1/26 Kit AMPS 86, +1 64, +2 64, +3 75, PMPS 126

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

This morning's AMPS was honestly a bit of a surprise. I'm definitely working from home this morning to monitor her - she's dropped pretty low by +1, so I want to be on hand for any further drops. I don't absolutely have to be on campus until +7, so I've got time to make sure she's at safe levels.

On the meds front. I decided to go ahead with the metacam - a very small dose once a day. We did that for a few days, and she now refuses to eat 3 of the foods she previously was fine with (one of which was one she loved). I can't give her meds orally on a daily basis because anytime I have done so, she starts hiding under the bed, and that's a bad place, especially when I need to be able to access her for testing. So, I'm stopping the metacam for now.
She ran out of her transdermal gabapentin. Her last dose was supposed to coincide with the arrival of the next set of syringes. Cutting it close, but the pharmacy that compounds it has gone from taking 3-4 business days to compound it to 13-14 business days. She gets three syringes at a time, and at the dose she's at, they're gone in 15 non business days. So, in anticipation of not being able to reconcile those timelines, I asked my vet to switch it to 4 syringes to give me buffer room. I paid extra for two day shipping to ensure it would be here on time, I started weaning her down to a slightly lower dose so she still had it, but so it would last until the syringes got here, and then it didn't arrive. Tracking says UPS is still waiting to receive the package, and the pharmacy says it was picked up on late Monday/early Tuesday.
I have another order already started, but I couldn't submit that until Monday when I received the shipping notice, because their system flags it if there are two orders at the same time, and cancels the newest one. Even talking to them on the phone they told me there wasn't an option but to wait until the order had actually shipped.
So now I have to call UPS, and probably file a claim, because the pharmacy can't do anything until I file a claim. And even so, if the package is lost, she's out her gabapentin for potentially another two weeks. Her last dose was on Wednesday. And I've definitely noticed a change in how she's walking just in not having it the last day and a half. And the pharmacy said they can add a priority to the current order to get it moving faster, but it's still going to take probably a week or more. Which sucks.
I am going to submit a request to Chewy for adequan, which will likely get here before the gabapentin (unless the order in shipping limbo actually shows up), and hopefully that will help some. It's just so frustrating because I know she's more uncomfortable/in pain. I also have some cosequin in the the treat form that I may start giving her, even though it might affect her bg just so she has something. I can't add the pill to her food because anytime I add anything medicine-like she freaks out and won't eat. This has included gabapentin (stronger dose for vet visits), probiotics, cosequin, metacam. The girl makes me crazy.

Anyway, a long spiel for a Friday, but between all of that nonsense and work being absolutely more stressful every day, I had to vent a little. I hope everyone has a good Friday, and all the kitties are doing well. Someday I'll be able to do more than glance at other threads.
 
Yesterday's thread

This morning's AMPS was honestly a bit of a surprise. I'm definitely working from home this morning to monitor her - she's dropped pretty low by +1, so I want to be on hand for any further drops. I don't absolutely have to be on campus until +7, so I've got time to make sure she's at safe levels.

