1/26 Purrdy AMBG 216 +2 220 +6 124 PMPS 171 +2 128 +3 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMBG 207
+2 189
+8 140
PMPS 157 increase .25 to 2.25u
+2 130
+3 113
+4 127

Mum's 99% sure she didn't shoot Purrdy this morning. Drew up the dose put it down to test, didn't put the cap back on the syringe like she normally would have. Tested, bit hazy because still half asleep, see empty syringe with a drop on the end of it.

What we think happened is that in sleepy state mind saw syringe without cap on it and primed the syringe thereby expelling the insulin. This is theory supported by the drop on the end of the syringe and his +2. However mum's quite the sniffer dog and sniffed her way all round the kitchen and could not find insulin smell and he has at least once before been about the same at +2 as at PS (not normal for him he's an early onset kitty) so we decided not to risk another try, 1% risk of a double dose is still too much risk!

Purrdy seems to have an issue with his left eye, first noted on 16/1 when it was droopy. Noted again on 22/1 when he had a slight pussy discharge - washed out with light saline solution - and noted again last night when he was keeping that eye half open. Vetty visit will be forthcoming but it's a public holiday today so we'll try for tomorrow. May be a low grade infection of some kind.

Vyktor screamed at me when I took him out for morning walks - what will the neighbours think! Was starting to get a bit concerned last night when he had three rests on his little walk, although walking motion seemed fine but later last night I waved a favourite food under his nose and he was up and racing to his feeding place lickety split :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
It's better to be safe and miss a shot than to shoot a double dose. If it was a missed shot, Purrdy will get back on track soon. I hope it's nothing serious with his eye. Sending good vetty vines for tomorrow.

Vyktor screamed at me when I took him out for morning walks - what will the neighbours think! Was starting to get a bit concerned last night when he had three rests on his little walk, although walking motion seemed fine but later last night I waved a favourite food under his nose and he was up and racing to his feeding place lickety split :rolleyes:
LOL. I guess he was just telling you he didn't want to walk.
 
You can get a bit confused first thing in the morning. I have a routine which helps to ensure certainty about whether I gave Lucy her insulin or not. Better to presume the insulin was given as you said. I also take a photo of the filled syringe just before I give Lucy her insulin as then I have a record of the time the insulin was given and also on my iPhone I can zoom in on the picture of the syringe and see the dose should I have any doubt about the amount I gave or the time I gave it. I also record this information on an app on my iPad along with what I fed Lucy and when and how much and other things I want to make a note of such as glucose in urine or increase in water consumption. I admit I am a little ocd about these things. :) This morning I lost the lancet I had used and looked everywhere to find it so I could put it in the bottle I put used lancets and syringes in. I was up most of the night and so in my sleepless state I put the used lancet in the box with the unused lancets but it was easy to spot as the lid had been disconnected from the lancet so we can all get confused. Vyktor sounds like a cutie with his protests and then running for his food. Best wishes continue for Purrdy too.
 
Sneaky little Purrdy! :cool: Hope the eye issue turns out to be something very minor and easily fixable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top