1/26 Ruby AMPS 205/+5 250/+9 270/PMPS 304/+3 270

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...166-10-106-pmps-112-3-80.258297/#post-2905136

It’s been a few days, Ruby’s been in a lot of higher than usual for her numbers. Could be skipped shot and the depot still needs refilling or something else is going on. Found a puke on the floor last night that looked like a Ruby puke but hard to know. She hasn’t puked in a really long time. She also has the sniffles so I started giving her Respo-K at the suggestion of @carfurby instead of the Viralys that seemed to bother her. I have the Adequan, and if her oncologist thinks it’s ok I will give her her first shot today. We’re leaving soon to see the oncologist so I also gave her a gaba so there is less panting and crying in the car when we take her to AMC.

Hope everyone has been well! :bighug:
 
Home from the vet! Ruby was very good through the whole experience even though an inquisitive Labrador barked at her. :rolleyes: Oncologist said that Ruby seemed to be doing really well. Gained .18 kilos since her last visit 2 months ago so that is always a good sign. We'll have the blood test results later today/tomorrow. I asked to do a cobalamin and folate test since she has not had one done since February 2021, and though they ordinarily do the vitamin B tests during ultrasounds, Ruby was getting B injections while at her acupuncture appointments in September so that was too soon to get a good clean test when they did the US in November. We should have a good idea from the test now since she hasn't had any supplemental B for 4 months outside of what she gets in her food.

Oncologist said it was perfectly fine to give the Adequan injections. Also brought up Solensia excitedly as an alternative, said she was getting briefed on it by another doctor at AMC in the next week. One thing she noted is that it wasn't produced by "big pharma" so the roll out in the United States is slow--I just saw on the Zoetis website that it will be available late this year.

BGs are still high. Ruby usually drops after her vet visits so we may see green tonight.
 
What a good Oncology report and I see you started Adaquan today. Did your vet say how long it would take to notice any difference? That is very exciting that the Solensia could be available this year even! Sending good vibes for good B/W report tomorrow!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I've heard Solensia is early summer time frame. Will be exciting to have another option! In the mean time, I hope the Adequan helps. Weight gain is good, as long as it's OK for her. Too much is hard on arthritis, a battle I had to fight with Neko due to her acro.

Depot should be full and ready now. Hope that PMPS is a "high before the low".
 
Ruby's numbers remain high and she threw up again tonight. The puke is a dark brown color that alarms me. I gave her a Cerenia tonight. She ate pretty well all day but has not eaten anything this evening, then threw up around 10 PM or PMPS+2. I am very concerned. Oncologist got the blood work back and she said there was nothing concerning but she can't give me the exact report until the cobalamin and folate tests come back, which won't be for a week from now. Until then, I'm stopping all of her supplements except Lactulose to rule out anything that may be upsetting her stomach.

I'm totally bent out of shape because it's really unusual for her to be doing this. I really hope she comes out of it. Tomorrow morning I plan on increasing her dose. I hope it's not premature.
 
What a good Oncology report and I see you started Adaquan today. Did your vet say how long it would take to notice any difference? That is very exciting that the Solensia could be available this year even! Sending good vibes for good B/W report tomorrow!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Ruth, I think it's an ECID thing. Some cats react after the first shot and others take longer. I have hardly seen Ruby at all tonight as she isn't feeling good and hiding, so I can't tell. :(
 
Poor girl. Hopefully just some tummy irritation, maybe some additional stress from the vet. Ulcer perhaps? Shes due for a poop but not overdue. Maybe delayed issue with the GLM? Or even the gaba? Hopefully she feels better in a few days off the supplement.
 
I hope she feels better soon. Sounds like she had a lot going on today ( both of you, actually). So hard when we can’t know exactly what’s going on with them or how to help. :(
 
Poor girl. Hopefully just some tummy irritation, maybe some additional stress from the vet. Ulcer perhaps? Shes due for a poop but not overdue. Maybe delayed issue with the GLM? Or even the gaba? Hopefully she feels better in a few days off the supplement.
I think the most likely problem is stomach ulcer caused by long term oral steroids. I’m not sure how that can be dealt with if she needs the steroid. Talking to her oncologist tomorrow.
 
Hi Katherine, Sucrofate is the medicine for stomach ulcers, to heal the actual ulcer part. It coats the gut so it can heal. Also we’ve used Omeprazole or Famotidine to keep acid build up at bay. The ulcer may also appear on ultrasound as what looks like a possible growth. I’ve never had the ulcer in response to steroid use before. Is Ruby on any antibiotics right now by chance? I’ve had ulcer develop in Cricket from Baytril (rare side effect). It did show up as what they thought was a lesion in her jejunum, but of course it healed and went away. Ulcer would also cause blood in vomit.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top