1/27 Asia PMPS 235, +2 161

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-26-asia-pmps-170-2-181.190214/#post-2119128

I don't want her to get used to these higher numbers and have to take her dose way up to get them back to an acceptable range, but still don't know when to call it. 1/17, 1/18, 1/20 and 1/24 were all days where she was barely eating or not eating at all (that one due to fasting). If I take those cycles out of the picture (because I know why they are exceptions), her numbers have been not great since the 14th.

I hope these antibiotics kick in soon, and if there is any truth to antibiotics helping with pancreatitis, I hope it does double duty there too. I'm also curious to see if her crazy eye drainage clears up again with this course of abx. That will be all the convincing I need that there is a bacterial component to that, since it never used to be a thing with her.

Here's some photos of this bald tum tum and cute cuddle friends. Toki likes to tuck herself under covers, sometimes no parts are peeking out, I'm glad I saw her ear this time so I didn't sit on her to get Asia's bg!

IMG_2760.JPG IMG_2761.JPG IMG_2762.JPG IMG_2763.JPG IMG_2764.JPG
 
Hi Stacy,
Love the pictures of your beautiful kitties.
Asia had a string of blues yesterday and last night. I think it would be a good idea to hold the 1.25U dose for today and see what happens. Maybe tomorrow inch up the dose a little. I'm in a somewhat similar situation with Rusty. His numbers are too high, but he dives in the middle of the cycle. I don't want to increase and have the dive go deeper, but I want to bring the whole row down. Today I increased by a smidgen (I use calipers): from 0.20mm to 0.25mm.

Have a good weekend. Continuing healing vines for Asia. I hope the a/bs will work their magic.
 
Hi Stacy,
Love the pictures of your beautiful kitties.
Asia had a string of blues yesterday and last night. I think it would be a good idea to hold the 1.25U dose for today and see what happens. Maybe tomorrow inch up the dose a little. I'm in a somewhat similar situation with Rusty. His numbers are too high, but he dives in the middle of the cycle. I don't want to increase and have the dive go deeper, but I want to bring the whole row down. Today I increased by a smidgen (I use calipers): from 0.20mm to 0.25mm.

Have a good weekend. Continuing healing vines for Asia. I hope the a/bs will work their magic.

That's tricky Rusty is giving you such a range but the nadirs are nice. Boy do calipers make such a difference in tweaking and getting a more consistent dose. At least his dose isn't so tiny that you have a lot of trouble measuring it right now. Little bit of silver lining? :bighug:

Asia's nadirs are no where near where they should be, I just hope this all settles soon. It's frustrating to have so little control of so many things at once. :oops:
 
Such sweet kitties!!! Many vines that everything settles down with Asia soon. Kidney infections are tough and can take a while. Was she agitated again last night? I did see that the pilling was more inline with what you expected...hopefully she'll get used to the routine and quickly realize that you are only trying to help her feel better.
 
Such sweet kitties!!! Many vines that everything settles down with Asia soon. Kidney infections are tough and can take a while. Was she agitated again last night? I did see that the pilling was more inline with what you expected...hopefully she'll get used to the routine and quickly realize that you are only trying to help her feel better.

Thanks! She was a little agitated last night, not as bad as the night before, so hopefully it's "new antibiotic wonkiness" ;) and it will subside. I hope you're right about the pilling.
 
That pic of the little ear sticking out from under the covers is so darn cute! Glad you saw her ear and didn't sit her.

I think I'd hold the dose too until the AB has a chance to start working which should be somewhere around today's cycle end or tonight. Infection can raise BG so let's see what happens. And today is cycle 6 from the 46 you got on 1/24 AM cycle so that should be clearing out today.
 
Love the pile of tabby pics. :cat:

I try to ignore the six cycles after a skip as the depot rebuilds. But after tonight you should have a good idea what this dose can do. And the AB should start helping soon. I wouldn't wait for the AB to work. You can always decrease if Asia shows you it's working.
 
Love the pile of tabby pics. :cat:

I try to ignore the six cycles after a skip as the depot rebuilds. But after tonight you should have a good idea what this dose can do. And the AB should start helping soon. I wouldn't wait for the AB to work. You can always decrease if Asia shows you it's working.

Thanks, Wendy. That's my thought too, just to increase while she's working it out and I can always decrease later. The problem is, I'm not seeing as clearly or thinking straight in regards to her because she's having so much going on. Like pointing out the wait for the depot to replenish after a skipped shot, it didn't even register to me until you said it.
 
Pilling went okay tonight, only 3 tries. Bupe was never fun, but always quick enough to give her and I didn't have to burrito or anything, now since the pilling, she puts up quite a struggle with the bupe too. This poor girl. Hope the antibiotics work soon. Doesn't seem agitated this evening so far, so that's a plus. So far poops are good and nothing runny with the antibiotics, I put that in the win category!
 
Unfortunately, I had plenty of experience with waiting after skips. Or fur shots as some called them. :rolleyes::oops:

Take in one day at a time. Multi issue cats are hard work, but so worth it when they do something cute or snuggle. Just make sure you take some Stacy time too. :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top