1/26 Lucian PMPS HI, pm+3/392

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
1/25 condo



Was expecting the bounce, hope he'll come down some today.

Wasn't able to get a pm test, set the clock, slept right thru it! :o I have 2 alarms, at least I heard the morning one and will get a +6 today and see how that bounce is affecting him.

He got up in the bed for a bit last night, that always makes me happy because that is normal for him and it has been rare since he came home. :-D

Wish I didn't have to make him a 'kitty burrito' to test, but he tears me up if I don't. Maybe one day he'll relax, but I really doubt it, he's a spaz and has been all his life, although he has mellowed out considerably with age. He still doesn't like to be messed with.

Absolutely no problem at shot time tho. I do it on the dining table and as soon as I walk to the table, turn on the light and pick up the treat bag, he's right there ready to be picked up. If he could jump up there, he would, but arthritis has kept him from jumping anywhere for a few years now.

So there's the latest, we'll see how he's doing at +6. :smile:
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378

Yeah I wouldn't worry about getting anything but a +6 on him during the day today. He is likely to stay a little but lets hope he comes down some at least. But give him and you a break today, he got poked alot yesterday.

Where are you testing him? Is it in the same spot as where you are shooting? If not, why not if he will willingly go to his shot place? It maybe he doesn't mind the testing as much as where or how it is happening. With Maxwell, I couldn't and still can't restrain him in anyway or he struggles. At 17 1/2 lbs, long legged and fully armed I don't want him to struggle...lol But if I would sit on the bed with him and put a little blanket down for him to lay on as his special spot, he was a breeze to test, just reach over, back the ear, poke and test...restrain him and the fight was on. Now Musette, she wanted to be tucked under my arm like a football, but she was a petite little 8lb fluff ball. And now with Autumn, she comes and waits on the pull out shelf on my rolltop computer desk while I get everything set up and she gets her before test treat, then she gets down and lays down my knees so she is facing away from me so that I can pretty much choose which ear I want to use...she is by far the easiest even with her black ears. But I tried to burrito her in the beginning because she was less than pleasant when she first got here...talk about TORTIETUDE! There were a couple of times in the beginning with her that I was thankful she came to me front declawed out I would have been getting stitches if she had slapped me as hard with claws and she just did without. She has a viscious punch, she can back off the biggest of my clawed bullies with one of her slaps..lol.

Maybe try just sitting by Lucian on the couch or the bed where you can just reach over and poke an ear rather than trying to hold him, or if he is at a good height for you on his shot place, test him there. He may just be one of those cats that just doesn't want to be held or restrained, especially since you said he's not a lap cat.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378

I'll consider it, but I know what he's done to me in the past! :o I'm carrying fresh cuts now, on my legs from yesterday, where he kicks off before I can put him down.

I wish he was a lap cat, I'm sure it would be easier.

I may try the table, where he gets his shot. He doesn't get on the couch or furniture, except for the bed, not much now, and the last place I want to alienate him from, is the bed. It takes a minute for me to test, his ears are always cold, have to warm them and I don't think he will be still long enough without being wrapped. He is pretty docile for the first minute or two. I keep him sitting upright in my lap, don't lay him down or anything, then wrap the towel around him gently but snug, that I spray with 'calming spray', does it work, I dunno. But if he's still, it's done in 2 min. Yeah, Lucian is fully armed too. :lol: Never had a cat declawed, until the last 3 yrs, always lived out in the country, where it was reasonably safe for them to go out a little. They still spent most of the time inside, especially Meow Meow after I got a litter box, she had no interest in outside! :lol: And her a feral cat!

I'm hoping, in time, he'll relax enough to let me test him without the precautions, it's only been 2 weeks........
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378

AWW GEEZ! Didn't realize what time it was, +5 already, the cats were hungry so I fed them! ohmygod_smile Best to wait til +7 I guess.

And I am soooooooo tired of washing cat dishes! 3 dishes, 5 times a day! Seems like I am always washing dishes! :-x :lol:
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378

Oh hush....remember I have 14!!! cats!!!! Which actually breaks down to 9 dishes 4 times a day...Oh do I know the cat dish washing blues...lol Patches, Arabella, Sophia, Duvessa, and Autumn all have their own dishes because either they won't share or the eat in seperate spots from the other, Maxwell and Lady Jane Grey share a bowl, and the last 7 share four dishes. And then there is the drooler's dish but that is only twice a day thank good. There are some days the only dishes I do are animal ones :lol: :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378

OK, I'll quit complaining! ohmygod_smile

Still I'm not used to it! I rarely dirty much of anything, use the dishwasher once a week. :lol: Only ever had to wash their dishes once a day, after breakfast, they ate dry after that and only washed that one once a week, along with water bowl (in the DW) although I do rinse the water bowl daily, wash if needed and put out fresh every day.


Gonna have to look into Petsmart Sophisticat brand, there are many low/no carbs varieties and I can't afford $30+ a week for FF, with no income and limited income later. :sad:
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378 +7.5/272

Riding out that bounce!

Had planned a +6, but mistakenly fed @ +5 ohmygod_smile , so the test was 2.5 hrs after eating, don't know how much, if any of that, was due to food.

Still doesn't bother me like those HI reading, I'd rather see 272 all day than 600+ :smile: I'm sure he'll even out a bit in a day or 2.

Thanks all.
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378 +7.5/272

Actually that isn't too shabby after that bounce into the black last night. It will be interesting to see what his PMPS is tonight, he might just continue heading down.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378 +7.5/272

I'm not holding my breath on that one, if he stays off that black floor, I'll be tickled to death! :-D
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378 +7.5/272, PMPS HI

Breathe...remember it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/26 Lucian AMPS 378 +7.5/272, PMPS HI

I know, but I'm in the 'Chewing up nails and spitting out chain' mode! See a little improvement and then BAM! It's so unhealthy for him! I'll give it a couple days and we'll see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top