1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +5 318 +7 298 +9 320 PMPS 310 +1 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112251

Last night:
PMPS 410
+5 384
+9 359
+10.5 347

Well, Ole has been cruising the pinks all last week with a dip into the yellow. I am happy that it has been quite some time since he's hit the ceiling, but I wish he would come down.

He has tested N for K all week, and because we are in the middle of a bathroom remodel, he was confined to our bedroom all week. Ole values his freedom, so this made him uncomfortable. I would pop home at lunch or between appointments for a test and a little loving.

I can not deny that Ole is tiring of his situation. He is more ornery and less lovey these days. He does enjoy his snacks though, and trying to hang out with Fifi in the early mornings.

As far as his dose, I believe he is due for an increase to 7.5 this evening. I've also considered keeping him at 7 for another cycle and giving him a drop (less than .1uR) of R to bring his numbers down into the yellow. He seems to respond well when he gets a little help from R.

I hope you have had a good week! I'm happy to be back from my little vacation, we look forward to hearing from you all soon!

Happy Sunday!
Rebekah and Ole
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439

Let's see some more yellows, Ole. Today would be the perfect day to show off your sliding skills. Ugh on the bathroom remodel - I hope it's going smoothly.
Liz
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439

I was about ready to come hunt you down! I've been the route with a kitchen remodel and it is stressful for everyone!

It looks like Ole may be one of those kitties where a TOR (touch of R) helps the Lantus grab on and do better work when the numbers are high. You're doing a great job Rebekah!
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439

Ole! You're back!! Come down out of those pinks right now. It is not your color!!

Hope you got some rest last week, Rebekah. Nice to see Ole in some yellow.
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439

I think you could go either direction, rebekah. the R doesn't substitute for being at a good L dose, but it could get him out of the pinks while you get there. i just wouldn't do an L increase with the R in the same exact shot time - at this point. as we gain more data on him that might be ok in the future. So if you want to try the R today, just do it anytime after the nadir of this cycle until the next shot. you're just avoiding coinciding nadirs, so don't give the R from about +1 to +5 or +6.

You could probably do the R in the second half of this daytime cycle and then depending on what the numbers are, you might be able to give an increase in L at the pmps. if not then, then in the morning. he does need more insulin.

i don't think you have to try to get less than a 0.1u. you do want it to do something! i don't see much from the 0.05 on the 22nd, although the next amps was out of the black.

Glad to see you! i confess i did stalk Ole's ss a few times. :-D had to see how our little buddy was doing!
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439

Hi Rebekah,
Just stopping by to say hi. :-D
Good luck with dosecrease and/or R if you decide to do it!
I hope the remodeling goes smoothly.
I just opened your profile to look for who Fifi is, and almost thought that the lobster looking guy (sorry but don't know the proper name) was Fifi. :lol:
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439 +5 318

Hi everybody!

i don't think you have to try to get less than a 0.1u. you do want it to do something! i don't see much from the 0.05 on the 22nd, although the next amps was out of the black.

Glad to see you! i confess i did stalk Ole's ss a few times. :-D had to see how our little buddy was doing!



Thank you for all of your support and kind words! Ole and I were just outside "enjoying" this ridiculously warm January day. We miss our snow over here! He loves to be outside and was basking in the sun, purring his biggest purr while getting a belly scratch, which feels sooo good! In the midst of all this goodness, he let out a hisssss, just to let me know that he is still ornery.

Regarding dose, My thinking is that a TOR will help budge him out of the pink without causing big bounces. He is currently at a low pink, before Nadir, so we'll wait to see what the rest of the day brings. If he is moving there on his own, all the better. Your input is so valued!

I've mentioned this a couple of times in PM's, but I have a very quiet personality, not shy, I just like stillness. It is the Scandinavian in me, by Dad likes it even quieter. When things around me get too "noisy", I naturally retreat, I can't help myself. The break did me good, and my calmer demeanor transferred to Ole. Even though he is still high, he is not as high, and yes, he needs more insulin for sure. Your support and guidance is very helpful.

Any way, on with our day, and on with yours! May all of your sugar kitties be well!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439 +5 318

Hi Rebekah and Ole! Confessions from another SS stalker, that I popped in too to see how he was doing. It does look like he needs more juice so good luck with the increase.

Yuck on the bathroom remodel. After our last one, Neko decided she is now frightened of guys who wear baseball caps in the house as they always make too much noise. :evil:

I'm with you on liking things quiet. I'm 5 minutes from the woods and I often pop in for a walk just to get away from all noises not made by nature. Sometimes you just need to recharge your batteries.
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439 +5 318

Hi Rebekah and Ole!!
oh-hello-smiley-emoticon.gif


We've all missed you and happy to have you back! I hear you on the noise..sometimes a little quiet reflection is just what we need!

Come on now Ole...you have such pretty sunshine there at home...why not some pretty yellows for your mamabean? You'd make her so happy!!
super-happy-dance-smiley-emoticon.gif


Good luck with whichever route you decide to go..the Lantus dosecrease or the TOR!
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439 +5 318 +7 298 +9 320

I'm glad you and Ole got to enjoy some time outside today. Good luck with the dosecrease or the touch of R. I hope it helps bring Ole down some. Hopefully your remodel will be over soon.
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439 +5 318 +7 298 +9 320

Hi!
Ole's R curve today;
+9 320 ToR (less than .1uR)
+10 341
+11 335
PMPS 310
+1 329

I opted to do a ToR at +9 to help budge Ole out of the reds and pinks, and I believe that his relatively low PMPS will allow Lantus to really have some benefit, while hopefully avoiding a big bounce. I also kept the dose at 7uL, so we'll see what this evening brings. I hope it follows the ToR pattern I tried last week to help him out of blacks and reds.

I have a bit of concern as I will be leaving town on Thursday - Sunday. Alex will be here to shoot Ole, and give am and pm ps's, but he does not have the flexibility that I have in his job to check during the day. I hope to find some nice flat sunny numbers for Ole to hang out in while I am gone, wouldn't that be awesome?

All is well with Ole.


Thanks again everybody! Enjoy your evening!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/26 Ole AMPS 428 +2 439 +5 318 +7 298 +9 320

Rebekah said:
I have a bit of concern as I will be leaving town on Thursday - Sunday. Alex will be here to shoot Ole, and give am and pm ps's, but he does not have the flexibility that I have in his job to check during the day. I hope to find some nice flat sunny numbers for Ole to hang out in while I am gone, wouldn't that be awesome?

I just did this in December. I had to Matt with Cobb for the same amount of time.

Cobb was due for an increase but Matt couldn't get the +2 or +3 numbers with his work schedule so we just left the dose where it's at. I told him preshots were mandatory and if he could get another one during the day cycle that would be great. I also told him if he got up at all throughout the night to grab a test.

I don't know if this will work, but maybe before you leave you could do another TOR or whatever is recommended there, see if you can get the numbers a little lower so while you're gone the Lantus can really go to work. Just a thought...
 
can your husband test at preshot? i think that's what you mean, just not mid-cycle?

i think he'll be able to carry on. will you be reachable by phone or too busy? or is DH willing to post here if he needs help?when we left our son in charge, he basically called or texted me with the preshot number and i told him what to do based upon that. Sienne's Gabby won't tolerate testing from anyone else, so she reduces the dose while she's traveling.

so you have a couple of options. he could reach you or us for advice if the preshot is lower than he expects, or you could reduce the dose a little bit while you're gone.

probably looking at things about Tuesday night or Wednesday morning and setting up a plan based on the current numbers and dose would be a good idea.

i like my quiet time too. it restores a person's center.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top