On the meds front. I decided to go ahead with the metacam - a very small dose once a day. We did that for a few days, and she now refuses to eat 3 of the foods she previously was fine with (one of which was one she loved). I can't give her meds orally on a daily basis because anytime I have done so, she starts hiding under the bed, and that's a bad place, especially when I need to be able to access her for testing. So, I'm stopping the metacam for now.
She ran out of her transdermal gabapentin. Her last dose was supposed to coincide with the arrival of the next set of syringes. Cutting it close, but the pharmacy that compounds it has gone from taking 3-4 business days to compound it to 13-14 business days. She gets three syringes at a time, and at the dose she's at, they're gone in 15 non business days. So, in anticipation of not being able to reconcile those timelines, I asked my vet to switch it to 4 syringes to give me buffer room. I paid extra for two day shipping to ensure it would be here on time, I started weaning her down to a slightly lower dose so she still had it, but so it would last until the syringes got here, and then it didn't arrive. Tracking says UPS is still waiting to receive the package, and the pharmacy says it was picked up on late Monday/early Tuesday.
I have another order already started, but I couldn't submit that until Monday when I received the shipping notice, because their system flags it if there are two orders at the same time, and cancels the newest one. Even talking to them on the phone they told me there wasn't an option but to wait until the order had actually shipped.
So now I have to call UPS, and probably file a claim, because the pharmacy can't do anything until I file a claim. And even so, if the package is lost, she's out her gabapentin for potentially another two weeks. Her last dose was on Wednesday. And I've definitely noticed a change in how she's walking just in not having it the last day and a half. And the pharmacy said they can add a priority to the current order to get it moving faster, but it's still going to take probably a week or more. Which sucks.
I am going to submit a request to Chewy for adequan, which will likely get here before the gabapentin (unless the order in shipping limbo actually shows up), and hopefully that will help some. It's just so frustrating because I know she's more uncomfortable/in pain. I also have some cosequin in the the treat form that I may start giving her, even though it might affect her bg just so she has something. I can't add the pill to her food because anytime I add anything medicine-like she freaks out and won't eat. This has included gabapentin (stronger dose for vet visits), probiotics, cosequin, metacam. The girl makes me crazy.

Anyway, a long spiel for a Friday, but between all of that nonsense and work being absolutely more stressful every day, I had to vent a little. I hope everyone has a good Friday, and all the kitties are doing well. Someday I'll be able to do more than glance at other threads.
Oh Alicia! Sending fast UPS shipping prayers. Ugh. That really sucks!! Any chance you have a local compounding pharmacy nearby locally???
I have one that can compound gabapentin in liquid form near me. Worth doing a search online. Just a thought since this mailing thing is a problem.
I sure hope sweet Kit feels better and meds and foods are more appealing to her quickly. You’re so good at watching every nuance of her care. Great job mama!!
Sending you love and big hugs in support. I know it’s so stress to deal with additional stressors just to get the meds they need ontime!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Alicia! Sending fast UPS shipping prayers. Ugh. That really sucks!! Any chance you have a local compounding pharmacy nearby locally???
I have one that can compound gabapentin in liquid form near me. Worth doing a search online. Just a thought since this mailing thing is a problem.
I sure hope sweet Kit feels better and meds and foods are more appealing to her quickly. You’re so good at watching every nuance of her care. Great job mama!!
Sending you love and big hugs in support. I know it’s so stress to deal with additional stressors just to get the meds they need ontime!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
There's a local pharmacy that does the liquid. It's difficult to give for longer periods though because she won't eat if it's on her food, and if I give it to her by mouth, she hides and refuses to come out, which also isn't ideal. These smart tri colors some days. She's such a pain about it that it just adds a level of difficulty.
 
There's a local pharmacy that does the liquid. It's difficult to give for longer periods though because she won't eat if it's on her food, and if I give it to her by mouth, she hides and refuses to come out, which also isn't ideal. These smart tri colors some days. She's such a pain about it that it just adds a level of difficulty.
I’m sorry it’s so difficult. I understand the frustration. They are so finicky about what they will allow. Is there a closer compounding pharmacy that does what you need to reduce shipping times? (Lots of questions, I know) :(
 
I’m sorry it’s so difficult. I understand the frustration. They are so finicky about what they will allow. Is there a closer compounding pharmacy that does what you need to reduce shipping times? (Lots of questions, I know) :(
Honestly, no idea. I'm not sure if there are pharmacies that do the transdermal meds other than Wedgewood. I emailed the vet for suggestions, so hopefully she gets back to me soon.
 
Just got off the phone with Wedgewood (the pharmacy). I talked to one of their higher up folks who refunded the meds, and is going to contact the lab to push through my current order to get it out as fast as possible, and they're 1 day shipping it at no charge. He was like, how much do you have on hand. When I said none since Wednesday, he was like, well let's fix that as fast as possible. I really do appreciate them - I know it was just an amalgamation of not great things that all hit at once, but they really do try to take care of their customers.
 
