1/26 Gandolf PMPS 278 (dosecrease to 4U)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35249
WCR: All P's Present, and seems like he's feeling a bit lively.

Good Morning Everyone ~O) ~O)

I cannot remember clearly if I shot this morning. I know I poked, then a phone call came and this person just yakked on & on-it really wasn't a conversation and I don't remember if I shot. Crazy I know. I am so frustrated with myself. What should I do in this ridiculous case?

A hundred things on my mind and I can't remember. Am I the only one who's ever done this? I need some comfort right now and I don't think I'll shoot again. His numbers are dropping and I just don't remember. I remember thinking I'd shoot a fat 3.75 and counsel about bumping it up to 4U tonight and I have this vague & foggy pic of me reaching for the syringe and then putting it in the special disposal container, but that could've been last night. I do not clearly remember shooting.
I am quite upset with myself.

So sorry to dump all this and I feel so bad. I guess its not the end of the world. And I guess it's better just to let it ride and let his numbers go up instead of risking a hypo scene. I have to be out today by +4 and that would be getting close to nadir.
I am sooooo embarrassed. :oops: :oops: Now you see what a do-do this poor sugar-kitty has to put up with. Idon't know that I'll ever get this right. So boo hoo hoo. What do I do? Keep going. What else is there. Thanks y'all. SO sorry to vent all this crap. This day can ONLY get better.

a very sorry Cee :cry:
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

awww .. don't feel bad .. I would not reshoot, just in case you did actually give him his insulin this morning .. but if you didn't, just chalk it up to a furshot .. it happens to all of us .. and we all get back on track ... and I'm sure gandolf doesn't hold anything against you!
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

no embarrassment necessary, cee... i set binks syringe on the counter one day and didnt notice it until an hour and a half later...after i tested and posted what i thought was his +1.

IMHO you are right not to shoot in case you didnt miss it!
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

Oh Cee, please don't feel bad, you are not the first person to have this happen! :YMHUG: Don't shoot, it's better to skip than give a double dose! I know that some people label their syringes (if you use individually wrapped syringes, this is a good option) with the day and AM or PM to avoid this problem. If you don't use individually wrapped syringes, maybe you could devise some sort of system to mark the plunger caps? Or put them into some sort of container with sections marked for each day/AM & PM? Just a thought. There are all sorts of pill holders to help with this kind of issue, it's a very common problem! You're doing fine, please don't beat yourself up!
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

I nearly forgot to shoot yesterday! We've all been there. It's like a fur shot. It happens.
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

I think we all have that fear - we are on autopilot some days. I have a testing station for Maverick and I don't test him without drawing up the syringe first. So I can tell if there is a syringe - if I forget to put it in the needle disposal bin I can double check if there is insulin in it. I wouldn't put it in the disposal bin if I didn't shoot (edit - so if there is no syringe on the side table, I know I put it in the bin and shot).

I'd also rather skip than risk double shooting. I'm glad I was an hour late on his shot yesterday - I can have a coffee or two or three before shot time now.
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

Thank you all. I really needed to be picked up. :roll: (brushing the dust off)...Thanks for helping me see it in a brighter light.
I appreciate it. See y'all later.

Cee
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

Cee,

just click on Jazzy's spreadsheet and see how many times I have done that in the past few weeks. I'm on my second diabetic cat and I *still* can't manage to shoot all the time, so you're not alone. :roll:
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

This is my system, and it's worked for me, when I am forgetful. And it happens more than I care to mention :roll: .

I keep my unused syringes in a measuring cup on he counter.
In the morning at AMPS, I take two syringes out of the measuring cup. I fill one and shoot, and then lay the used syringe and the unused syringe on the counter next to the cup.
If I wonder if I shot AMPS or not, all I have to do is go look on the counter. If there is 1 used syringe and 1 unused syringe, then I know I shot.
At PMPS, I fill the unused syringe and shoot, and then throw both syringes in the sharps container thing.
If I wonder later if I shot PMPS or not, all I have to do is go look on the counter. If both syringes are gone, then I shot.
 
Re: 1/26 Gandolf AMPS 201 +.5 183 Embarrassing ?

PMPS 278: He's stayed in the yellows so I think I must have shot this morning. Thank you all. I am going to devise a system as was suggested because, I've been close to not remembering before but today was a total blank. I get so busy.
Systems...they work.

In the morning at AMPS, I take two syringes out of the measuring cup. I fill one and shoot, and then lay the used syringe and the unused syringe on the counter next to the cup.
If I wonder if I shot AMPS or not, all I have to do is go look on the counter. If there is 1 used syringe and 1 unused syringe, then I know I shot.
At PMPS, I fill the unused syringe and shoot, and then throw both syringes in the sharps container thing.
If I wonder later if I shot PMPS or not, all I have to do is go look on the counter. If both syringes are gone, then I shot.

Dyana, this sounds like something very easy I can manage, and it's rather obvious I need to do something. Thanks.
Thank you Everyone, for cleaning up my mess and helping me lighten up a little. In retrospect, there really are a lot more serious things going on in this world. :oops:

Gandolf is doing fine and been getting a lot of raw meat today. :-D

Checking out now. Sweet dreams all.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon

P.S. I'm shooting 4U tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top