? 1/26 - Wally - PMPS: 83, +1: 92, +2: 88, +3: 72, +4: 77, +5: 85, +6: 110, +9: 265

Wally is doing a great job surfing. :D

While you are killing time waiting, could you update the subject line? You can remove the AM numbers and keep the PM numbers up there to give you room.
 
I have with me:
- wet food 15% dry matter carb
- or otherwise 28% dry matter carb

I immagine 15% is what you mean MC food , and save 28% when we see more action

Usually he eats 1% carbs
 
It is 11:30PM i am resisting well, I’ve something interesting to read so no big problem :)

I will test later +4

Anyway Wally appreciated the MC food and thanks you for the snack :)
 
Nice surf and I second the MC now. At around +2 is onset for the insulin so he hasn't even reached nadir yet. And since it's night time..........
 
15% is just on the edge of high carb. If you feed the higher carb food, you may still have to get up later and test. High carb food can wear off in a couple hours and numbers go back down again.

By the way, this is still the 7.5 unit depot controlling the numbers. But so far a pretty ideal cycle, too bad it was at night time the first time.
 
It is 11:30PM i am resisting well, I’ve something interesting to read so no big problem :)

I will test later +4

Anyway Wally appreciated the MC food and thanks you for the snack :)
Great job Stefano! As Wendy had mentioned, even though you reduced, he is still under the influence of the higher dose, but shooting the first green is scary so the reduction was more for you.......
 
For Wally.
mini-graphics-cats-150860.gif
 
I am a little worried his stomach might not react well to new food....
I will test later at +5....
I am starting to think at tomorrow shot, from what you said Wendy, we are holding the dose, unless he goes even more down that this. Correct?
 
So exciting when they start to respond. All the work and effort and angst starts to pay off, though the price is no sleep. But a good problem to have!
 
Good plan to be conservative on food if you are worried about it’s effects. I found out Neko couln’t handle the wheat in most gravy food. I found some that used potatoes instead for carbs and she could eat that. You can always add a drop of honey or syrup to his regular food, in order to make it higher carb. Keep good notes on how much of what carb food you feed if it’s beyond your normal feeding. You can refer back to that the next time you are dealing with lower numbers.

And yes, hold the dose unless he goes below 50.

You are gathering some really good data that will help you in the future. As you are finding out, when you shoot low, the numbers are a lot flatter and more predictable. Both Lantus and Levemir are great at keeping lower numbers flat.
 
I think I'd be inclined to get a +6 and hopefully he'll be at or pretty near nadir at that point. Have you opened the Red Bull yet?
 
I think I'd be inclined to get a +6 and hopefully he'll be at or pretty near nadir at that point. Have you opened the Red Bull yet?

hahaha... no not yet. Maybe I can take one hour of sleep considering I don't have red bull in the veins :D

I wonder how you guys manage to do this monitoring daily!!!

See you later! :)
 
Great job Wally! So nice to see the Green!:D
This is kinda like a roller coaster , Wally is in control & you're just hanging on for the ride :joyful:
Nice to see the "Puzzle" getting filled in too. Good info. for future use. (you'll learn to catch a 2 hr nap when his bg comes up)

Look'in GOOD
39418-cc84dcd747c7311a2532d663d326060a.jpg
 
I'd give him another small snack of the LC food (couple of tsps. or so) and then grab some sleep. Let's retest again at +9 to see where he is at. I'll probably still be up but I'll set an alarm here too. This is so exciting. Great job you two! :D
 
You can stretch it out till +10 if you want to but I think given it's his first green, better to over than under monitor. I tend to be overly cautious. Just saying! :D
 
Update +5: 85 .... gave 20grams of MC food
Update + 6: 110 he's going up!!
The problem with giving higher carb food, is that you have to test again after a couple hours to see if his numbers are coming down after the carbs wear off. Once a kitty is well over 50 (which I consider 85 to be), you are fine giving LC. And if kitty has gone two hours without higher carb and is rising on their own, you are fine to go to bed.

I too am a fan of maximizing sleep. Given you had given higher carbs at +5, I would have tested again at +7 and see if he's flat or rising. If so, hit the pillow for the night. If you had stayed with LC at +4, since he was stable, you would have been able to go to sleep after the +6 test.

All things to think about for next time. Take a look at the Sticky Note on Handling Low Numbers, there are guidelines then on how often to test and what to feed. It's a tradeoff between keeping kitty safe and maximizing sleep. Typically we don't give higher carb foods unless they go under 50, but that can change in an effort to get more sleep at night. The other option at night is to feed them enough high carbs so they get high enough we can sleep. I rather suspect you probably could have slept after that 110. Especially after a reduced dose.
 
Update +9: 265

A question about tomorrow dose.

Wendy, you said we should keep same dose, I suppose you mean 7.5U

My doubt is now: we had to feed some carbs to avoid him going below 70...isn't this like blocking from reaching the low values that bring a decrease?

Please let me know... i'm going to sleep finally :)
 
The reduction point is 50, not 70, so yes, keep the same dose of 7.5 units.

What you are seeing now is a combination of bounce, plus the effects of the reduced dose you shot tonight.

Sleep well. :bighug:
 
Back
Top