1/26 Do Daa AMPS - No shot

Goose

Member Since 2019
Previous Thread

SS Updated.

AMPS 126, re-tested, 121. Since there isn't enough data to go by we opted to skip his dose this morning. He's only been on Lantus for a week.

We had a busy and very early morning with Do Daa. We reduced him to 3u last night and he still hit a 65 this morning at 330am.

Next test is at +1 to make sure he's going up after his morning food. I'll check back a little later....
 
Well I guess now he earned his reducie! You have been getting some good data, and he was on the way back up, but I understand your reasoning, with SLGS sometimes it is best to skip when you haven't had quite enough data yet on Lantus with lower preshots. The depot can continue to affect the next cycles even though you skipped, so I think it is a good idea to continue to monitor.
 
Well I guess now he earned his reducie! You have been getting some good data, and he was on the way back up, but I understand your reasoning, with SLGS sometimes it is best to skip when you haven't had quite enough data yet on Lantus with lower preshots. The depot can continue to affect the next cycles even though you skipped, so I think it is a good idea to continue to monitor.

Since 150 is the no shot for us and the fact we really don't have enough data yet, I thought skipping was prudent.

+1 is 153 so I think he'll be ok.
 
Hoping Do Daa gets back to business soon, I probably would have given him a pokie break after the +2 since he looked to have been starting his rise up at +1 already, but all data is good data. I'd suggest the 3u dose tonight, since as we noted, the 94 in yesterday's am cycle technically wasn't a reduction with SLGS, but he then subsequently earned it last night.

One of the things you may want to consider, as you get more familiar with how Do Daa is responding to insulin and you get a feel for how he is responding also to carbs, with SLGS you may become more comfortable with reducing his no shot number, to where you can shoot anything above 90, when you have collected enough data to get a sense of how Do Daa responds to Lantus. Just something to think about. Hope this makes sense, I've had roofers pounding and thumping around all day, so I've got a wee bit of a headache ;)
 
Hoping Do Daa gets back to business soon, I probably would have given him a pokie break after the +2 since he looked to have been starting his rise up at +1 already, but all data is good data. I'd suggest the 3u dose tonight, since as we noted, the 94 in yesterday's am cycle technically wasn't a reduction with SLGS, but he then subsequently earned it last night.

One of the things you may want to consider, as you get more familiar with how Do Daa is responding to insulin and you get a feel for how he is responding also to carbs, with SLGS you may become more comfortable with reducing his no shot number, to where you can shoot anything above 90, when you have collected enough data to get a sense of how Do Daa responds to Lantus. Just something to think about. Hope this makes sense, I've had roofers pounding and thumping around all day, so I've got a wee bit of a headache ;)

SS Updated. We gave him 3u at pmps.

I was seriously contemplating shooting him at amps 3u this morning even with the 126/121. Do others agree that we could take his amps/pmps number from 150 and lower it?
 
Let's see what others think, but I think you would have been fine to shoot, since you were home to monitor. Alternatively, you could have stalled for another 20 minutes, not fed to see if the numbers continued to rise to where you'd be comfortable shooting.
 
Let's see what others think, but I think you would have been fine to shoot, since you were home to monitor. Alternatively, you could have stalled for another 20 minutes, not fed to see if the numbers continued to rise to where you'd be comfortable shooting.

Updated the SS with the other amps number.
The first test at amps was actually 140. We gave him some food to see if that would help, actually his numbers went down after 15minutes to the 126/121. So we didn't shoot.
After a week, it doesn't seem his depot is very full.
 
15 minutes usually isn't enough for carbs to get to blood stream, that's often 20-30 minutes. Probably one reason it didn't seem to do much. The other tricky tidbit is that those numbers were all within manufacturer's allowable 20% meter variance, arguably the same.
 
15 minutes usually isn't enough for carbs to get to blood stream, that's often 20-30 minutes. Probably one reason it didn't seem to do much. The other tricky tidbit is that those numbers were all within manufacturer's allowable 20% meter variance, arguably the same.

Probably should have just shot him @ 3u this morning.
 
Ah, don't beat yourself up about it. It took me almost a month before I had my first under 150 preshot. By then, I had gathered lots of data, but had never faced such a low preshot. I ended up stalling and shooting. You only had 8 days under your belt, and a few lower and lower preshots to assess. That's part of how we learn. Do Daa will get back on track. Next time, if you're not sure, you can always stall and post for help :)
 
Probably should have just shot him @ 3u this morning.
Yes...you should have ;):) I’d suggest the next time you get a PS like that and you need a little extra help, don’t feed him and post ...make it clear you are stalling just a bit to get some help.
He’s looking better on Lantus! Good move.
 
Back
Top