1/26 Sammy -AMPS 200- 146+4,PMPS 334

Glad you bought the ketone strips.
When you get the result from the ketone test can you put it in the remarks column of the SS please?

It sounds as if he is feeling better.
 
Hi Sarah, Could you please modify your title to include your kitties name? Thanks so much! It really helps us see who's who as there are many posters in this forum. :)
 
Good morning!

Have you given any thought to which dosing method you want to follow? In part, it will help decide whether you want to shoot some of those blue numbers you've been seeing.

It looks like you dropped Sammy's dose to 0.25u. I think that's a good idea so you (hopefully) will be able to shoot twice a day. Just keep in mind that with having to skip the PM shot, even though you've been managing Sammy's diabetes for a bit, the depot isn't fully formed due to the skipped shots.

When you have a few minutes, can you update your signature? The information depending on what applies is as follows:

  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
  • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: date
    • Name of insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.
 
To edit the title, go to your first post of the day. On the top right is a Thread Tools drop down, with Edit Title under there as the first entry in the drop down menu.
 
Good morning!

Have you given any thought to which dosing method you want to follow? In part, it will help decide whether you want to shoot some of those blue numbers you've been seeing.

It looks like you dropped Sammy's dose to 0.25u. I think that's a good idea so you (hopefully) will be able to shoot twice a day. Just keep in mind that with having to skip the PM shot, even though you've been managing Sammy's diabetes for a bit, the depot isn't fully formed due to the skipped shots.

When you have a few minutes, can you update your signature? The information depending on what applies is as follows:

  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
  • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: date
    • Name of insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.


I have not decided what kind of dosing method to do. i have some severe anxiety about him bottoming out. Im not able to stay home with him 24/7 (wish i could) I would like consistency but i also would like my Kitty to have whatever is best for him.
 
I have not decided what kind of dosing method to do. i have some severe anxiety about him bottoming out. Im not able to stay home with him 24/7 (wish i could) I would like consistency but i also would like my Kitty to have whatever is best for him.
No one here stays home with their cat 24 by 7. Once you learn your cat's responses to insulin, their onset, nadir and duration, it helps you know when you have to monitor or feed and when you don't have to. Most people get an automated feeder, so feed is available when they think their cat will need it. Food is our tool to keep our cats safe. Use weekends and nights and times you will be home to gather data to see how Sammy responds to insulin. A post that may help you with some tips for getting out of the house whether you are working or not, following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow. Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job?

People will be unable to give you dosing suggestions, if you do not pick a dosing method to follow, as the guidelines for when to increase and decrease, and how long to hold the dose differ between the two methods. Pick a dosing method that suits your lifestyle and your goals for Sammy.

As far as tonight, you have to decide how low you are comfortable shooting. Again, the guidelines are different between the two dosing methods. Experienced people will shoot lower, provided they have the data, can monitor and have high carb food and plenty of test strips. Lantus is great at giving flat cycles when you shoot lower. You have now shot as low as 200. You have to decide what your comfort zone is.
 
No one here stays home with their cat 24 by 7. Once you learn your cat's responses to insulin, their onset, nadir and duration, it helps you know when you have to monitor or feed and when you don't have to. Most people get an automated feeder, so feed is available when they think their cat will need it. Food is our tool to keep our cats safe. Use weekends and nights and times you will be home to gather data to see how Sammy responds to insulin. A post that may help you with some tips for getting out of the house whether you are working or not, following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow. Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job?

People will be unable to give you dosing suggestions, if you do not pick a dosing method to follow, as the guidelines for when to increase and decrease, and how long to hold the dose differ between the two methods. Pick a dosing method that suits your lifestyle and your goals for Sammy.

As far as tonight, you have to decide how low you are comfortable shooting. Again, the guidelines are different between the two dosing methods. Experienced people will shoot lower, provided they have the data, can monitor and have high carb food and plenty of test strips. Lantus is great at giving flat cycles when you shoot lower. You have now shot as low as 200. You have to decide what your comfort zone is.

I understand.. so I think after reading that post I would feel more comfortable with SLGS which is what I was doing before. But I guess at this point I'm not sure where to go from here.
 
Start with updating your signature by putting SLGS in there. When you get your PMPS number, do not feed, and post for help. At that point, change your subject line to include the tests you had today, and add something like "stalling - need help". If the number is too low for you to shoot. It's hard to predict where Sammy will be at PMPS.
 
Back
Top