Just got off the phone with Wedgewood (the pharmacy). I talked to one of their higher up folks who refunded the meds, and is going to contact the lab to push through my current order to get it out as fast as possible, and they're 1 day shipping it at no charge. He was like, how much do you have on hand. When I said none since Wednesday, he was like, well let's fix that as fast as possible. I really do appreciate them - I know it was just an amalgamation of not great things that all hit at once, but they really do try to take care of their customers.
That’s great news!! Great job mama. :bighug::):bighug::)
And beautiful cycle. Go Kit go! :D:D
 
One of the things Kit's vet and I have been emailing about this morning - I noticed yesterday and today that Kit has been walking on more than just the ball of her foot on her back legs. Her vet said she noticed it at the last vet visit, but she wasn't sure if it was the sedation (Kit gets gaba before vet visits when we have to do more than the Solensia injection). She said it might be neuropathy from Kit being unregulated. She was doing much better with her numbers before the end of December when they started really shooting up because of the UTI. And she hadn't been walking poorly (other than kind of stiffly sometimes because of the arthritis) until recently. Would neuropathy have set in that quickly? Could it have just been low levels before and now not having the gaba really brought it out? It wasn't a thing before her remission, and I pretty obsessively watch her for stuff like this, so I feel like I would have noticed.

@Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko
 
I had to buy wooden risers to put under my bed frame so I could crawl under to get my cats out. When I got a new mattress I skipped the frame and got a foundation without legs so it sits directly on the floor. Now the only place they can go where I can’t get my cats is inside the sofa where the motor is. I lock that door if I know I need to get them.
Honestly, no idea. I'm not sure if there are pharmacies that do the transdermal meds other than Wedgewood. I emailed the vet for suggestions, so hopefully she gets back to me soon.

There are others. Some make chews as well. I’ll look when I have time for the one they like on the IBD/scl list. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I had to buy wooden risers to put under my bed frame so I could crawl under to get my cats out. When I got a new mattress I skipped the frame and got a foundation without legs so it sits directly on the floor. Now the only place they can go where I can’t get my cats is inside the sofa where the motor is. I lock that door if I know I need to get them.


There are others. Some make chews as well. I’ll look when I have time fur tge one they like on the IBD/scl list. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Elise!
The last time we tried meds that I had to give by mouth, she just stayed under one of the beds and only came out if we were asleep or not home. She just wanted nothing to do with me even during non meds times, and it just made us both super sad.
 
So treats won’t work either? This company might also do transdermals.
The compounded gabapentin treats? She's tried those. And by that I mean she licked them, and then tried to bury them under the carpet. She is the most ridiculous, but adorable, creature. Or were you referencing a different med?
 
I was asking about any you need. Apparently the flavor matters. For some meds sweet works best and others chicken or fish. I’ve never done it as I put my meds in gel capsules and chase with yummy food they like. When not eating I would syringe food or water after a pill.
 
I was asking about any you need. Apparently the flavor matters. For some meds sweet works best and others chicken or fish. I’ve never done it as I put my meds in gel capsules and chase with yummy food they like. When not eating I would syringe food or water after a pill.
Ah - gotcha. Yeah, she'll eat cosequin supplements in treat form. For her once a month vet visits, on the visits she needs to be calmer, I can give her liquid gabapentin by mouth - it's infrequent enough that she tolerates (but still hates) it but it doesn't make her hide. The adequan I ordered will be in shot form, so that's doable. The gaba in treat form was tuna/fish flavored, and she hated it. I'm not sure if she would tolerate a different flavor? As far as the transdermal gaba that was lost in shipping limbo - I'm not sure trying to order another transdermal would be faster from somewhere else - Wedgewood is fast tracking it through the system since she doesn't have any, and doing one day shipping.

