1/26 Bailey Pmps Hi +3 226

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

So he didn't do too badly last night but I decided to go back to 0.75 anyway to do things more gradually. Unless I see another HI today then all bets are off. Also wish I had gotten a test between +8 and +11 because I am surprised he was only 238 at AMPS.

He is behaving normally and eating well but still lots of PU/PD. Still watching for ketones.

Wendy
 
Good that he's feeling better. :D

Are you doing LRS fluids at home?

If you don't have R it might be good to have on hand. When you go back to the US Walmart Novolin R was only $24 last time I checked. For knocking down those numbers to assist the Lantus without messing up the depot. Although at times Bailey doesn't appear to have much of a Lantus depot so Lantus alone may work.

Of course if you do try R, I'd want to get help from someone experienced such as Libby.
 
I am planning to ask about Sub_Q when the vet calls. The emergency clinic had to stop the fluids at the 36 hour stage as they saw his BP rising and I want to be careful not to over hydrate so I will chat to vet first.

I know what you mean about the depot in Bailey.. he has no fat on him so I think thats what causes lack of depot..
 
I am planning to ask about Sub_Q when the vet calls. The emergency clinic had to stop the fluids at the 36 hour stage as they saw his BP rising and I want to be careful not to over hydrate so I will chat to vet first.
Good idea... keep ahead of the dehydration. Definitely want to work with the vet on the frequency and dose.

Wish you could get those numbers down better.
 
Hi there :cool:

I saw that your kitty has a broken tooth under the gum-line.
The possibility that infection may be brewing there, fueling the high BGs , is very real.
I encourage you to address it sooner rather than later.
 
Vet doesn't want to operate given all baileys issues.

Said vet also finally called me tonight all pissy and blaming me for what happened saying the dose was too low and I should increase it, and at the same time I should test less... Weird logic.. Test less but increase the dose anyway.. Very safe..not!!! Anyway don't know if I caught him at a bad time or what but I am keeping Bailey on 0,75 for six cycles.. (Vet said a week) and then will increase to 1 unit if needed..
 
Yikes on the vet.

You know more about FD and Bailey (with FD) than most... on the other hand they seemingly did well for him in the hospital.

Hugs and prayers... and perhaps some R and Lactated Ringers on the side?? :bighug: :bighug:
 
True but this vet isn't the one from the emergency hospital. This was my normal vet.

He agreed to sub Q twice a week.

Given Baileys +3 tonight I am wary about R..... like you said, no much of a depot.
 
Yep no R now... that's better. :)

And I bet he'll be a trouper with the sub Q. They seem to figure out it makes them feel better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top