1/26 Asia PMPS 170, +2 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ltrasound-results-are-in.190168/#post-2118996

Very happy about the pill success of last night.

Her behavior last night was extremely out of character. She seemed agitated. Have you ever met that kind of cat that is easily overstimulated and you pet them and they are on cloud 9 until suddenly they are not and then snap their head and give you that look that says one more pet and I’ll relieve you of your hand? Those are the types of looks I was getting, and Asia is not that kind of cat at all and never has been. She startled more easily and almost flinched at any pet. She was also doing a lot of “owl ears” as we call it in our house, ears cocked to the side and staying that way for a long time. When Asia does get annoyed, usually by Toki, instead of scratching or biting, she tends to have a nervous licking behavior. She will quickly start licking her chest and her paws or Toki. She was doing that too. I really hope it’s not a negative reaction to this antibiotic.

I’m functionally fluent in cat, so I just gave her the space she wanted and she seems better today.

Would like some eyes on my SS, I know she has a lot going on that could throw her numbers off, so I’m not sure if she needs an increase or just needs an extra long time to settle with all that’s been happening recently. I tend to see things on other SSs more easily than on Asia’s when there are issues happening with her. Thoughts?

Going to answer some posts from yesterday’s condo over here, but have to run to PT with my daughter right now.
 
My opinion is to wait a few more days. You said yourself that Asia tends to be in higher numbers after going to the vet. She was in a lot of greens before the vet visits. :bighug::bighug:
 
Who knew we'd be rooting for a kidney infection???

Wishing you a smooth and easy course of antibiotics and a cooperative Asia so she can get back to feeling like herself as soon as possible.
 
Poor Miss Asia but hopefully the AB's will clear up the infection quickly. 1.25 has been getting her into the 40's. Today is only the 4th cycle from the skipped shot so I'd wait 6 cycles after the skipped shot before considering an increase.

Very true, but only because she wasn't eating and was fasting then. I'll wait the 6 cycles and reassess.
 
Who knew we'd be rooting for a kidney infection???

Wishing you a smooth and easy course of antibiotics and a cooperative Asia so she can get back to feeling like herself as soon as possible.
I know, it's so odd, but in this scenario, it really was the best news!
 
We're glad our girl is feeling better today. She's had a rough several days with lots of intrusive activities and new meds. She's a quick rebounder! And you're the best bean. Here's hoping you both have a good, quiet day with another successful pilling later! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
she goes on a huge purr riot when we kiss her baldy tummy, she loves it! :cat:

The girls were excited, they finally found her belly button! They had been searching for it since forever, and now they have found it! :joyful:

This gave me happy/poignant tears. I had a cat who loved tummy rubs and we called it "looking for her belly button." I looked for her belly button for sixteen years and never found it.

Hope little Asia is feeline like herself again soon.
 
This gave me happy/poignant tears. I had a cat who loved tummy rubs and we called it "looking for her belly button." I looked for her belly button for sixteen years and never found it.

Hope little Asia is feeline like herself again soon.

They don’t look like you’d think a belly button would look, but a friend of mine is big into neonatal kitten rescue and that’s how we know what they look like. We didn’t think we’d ever find it either, only took 21 years! Belly rub kitties are the best. Thanks for you support and I’m glad it brought back a happy memory for you. :bighug:
 
I'm glad she's feeling more like herself this morning....fingers crossed last night was just a fluke!

I sure hope so, it doesn’t help she’s getting a bigger dose than she needs because you can only cut these pills in half, but she really only needs 1/3rd of a pill. It wasn’t right after the pilling either, so she wasn’t mad at me for doing it, it was several hours later, which is what made me think reaction. I’m fine to give her space when she needs it, but it saddens me that she’s feeling like that on the inside. Paws crossed for speedy healing!
 
I used Zeniquin with Trix several times...I remember them well. She didn't have a reaction, but as we know, ECID. If it is a reaction, hopefully it won't be any worse, and maybe over time her body will adjust.

Could it have been anything else - something that startled her and put her on alert? Did she have other meds close to the same time that could have caused an interaction? I know I'm asking obvious questions that you probably thought of. I did do a quick search (and I'm sure you did, too), and I didn't come across agitation as a "known" side effect....but you never know.
 
I used Zeniquin with Trix several times...I remember them well. She didn't have a reaction, but as we know, ECID. If it is a reaction, hopefully it won't be any worse, and maybe over time her body will adjust.

Could it have been anything else - something that startled her and put her on alert? Did she have other meds close to the same time that could have caused an interaction? I know I'm asking obvious questions that you probably thought of. I did do a quick search (and I'm sure you did, too), and I didn't come across agitation as a "known" side effect....but you never know.

Nothing else new or different that I could think of, she’s never acted like that before in her 21 years. I didn’t come across agitation as a side effect, but it came up as a possible allergic reaction symptom.
 
Pilling tonight went more how I expected it to, I think I had the element of surprise on my side last night. Tonight she knew what was going on, tried to be stealthy and quick but when you have to start with a little bit of water, it makes it impossible for her not to know what’s coming next. I got it on the 3rd or 4th try, lots of head jerking and she spat it out a few times, it was sad. This sucks. She still seems a little agitated, I have no doubt there is a major battle going on in her poor body, I really hope these antibiotics start working fast and she feels a lot better very soon.

I got a nap with my cuddle bear today and Toki has been cuddling her a lot today as well. She’s slept by the foot of the bed some today, so that’s a good sign, when she needs to sleep very close to me and at the head of the bed I know she’s feeling pretty yucky. Everybody is a fan of the shaved tum and she gets extra pets and kisses because of it, so she’s pretty happy about that. :cat:
 
Everybody is a fan of the shaved tum and she gets extra pets and kisses because of it, so she’s pretty happy about that.
Still waiting for pictures...

I'm glad last night's weird behavior went away. Here's hoping it doesn't return. Congrats on another successful pilling. Yes, it's upsetting, but you just have to keep in mind how important it is. Asia is a smart kitty. Just keep telling her it's for her own good and because you love her so much.

More vines and prayers are headed your way
. :bighug:
 
Still waiting for pictures...

I'm glad last night's weird behavior went away. Here's hoping it doesn't return. Congrats on another successful pilling. Yes, it's upsetting, but you just have to keep in mind how important it is. Asia is a smart kitty. Just keep telling her it's for her own good and because you love her so much.

More vines and prayers are headed your way
. :bighug:

I uploaded one, I have tons, will add to thread today. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top