1/26 Rupert PMPS 410 +4 345 FIRST DAY on LEV

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
So, starting all over again! I reduced the dose from the 2.25 he was on with Lantus, to a fat sort of 1.75 on Lev. Will see how he does for a couple of days and then up to 2 (methinks?!). Despite massive number (as usual) for his AMPS Rupie was BEBT and bossy and has been quite active all morning. Very small drop for +4 but I'm assuming it will take a little while for the new 'shed' to build and for us to figure out a dose for him. At least he didn't do his usual massive dive and he seems happy so fingers crossed.

He had a dental extraction just before Xmas (Dec 21) and we noticed a good improvement in his numbers right after that, and he's been hitting the greens a fair bit since then and has been even MORE BEBT (if that is possible) so he's feeling mighty fine. But I was struggling with the bizarre bounces which seemed to be getting worse and worse. I started wondering if perhaps he was getting too much insulin so experimented a little with shaved and fat doses but nothing seemed to help. if I gave him 2.5 he dove hideously so then I'd shave to 2.25 and he would level for a few days and then dive hideously so I'd get excited and think we were on the right track and shave slightly again only to have him level completely and do little.. so then back to 2.25 and massive dives. Seemed his onset was at about the 2 hour mark with a massive dive between 2 and 4/5, a couple of hours of greens or blues and then the expected bounce from the massive dive. sigh, round and round.

His blood work from the vet visit was really good and she was happy with him, his fructosamine (they insisted on doing it) showed his average in the 300's which she seemed pleased with (apparently good for a diabetic cat???).. but surprised me because I had consistently seen super high and super low.. so I guess the 'average' made the overall picture look good. No help re switching to Lev, she had little or no knowledge really of how things worked at all. Luckily I was able to just go get the Lev by myself and so the experimentation begins. I still have four brand new vials of Lantus in the fridge.. sigh...$$$$$! but I guess I'll hang on to them in case this experiment goes wrong!

Fingers crossed. I'm assuming I'll see crappy numbers today.. any thoughts on how long before I should sneak the dose up??
 
Re: 1/26 Rupert AMPS 579, +4 545 FIRST DAY on LEV

I would give him a good 3 days on the initial dose. The new depot has to build.
 
Re: 1/26 Rupert AMPS 579, +4 545 FIRST DAY on LEV

HI Pip....you know I'm not an advisor. I'm just here to say I wish you great success with the lev, for Rupie :-D
 
Re: 1/26 Rupert AMPS 579, +4 545 +6 410 FIRST DAY on LEV

quite happy with the 410 at the +6 mark... it was a slow slide to it and more than I was expecting this first day. Will try to get about a +9 or 10 to see how things are going. Have to head back out to the barn to finish body clipping Ro... I'm covered in horse hair... and he isn't! tee hee
 
Re: 1/26 Rupert AMPS 579, +4 545 +6 410 FIRST DAY on LEV

Easy does it Rupert, slow and steady is the way to go. Looks promising so far Pip.
 
Re: 1/26 Rupert PMPS 410 FIRST DAY on LEV

interesting. just held steady at that 410 all day. Whilst it's not a very nice number, it IS nice not to see a huge swoop and rebound. I'm assuming the shed is still filling so I'll practice wearing my patience pants and quietly monitor and gather data for a few days!
 
well. interesting first day. a slow steady decline with NO bounce and no upward motion at all. I don't think we've ever had a day like that before. Still in the pink numbers but got there steadily and undramatically. He seems quite happy and unphased as usual. Tomorrow's AMPS number will be most interesting. At least tonight it looks like I can get to bed at a decent time. Hope everyone has a good evening and all kitties that need vines are doing well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top