1/26 Munchie AMPS 353- pancreatitis/bounciness

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Checking in on Munchie. She had a bad pancreatitis attack over the weekend- worst one she's had yet :( (I'm on the panc listserve and have reviewed what to do to help her with that.) She's doing better now but numbers are pretty bouncy. I increased her to 1.25 on the 21st which was in the middle of the attack. The attack winded down around midnight on the 22nd and her numbers show it. I recorded a 204 (slept through my alarm- wah) the next evening..but feel pretty sure she got a blue because the AMPS the next morning was very bouncy 418 and then the evening cycle after that was too (similar to her 17th PM bounce where she kept going up). Tonight will be the 6th cycle after this most recent bounce.

Question: if it can take up to 6 cycles for the bounce to clear, do you hold the dose on the 7th cycle to see if the numbers return to a good range---or is the thought that the 6th cycle should show "bounce-free" numbers?

Thanks.
 
Treating pancreatitis with diet, probiotic/digestive enzymes, homeopathic remedy, subQ fluids, pain (buprenorphine) and vomitting (Cerenia - my vet is having me start this for next time, didn't have for this episode) meds when needed, and trying to introduce Pepcid but having some trouble with that.
 
On 1/23 I didn't get a +6, meant to mark that with a Question mark which I just updated. I guess she could have bounced from the yellow? but at least was very close to blue whether she got there or not.

So, with the 6 cycles to clear a bounce (max, sometimes taking less)- I guess what I wonder is, are those 6 cycles all influenced by the bounce if in fact it lasts that long? Theoretically, once the bounce clears you'd then get numbers not influenced by that?
 
That's correct. It should take no more than 6 cycles for a bounce to clear. Where it gets murky is if the numbers stay high. Then you don't know if the bounce cleared earlier and your cat's just in high numbers.
 
ewest said:
Treating pancreatitis with diet, probiotic/digestive enzymes, homeopathic remedy, subQ fluids, pain (buprenorphine) and vomitting (Cerenia - my vet is having me start this for next time, didn't have for this episode) meds when needed, and trying to introduce Pepcid but having some trouble with that.

Talk to your vet about getting a vial of B12 the pink stuff, and give weekly shots. I suggest this treatment as my cat Shadoe had frequent issues with pancreatitis and I was giving her pepcid BID but she still had attacks.
Once I started the B12 shots, Shadoe had no more problems. In the months of giving her shots, I no longer gave any pepcid and she had only one mild flare which was fixed with some fluids and a bit of bupe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top