Are there other meds that I haven't listed that are helpful with arthritis/possible neuropathy? I'm willing to try stuff.
 
The pharmacy is BCPvetpharm.com. You can order chews without meds to see which she likes. You can see if they do transdermal as well.

I have seen cats here were helped with arthritis with solencia injections.
 
Hi Alicia, have you seen this thread (and it's accompanying links) regarding neuropathy http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feline-diabetic-neuropathy-weak-back-legs.178252/ ?

I get Gaba in chew/treat form with chicken flavor from Wedgewood. I have to wrap it in a pill pocket to get Cleo to take it. Oddly the pill pocket doesn't seem to have a direct correlation to her BGs despite her being carb sensitive.
If she's riding high she just stays high and if she's surfing greens she stays green/blue. The same is true for the Cosequin chews. As a side note, I'll give the Cosequin or the Gaba about 30 mins after test-feed-shoot or right before onset.
 
Hello Alicia and Kit!

She's having a beautiful cycle so far. Go sweet girl!

I'm sorry to hear about your package getting lost but glad the pharmacy is helping you out and hopefully you'll get it very soon.

As for neuropathy, I'm no expert but when Nestle was first diagnosed his neuropathy got worse and worse. It happened gradually but progressed really quickly but his numbers were all over the place, which is not the case with Kit. First, I noticed he couldn't jump on the bed anymore and his legs would shake every now and then. Then he started walking more and more on his back hocks and finally his front legs would go under him when he tried to walk. Eventually he could only walk 2-3 steps at a time and then he would lie down to rest. It would take him a long time to get anywhere so most of the time I would just carry him. I only gave him B12 and once he became regulated he slowly started getting more control of his legs and became stronger. He started walking better and eventually started jumping. Today you wouldn't even know in how bad of a shape he was in. He walks, runs, jumps and wrestles with Peanut.
That being said I don't know if it's Kit's neuropathy or arthritis but o wanted to share my story with you. Hopefully it sheds some light on what you're experiencing.

Wishing you and Kit a peaceful Furrrrrriday

upload_2024-1-26_14-8-32.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-26_14-8-32.png
    upload_2024-1-26_14-8-32.png
    303.9 KB · Views: 196
For compounded meds, the IM vet on the SCL group recommends sweet, such as marshmallow flavour. Though we've had a number of kitties here take bacon marshmallow quite willingly.

Kit's BG numbers don't look neuropathy worthy to me. I'd suspect arthritis. Hasn't the vet investigated her hind legs to see if it can be felt? I could feel Neko's arthritis. It was that bad. :(
Are there other meds that I haven't listed that are helpful with arthritis/possible neuropathy?
I tried a few with Neko, and more than meds. Best results with acupuncture (and supplemented by me doing daily acupressure to extend it). Acupucture is pain relief. Neko was also on daily buprenorphine for pain which also really helped. Duralactin also worked well - but can't be given to kitties with high calcium. I read of some people giving it when they can't give metacam or won't. Duralactin and fish oil are anti-inflammatory. I also tried hyaluronic acid, which helped just a bit. That and Cosequin (too lightweight for Neko) do similar things. My brother gets hyaluronic acid shots for his arthritic knees. I've also tried MSM on an earlier arthritic kitty and it seemed to help him. He wasn't as stiff as Neko.

I didn't try but heard about include laser therapy. I have seen a couple kitties here use it. And Assisi loop too though only seen one cat here try it (with success).
 
The pharmacy is BCPvetpharm.com. You can order chews without meds to see which she likes. You can see if they do transdermal as well.

I have seen cats here were helped with arthritis with solencia injections.
Thanks for the pharmacy name - I'll check into it.
She's on Solensia.
 
Hi Alicia, have you seen this thread (and it's accompanying links) regarding neuropathy http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feline-diabetic-neuropathy-weak-back-legs.178252/ ?

