1/26 Ruben 314 pmps 135 +4 143+5

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
diagnosed mon 1/21 is on 1unit but from thelittle testing ive done signs point that he drops fast around the +4 only question is should i give the whole unit or .75 (guess no half marked syringes yet) plese post quick, hes due :?:
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

I'm NOT a dosing advisor but
Ruben earned the reduction to .75. with that 48 from yesterday. I certainly wouldn't increase him...
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

tha was my intuition i new here, do you know any experts around to send them to me. he's only eaten maybe half a can of fancy feast wet ( the smaller cans-the classic pate)
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

gave him (i think) .75unit. I hate the idea that Im guessing how much w ruben but Id rather go a lil under than have him go hypo.
every moment is like running a marathon....I am so exhausted, and still i wake to a racing heart, chest punding, head speeding. no rest at all
my body is constant fight mode.....its difficult to ease ino this.
hope i did the right thing?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

His AMPS was 436, and he's eaten... .75u should be fine.
You could put the :?: in your first post so people know you have a question

On your first post, click the "Edit" button, then select the "?" icon from the top, then click "Submit"
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

You need to breath and know you are doing the very best for Ruben. It's better to give him the .75 because he didn't eat alot and his numbers come down quickly. Go lay down ,close your eyes and rest Ruben will be just fine.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

oh mommy I love you soo much, its you and ruben that make this life a wonderful thing
there truelly are no words to thank you. could you imagine where i'd be if i didn't have you? I can't, i know it would not be good. I would just give up. you and ruben are my reason to fight. they never did cut the imbilical cord. always with you mom even when im not...touching my necklace now.
when i saw this post a huge wave of "its gonna be ok" came over me. amazing how you can do that.
id give my life to spare yours. your the best
gonna rest (or try to) hey at least im gona loose weight over this...lol
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

Good morning, Samantha and welcome to Lantus Land! Marje mentioned that you would be moving from Health to LL.

Bruce coached you to do the right thing. If there's no one immediately around, often the answers to questions can be found in the starred sticky notes. (The trick is to know where to look -- there's a huge amount of information in those notes.) In this case, the answer would have been in the description of the Tight Regulation Protocol. You want to hold a dose for 3 days/6 cycles (unless there's a drop below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat) in order to evaluate its effectiveness.

I'd encourage you to familiarize yourself with the sticky notes. Some people print out the information so they have the information handy. Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge and are very willing to share.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

thank goodness for marje, So i guess i should stay at .75 for the next 3 days unless he drops, then come here...
right?
im going to go to the sticky's and start reading, but for now, since its said and done, im gonna lay down. and try to breath, that become a foreign concept these days...lol
feels good to know someone was looking out for ruben and i this morning. thank you. i will be here all day and night im assuing for the next 2 weeks please keep an eye on us, not sure if marge told you, but im kinda a basket case since i found out and need constant reassuance...sorry. just love him soooooo much, my all
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

Good morning, Marje got worried about you last night after his +4.. She was asking for another test and thought you were going to do one but never heard back?? She likely stayed up for you and got very concerned something had happened but I do know you were having issues taking blood and so on.he may have dropped quite low?

Anyway it's likely he did drop quite low last night and that's why he is high this morning.. He is likely bouncing from that but we won't know for sure unless u did more testing? Or did you give high carb?. He should come down from the bounce today.. Probably slowly so you may be able to skip testing till +6 or even give him a break till PMPS.

Short explanation of a bounce :
A bounce happens when cats blood sugar drops lower than the cat is used to, or drops suddenly.
The liver panics and makes the blood sugar rise to compensate.
However It doesn't mean the cat dropped dangerously low... but can just mean he dropped lower than the liver is used to...And when a cat is diabetic for a while, the liver gets used medium to high blood sugar and panics when he goes into normal cat BG numbers.
However the bounce wears off eventually.

Wendy
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

I was going back and looking over some of your earlier posts on Health. Has the problem with diarrhea and vomiting resolved? I'm assuming you've still got Ruben on the metronidazole (it's Flagyl -- a name you may be more familiar with). What food is he eating?

