1/26 Tess AMPS~166 ...2 +3~95 +5~42 +5.5~46 +12~62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
Tess did indeed come down and really looked good for a while, then she picked up speed. Fed those last 2 tests w/ 15%.
 
Re: 1/26 Tess AMPS~166 +1~185 +2~122 +3~95 +5~42 +5.5~46

Checking in on you and Tess. Looks pretty darn good.
I'm making the switch to Lev too
 
Re: 1/26 Tess AMPS~166 +1~185 +2~122 +3~95 +5~42 +5.5~46

OK. Well, she will probably bounce back high again tonight. You can reduce that dose some more. If you currently have a hair of light between the bottom of the zero line and the top of the stopper/plunger, you can twist the plunger slightly so it overlaps the zero line - like it's in the middle of it. Just make sure the zero line is on zero (not misprinted).

If not, then you have to start making a 'do not shoot number' that is higher so she doesn't keep bouncing and needing to be fed the 40s.

I have never liked the "below 40" as a dose reduction. If you are have to feed with MC or HC isn't that defeating the purpose? Insulin should be sufficient to handle the food needs, not the other way around.
 
Re: 1/26 Tess AMPS~166 +1~185 +2~122 +3~95 +5~42 +5.5~46

Just tested again at +12 and she is up to 62, we are stalling to see a more definite rise. I think we can handle up to an hour stall, since she will probably have to come with us on Saturday anyway and we can make up some time by then.

Sheila, I'd rather not skip as I think you are right about the bounce and that would only reinforce it. I'm also planning to take another drop out tonight if we do shoot. I know you don't usually stall and reduce at once. What do you think?
 
Ann, I see you went with a reduced shot on a 62. I hope you are going to try and get one later cycle number - I know that means getting up for it.

There were a few times with Beau when I just waited until he was high enough to shoot - I know that is not considered "kosher" on the protocol, but this was when he had gotten to where a half drop of insulin dropped him to the 30s and I was starting to skip shot. Sometimes he could stay lowish for almost 24 hrs, other times he just went higher, so I shot. Schedules get all messed up, of course.

I really think you are at a point where skipping shots and seeing how she does would be reasonable. But see how the lower dose works for a few cycles. I just think she wants off the juice.
 
Sheila, we stalled an hour and shot at 82 not 62. Of course we are testing at such a low number, besides we are in CA and it isn't so late.

I'm not sure how the bounce following a skipped shot is better than trying to slow the drop w/food.
 
Re: 1/26 Tess AMPS~166 PMPS~82 +2~100 +4~108 +6~240

Sheila, +2 was 100, +4 a 108, and +6 is 240. Looks like a bit of a bounce, but not like last night. I expect she will be fine until tomorrow.
 
Ann & Tess said:
I'm not sure how the bounce following a skipped shot is better than trying to slow the drop w/food.

I don't really like either option...I personally would prefer to shoot less insulin to keep the curve shallow, (even if it means higher numbers) not have to skip a shot and not have to feed out of an extreme low.

But if one has to start giving such low quantites of insulin that it can no longer be measured, then I personally would go, and have gone (when PK went OTJ off Vetsulin) with skipping a shot b/c there is pancreas action and for lack of better terminology, skipping the shot would give the pancreas "practice" or a "workout" and maybe strengthen it or in the least, allow the body to start relying on its own insulin rather than the shot insulin.

I guess my question for Ann is, if you keep shooting the least amount of insulin that you can measure and feeding out of extreme lows, how/when or what marker do you use so you will know when Tess's body can maintain on its own?

On the other paw, I think I can see why Ann would prefer to have the exogenous insulin/food combo do the work- less wear on Tess's pancreas, maybe?

Worth noting, if it were me, I'd have probably shot the 62 and not waited for the 82 if it were my Paul b/c I have copious amounts of data that shows PK's nadir is AT feed/shot time and PK being a reliable food spiker would have a rising number within an hour of feeding/shot. And even though I would always make sure I get follow spot checks after shooting that low, plenty of folks have questioned my methods of shooting so low.

Pretty much Ann's way, my way and Sheila's way amount to just method preferences...ECID and Every bean is different, too.

As long as the method works and the cat's are okay, we can all learn from each other.
 
Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
....for lack of better terminology, skipping the shot would give the pancreas "practice" or a "workout" and maybe strengthen it or in the least, allow the body to start relying on its own insulin rather than the shot insulin.

I like that :thumbup

I was thinking about this yesterday when I was making dinner, but couldn't come up with a good way to put it. In my experience with Beau there did seem to be a need for a slow "hand-off" from exogenous to pancreas insulin control. You can see it in his numbers as I started skipping shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top