot size, or healing has nothing to do with it.

I remember Jojo and I discussing dosing and staying ahead of the depot when Heather's Boo came down the dosing scale after surgery at CSU. Gosh, I want to say that had to be back in 2009...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top