One point I don't know that others made (I didn't get through all of the posts) is that dry food is more apt to turn bad than canned. There have been more instances of dry food recalls and because there's a fat content in dry, it can go rancid fairly quickly.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

RubenTheCat said:
he's only eaten maybe half a can of fancy feast wet ( the smaller cans-the classic pate)
On some days, Gobbles doesn't eat a lot at once, but he grazes. And some days I wonder if he ate enough. I finally bought a scale to keep track of his weight (which I enter on the "notes" field on his SS) and weigh him 2x week. He's been holding 12 pounds for a couple of weeks, so he must be eating enough. Before dx, his weight was 13.5 (he WAS overweight), at dx (11/17/12) he was down to 11.2. 12 pounds is probably his ideal weight. Do you have a scale?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

Hi Samantha,

I just wanted to weigh in quickly on the meters. I've used both the Relion Micro and the AlphaTrak. I started with the Relion because it was cheap. It worked perfectly fine. I switched the the Alpha because that's what my vet used. I stayed with it until Ruby was off of insulin. I use the Relion now because I only test her every couple of weeks and the Alpha strips are expensive. You can get the Alpha strips at American Diabetes Wholesale. http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...lucose-test-strips_6971.htm?source=SiteSearch The shipping was always fast for me. I did make sure that I had strips for the Relion on hand at all times, just in case, though.

Hang in there, you can do this. I was where you are exactly a year ago. I was a trembling mess a good chunk of the time. It does get better. The help I found here guided me thru some very ugly times, but it worked. Every cat is different, but my Ru ended up diet controlled after a few months. That doesn't happen for everyone but we were really, really lucky. I can say with absolute certainty that if I hadn't found the amazing people here, Ruby wouldn't still be with me today.

Testing can be hard and stressful but stay with it. There were many times I ended up sobbing and Ru ended up hiding under the bed. But we did it. It will be worth it in the long run. Give Ruben lots of treats and love with each test.

-Amy & Ruby
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

i'm here, i'm here...didn't mean to dissapear but litteraly been sleeping til just now. could still sleep. exhausted.
apparently i left out the lantus :o my house is at 66degrees i just put it back in the fridge...is it okay?
the vomit and diarrhea has stopped. yay. grateful for small miricals Rubens snuggled up next to me for the 1st time in 2 days. you should see how im typing in order for him not to move.....gonna lay w him and listen to him breath. i love his smell. ill be back in a bit and give how i found out he even had diabetis.
thank you all.
let me know about the lantus. im broke so really praying its okay
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

Your Lantus should be fine. If it's bad it will have floates (little white flakes floating around).
Just keep in it frig, not in the door (where the temperature changes too much).

Welcome to Lantus Land :-D
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

144 +6.25 < that good, right?

Ive been keeping it in the door. thanks for the heads up
im going o go clean my house, its a disaser i havent done anything but look at ruben for 5 days. i have karo and cotton balls everywhere...lol.jk
thank you for all the support i need it. please keep an eye on us. im still a mess. shook the whole time i tried to ge a bg form ruben, por thing, and to top i all of he doesn't want his treats. poor guy. no reward. please let me know how his numbers look and if i should stay at .75 (im pretty sure i do) but need validation hrought this process
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

that 144 was today? thats a pretty fast recovery from his bounce. Ruben is doing really well! And he sounds happy too.. snuggling beside his mommy.. forgiving her for the inconvenience of ear poke!!
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

yes 144 was today at +6.25 i thought it was okay to feel good about that , but never sure of anyhting
thank wendy your words are just what i need. you know how to handle me lol
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

He is hungry, I gave him some food (wet ff classic) he's supposed to eat 3 cans a day and Im lucky if he gets 1 1/2) if i think im correct he can eat as long as its not 2 hours before his shot? repond quick if not cause he's eating please
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

RubenTheCat said:
i'm here, i'm here...didn't mean to dissapear but litteraly been sleeping til just now. could still sleep. exhausted.
apparently i left out the lantus :o my house is at 66degrees i just put it back in the fridge...is it okay?
let me know about the lantus. im broke so really praying its okay
i left my vial of lantus out last week...was kinda flippn' about it...it was left in a bedroom at 72 degrees for 12 hours...i put it in the fridge as soon as i found it...it is fine...no floaties...i've been using it sense and it is working! btw, my vial was purchased 11/23--three months ago--and is still good (even though it is supposed to be for "only 28 days")...a lot of people here use theirs for longer than that! Mine cost $139 and i cannot afford that every month so i am thrilled it lasts a good while! next time though, i'll buy the pens...
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

yes, feed him!

