KarenAmelia
Member Since 2012
Terra AMPS>600;+3 416 +7 401 PMPS 296 +3 315
I'm posting with some trepidation because I flat out ignored folks' advice not to increase dose. I know that some people get peeved if their advice is ignored; I want to say that I REALLY appreciate the guidance here and couldn't do without it, so don't write me off! My reasoning (which I share in all humility - and am certainly open to feedback):
Terra appeared to bounce on 1/24 and I held her dose steady for 4 cycles after the big bounce ( I know I should've held for 72 hours or 6 cycles, but she'd been on that dose for some time). Last night was her ninth cycle on that dose, so going slow. She pegged the meter this morning and I reasoned that, looking at her numbers over the past couple days, it wasn't the start of another bounce. Possibly she was responding to too little insulin , not too much. So I upped the dose to 3.0 this morning. If it weren't for the 1 hour late shot last night which is reputed to equal a reduction in dose, she could've been a candidate for increase according to the protocol.
She's been kind of low today: sleeping a lot and drinking a lot. Not active as she has been intermittently over the past weeks. She wouldn't eat anything but some bits of boiled chicken and some chicken liver. Negative ketones: I tested late in the afternoon.
Now her numbers are kind of wacky: an apparent nadir at +12, so tomorrow will be interesting to observe. Unfortunately I'm going to be gone much of the day and won't be able to test mid-cycle. Seems like tonight will be important to get some indication of what's happening.
I'm posting with some trepidation because I flat out ignored folks' advice not to increase dose. I know that some people get peeved if their advice is ignored; I want to say that I REALLY appreciate the guidance here and couldn't do without it, so don't write me off! My reasoning (which I share in all humility - and am certainly open to feedback):
Terra appeared to bounce on 1/24 and I held her dose steady for 4 cycles after the big bounce ( I know I should've held for 72 hours or 6 cycles, but she'd been on that dose for some time). Last night was her ninth cycle on that dose, so going slow. She pegged the meter this morning and I reasoned that, looking at her numbers over the past couple days, it wasn't the start of another bounce. Possibly she was responding to too little insulin , not too much. So I upped the dose to 3.0 this morning. If it weren't for the 1 hour late shot last night which is reputed to equal a reduction in dose, she could've been a candidate for increase according to the protocol.
She's been kind of low today: sleeping a lot and drinking a lot. Not active as she has been intermittently over the past weeks. She wouldn't eat anything but some bits of boiled chicken and some chicken liver. Negative ketones: I tested late in the afternoon.
Now her numbers are kind of wacky: an apparent nadir at +12, so tomorrow will be interesting to observe. Unfortunately I'm going to be gone much of the day and won't be able to test mid-cycle. Seems like tonight will be important to get some indication of what's happening.