Hi David,
I've been following but have had a really rough week (some 12-hour days at work and some severe food poisoning (both me and the fiance so no one to take care of the other)) but I'm ok now and just want to comment a bit on your pattern.
I'm not giving you advice here at all... but I note that on the 28th you skipped the evening shot and your notes say that the PMPS was 48. Is that true or is that a typo? If true, it's good that you didn't shoot, of course... and it explains the super high of the next morning. And on that 29th AMPS, you gave a .4u dose - which is, in my opinion the right thing to do. You didn't over react to a high number and give a high dose. And you can see that the .4u really did have a good effect.
From there though, you went up to .6u. I'm confused by that. You got a low number with the 48 (if I read that correctly) on the .5u. So to me it would have seemed reasonable to see what that .4u would have done for a few more cycles had you continued to give it on a closer to 12/12 schedule. I know PZI has greater flexibility than the L insulins but every cat is different and Spicey is proving that adage very well it seems.
If you had been giving the .4u at a close to 12/12 schedule and getting the same numbers you did earlier in the week, I'd say that a increase was needed... but because you didn't try them, I'd be more likely to change the schedule to a 12/12 at a .4u dose than increase the dose to .6u. That is, if you can keep that schedule.
Ok... so now it looks as if I'm making a suggestion... maybe... But it's the patterns that we have to consider and I would just like to see if you see that with me and what your thoughts are on what I see.