1/26/21 Sugar AMPS: 94 +1 91 +2 125

Can you monitor if you shoot?

If you haven't fed, stall for 20 minutes without feeding and test and see if the BG is on the rise. He could bounce from here.
 
Can you monitor if you shoot?

If you haven't fed, stall for 20 minutes without feeding and test and see if the BG is on the rise. He could bounce from here.

Oh, I just screwed up, I fed him already. I forgot about it :(

I can monitor him.
 
Then I would shoot. He is likely to bounce at some point.
Did you shoot only 2.1 last night? I assume that's a typo on your SS?
 
Then I would shoot. He is likely to bounce at some point.
Did you shoot only 2.1 last night? I assume that's a typo on your SS?

Yes typo.

I'll shoot normally then.

Question, is there a number that's too low to shoot? Last time his AMPS was 61 and 56 10 min. later, I was told not to shoot.
 
With TR, you shoot any number above 50. But for people who aren't used to lower numbers or who cannot monitor, we suggest they skip or shoot a token dose.

With time you gradually lower the number you can shoot - provided you can monitor. If you can monitor, I would suggest that you shoot and get a +1 and +2 and we can take it from there. I will be around to help till +2 and a lot of people from the US too. The good thing is that's it day.
 
I’m glad you decided to shoot. With TR you shoot 50 and over once you have data and provided you can monitor and have supplies. When you first start shooting lower you want to make sure a cat is on the way up. That’s why you stall and hold food. Then test in 20 minutes. The danger in stalling is that often the bg continues to fall and you can’t shoot if under 50.
 
With TR, you shoot any number above 50. But for people who aren't used to lower numbers or who cannot monitor, we suggest they skip or shoot a token dose.

With time you gradually lower the number you can shoot - provided you can monitor. If you can monitor, I would suggest that you shoot and get a +1 and +2 and we can take it from there. I will be around to help till +2 and a lot of people from the US too. The good thing is that's it day.

Thanks.

What is a token dose? I coulnd't find anything on it.
 
I’m glad you decided to shoot. With TR you shoot 50 and over once you have data and provided you can monitor and have supplies. When you first start shooting lower you want to make sure a cat is on the way up. That’s why you stall and hold food. Then test in 20 minutes. The danger in stalling is that often the bg continues to fall and you can’t shoot if under 50.

Thanks. I won't forget to stall next time.
 
A token dose is anywhere between 25% of 75% of your current dose. Given when you want to give some insulin rather than skipping.
 
Once you shoot green a few times you will have a handle on whether it’s safe or not. Just keep asking questions.
 
The first time a person shoots a green, they are presented with the Balls of Steel. Congratulations.

Balls of Steel.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Balls of Steel.jpg
    Balls of Steel.jpg
    5.2 KB · Views: 204
Meal = snack. A spoon or two. Don't want to fill him up early in the cycle in case you need to use food to keep him surfing.
 
Back
Top