Can you update your SS? wow he is coming down from his bounce fast. That is good news!! Be very interested to see what he is doing at PMPS. Get some rest now, you might be in for another busy night.. Ruben does like to make sure mommy is busy!
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

RubenTheCat said:
He is hungry, I gave him some food (wet ff classic) he's supposed to eat 3 cans a day and Im lucky if he gets 1 1/2) if i think im correct he can eat as long as its not 2 hours before his shot? repond quick if not cause he's eating please
Gobby is a grazer. I have 2 other cats here and i leave food out for them all the time....the exception for me is like the other day when he tested am 94...when i saw that number (lowest ever since his FD ride started) i flipped out and turned into a real basket case--literally shaking... i withheld his shot and posted for help immediately--and the experts were on it, and seen me through...make sure you read through (and even print out) that stickys http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147 and http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1122. I've read these both a few times and was baffled with the 94 reading so it all totally went over my head! But I had tons of support and there was always an expert online to get me through.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

also ruben ketones were negative and his glucose was 400 around +7(i think didnt write it down) plus his poop is almost black and hard, could that be the med (flagyl) <metronozanal and is it ok?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

RubenTheCat said:
also ruben ketones were negative and his glucose was 400 around +7(i think didnt write it down) plus his poop is almost black and hard, could that be the med (flagyl) <metronozanal and is it ok?
can you look on your glucometer to see what his last BG was? most glucometers keep track of BG numbers...
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

RubenTheCat said:
144 @+6.25
you can put that in the +6 column as: 144 +6.25 then change the background color in that field to a blue that matches (or comes close to) the shade of blue used on a SS.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

i want to publically apologize for falling asleep. Marje-im sorry to you and most of all ruben. I did not mean it. I know your tired too and yet you stayed w me and i dissappeared.
i am very sorry. it will NOT happen again. please dont give up on us, we need you marje.
testing is super hard for me but i am working on it, what does everyone think about me trying his paw?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

couple questions
what is a pen in refrence to lantus?
and how many use the lancet on their own or use the shooty thing? i've been using the lancet free hand, wonder if the shooter thing may be easier?
also is "condo" jsut another word for thread or conversation?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

No apologies necessary. Please don't worry about it. It happens especially at the beginning when you are really tired and stressed. We aren't going to give up on you....we want to see Ruben get into remission!! :-D :-D :-D It always makes us very happy to have that happen.

When I know I must get a test, I set my phone alarm and make sure it's on a loud noise or buzz and put it in my lap so if I fall asleep with the iPad in my lap, the alarm will wake me to test.

I'll have to let others respond about the paw. There are a couple people who do it but I'm not sure how often they post. My biggest concern is the opportunity for bacteria from the litter box to get into the spots you've poked. And also, it seems to me their little paws will get sore. Ears get used to it and will learn to bleed. It just take a little time. Also, some people using the lancing device, some free hand. I free hand because it's easier for me to very lightly touch her ear to get blood. She did not like the click the lancing pen made and she'd jerk her head.

Yes..a "condo" is your daily thread or conversation.

Most of use the pens because they are cheaper in the long run. A pack of pens consists of five-3 ml pens and they usually don't expire for a really long time as long as you keep them in a drawer in the frig at the right temp. Once you start to use one, you may use it all the way to the very last drop. Some people change theirs out regularly...about 28 days for lantus and 42 days for levemir but I'd keep using it until numbers start to go a little wonky. You draw from the pen with a syringe just like you use the syringe to draw from a vial. Some places will sell you pens individually for around $50, from what I've seen on this board, but I've yet to find one where we live that will do that. You just have to call around.

If you are using a vial now, I'd just keep using it until it's empty or you start seeing floaties or his numbers start going crazy.

One thing that will help us alot is if you are able to keep your subject line updated as you get numbers. We frequently scan the list and if we see a number that doesn't seem "quite right", we'll pop into your condo. And it's great that you put the alpha trak in there, too but you can abbreviate as AT and we'll know what it means. So now, his subject line could read:
1/26 Ruben AMPS 436 +6.25 144 AT

Let's see how his cycle progresses, ok. If you can get a +11 and post it, then we'll let you know about the dose. I'll be watching for you and I'm sure others will,too.

you are doing much better today!!!! :-D :-D :-D
 
1/26 Ruben AMPS 436 +6.25 144 AT

im only ok cause of marje, wendy and this forum. thank you.
i will get a +11 and post.
is the lacet supposed to go through his little ear? for me it does100% of the time
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

ruben cleans his ear and im sure he's getting some of the neosporin in his system, is that ok?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

He should be fine if he ingests a little of the neosporin.