I get Gaba in chew/treat form with chicken flavor from Wedgewood. I have to wrap it in a pill pocket to get Cleo to take it. Oddly the pill pocket doesn't seem to have a direct correlation to her BGs despite her being carb sensitive.
If she's riding high she just stays high and if she's surfing greens she stays green/blue. The same is true for the Cosequin chews. As a side note, I'll give the Cosequin or the Gaba about 30 mins after test-feed-shoot or right before onset.
I wonder if she'd eat the chicken flavored gaba chew. She just seems to know and then refuse. She's such a little so and so sometimes. I stopped the cosequin chews when she came out of remission because I was trying to cut out things that could make her go up, but if she needs it, then I'll adjust as needed.
Thanks for the thread - I'll check it out in a bit.
 
Hello Alicia and Kit!

She's having a beautiful cycle so far. Go sweet girl!

I'm sorry to hear about your package getting lost but glad the pharmacy is helping you out and hopefully you'll get it very soon.

As for neuropathy, I'm no expert but when Nestle was first diagnosed his neuropathy got worse and worse. It happened gradually but progressed really quickly but his numbers were all over the place, which is not the case with Kit. First, I noticed he couldn't jump on the bed anymore and his legs would shake every now and then. Then he started walking more and more on his back hocks and finally his front legs would go under him when he tried to walk. Eventually he could only walk 2-3 steps at a time and then he would lie down to rest. It would take him a long time to get anywhere so most of the time I would just carry him. I only gave him B12 and once he became regulated he slowly started getting more control of his legs and became stronger. He started walking better and eventually started jumping. Today you wouldn't even know in how bad of a shape he was in. He walks, runs, jumps and wrestles with Peanut.
That being said I don't know if it's Kit's neuropathy or arthritis but o wanted to share my story with you. Hopefully it sheds some light on what you're experiencing.

Wishing you and Kit a peaceful Furrrrrriday

View attachment 68944
Thank you for sharing! She occasionally has shakey front legs, and she's not really walking on her hocks, per se, but she is sort of crouch walking? Which is super recent. It's so weird.
 
For compounded meds, the IM vet on the SCL group recommends sweet, such as marshmallow flavour. Though we've had a number of kitties here take bacon marshmallow quite willingly.

Kit's BG numbers don't look neuropathy worthy to me. I'd suspect arthritis. Hasn't the vet investigated her hind legs to see if it can be felt? I could feel Neko's arthritis. It was that bad. :(

I tried a few with Neko, and more than meds. Best results with acupuncture (and supplemented by me doing daily acupressure to extend it). Acupucture is pain relief. Neko was also on daily buprenorphine for pain which also really helped. Duralactin also worked well - but can't be given to kitties with high calcium. I read of some people giving it when they can't give metacam or won't. Duralactin and fish oil are anti-inflammatory. I also tried hyaluronic acid, which helped just a bit. That and Cosequin (too lightweight for Neko) do similar things. My brother gets hyaluronic acid shots for his arthritic knees. I've also tried MSM on an earlier arthritic kitty and it seemed to help him. He wasn't as stiff as Neko.

I didn't try but heard about include laser therapy. I have seen a couple kitties here use it. And Assisi loop too though only seen one cat here try it (with success).
Wow - thank you for all the info! My brain over reacts and would occasionally think neuropathy, but yeah, her numbers haven't really been what I've seen on the board that come with neuropathy. Her vet hasn't specifically felt for the arthritis, but Kit is also pretty feisty and spicy, and so being able to get her hands on Kit's back legs is sometimes questionable. For claw trims, Kit gets gaba, and we still wrap her in this cotton bag thing that zips up, and has velcro straps to sort of keep it tightish around her, with velcro openings for legs front and back to be pulled through. And most of the time she STRUGGLES to keep Kit's legs pulled out for claw trims, and it takes 3 of us to hold her in place for blood draws/urine draws. Girl is strong in spite of her arthritis.
I'm going to do some dives into all the stuff you listed to check into it all - thank you again!
 
Back
Top