Are you using the lancet on its own, or the device?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

lancet on my own. sometimes i get the blood from the outside of the ear cause i go through. cant you guys here and test for me lol jk
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

ruben poops are almost black and very hard (better than the runs) is that the flagyl? and is that ok? haven't really seen him drink much that i noticed also? he seems ok just tired from checking on him
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben +11 267 at

267 +11 at (well actually +10.75) <that make a difference?
I looked at his ear w a flash light.... :cry: poor boy. one spot in that that vein looks blown out and red no thin red line, is he okay?
do i have to test a pmps? and should i still do the .75 (keep in mind its a guess, i have no 1/2 marked syringes. I just put the plunger so that the 1 unit line is at the very bottom of the plunger, so the plunger is still kinda on the 1 unit mark but its the bottom of the plunger that is hitting the hash mark....that make any sence at all? also he only treats he likes that i have, have to be about 5yrs old, found them in the cupboard. is it awful to give to him til i go to the market tomorrow, there frisky's. feel bad if i dont give him something
besides freeze dried chicken what are other diabetic friendly treats?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

Samantha

I'm out right now but just checking in on you. Yes,you will need to get a PMPS. Hopefully, he won't be much different but you should shoot the .75u dose but if he's 150 or below, please post and ask for help before you feed or shoot.

Just do the best you can to be consistent on the dose. I'll be back later to answer your other questions if no one else gets to them first and I will try to pop in about your shot time.

Remember if you have questions, open the first post of the day, click on "edit", click on the "?" Above the subject box and then click on "submit". As soon as your question is answered, please remove the "?". You can also add to your subject line the same way.

Be back soon. Good job!
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

Hey there, yes you need to do a PMPS. Yes unless he is under 150 you shoot 0.75. Otherwise come in here and post.

What else do you have at home? I wouldn't do the old treats since those could have gone bad. How about some chicken broth if he likes that? Or like I mean one single little piece of kibble. But only one or you spike his BG.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

i was looking at gracies ss and when i go to work there will be no way i can test that much...also i have to travel at least 2-3x a year. im the only caretaker for ruben. ugh. does testing ever get less?
 
1/26 Ruben +11 267 at

i dont have any other treats and he doesnt really want chix broth? what are good diabetic treats besides freeze dried chix? are all the friskies treatsdiabetic safe?
ugh off to test again, he's getting frustraed, but its best so off i go? i'm feeding him too, correct, unless his numbers are low right?
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

See my link above for other treats. Maybe just skip the treat this time.

If under 150 let us know, if over 150 shoot 0.75

Shoot then feed.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

You do not need to test as often as I test Gracie and many members do not test that often. I am collecting data now for a specific reason.
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

i was looking at gracies ss and when i go to work there will be no way i can test that much...also i have to travel at least 2-3x a year. im the only caretaker for ruben. ugh. does testing ever get less
?

Look at lots of spreadsheets. You'll see some like Gracie's and others with a lot more blank spaces. You'll also see the logic behind those that test a lot. Mainly it will come down to "know thy cat" and also just to your reality. Many people test early in the cycle for both safety (helps to clue you in about what the next few hours has in store), and because their kitty has a tendency to drop early. You'll learn Ruben's patterns, like what will happen when he clears a bounce, and what the bounce cycles look like. Most people do test more often at first, because they are "learning their cat".
Marje has been treating Gracie for some time, and she has a great feel for what to expect. BUT, Ms. Gracie also likes to keep Marje and Mike on their toes with a surprise now and then. All cats do that, probably because they can't (or won't) read the protocol. :-)

Carl
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 314 pmps

314 pmps feeding now gonna do .75u really hoping and praying i can test in like 4-6 hrs bf is getting fed up. this situation has been telling to me ugh after 14yrs guess i need to re evaluate where my life is going. ill always choose ruben
 
Re: 1/26 Ruben 436 alpha trax amps

ruben's been pretty sleepy today, im assuming cause of all the stress over the last few days but how am i to know for sure? I'm assuming lathargic means not lifting his head off the pillow and not moving or eating. he is eating (not a whole lot 1/4 can at pmps) left it out for him. he does pick his head up and gets up and stretches. am i just over analyzing him? i just did reading at 7:15 and it was 314 pmps. not low so i dont think its the disease. also my other cat still has diarhea...ugh, no money to take her, trying to let it run its course. what do you guys think. just want to do right by both of them. horrible to say but ruben is the favorite and need to save any money for him. but not at the expence of something bad happening to maple.
i really am not this crazy most of the time. swear to god! just its all hitting the fan at once.
thank you guys for everything, the kind words, the patients, the help, the advise everything. i'd be lost w/o here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top