Re: 1/25 Theo AMPS 313
Hi Arienna! Welcome to Lantus Land!
Yes, we use people glucometers, which measure slightly differently than one calibrated for felines. Most of us think in terms of the people numbers and the protocol we follow is listed in people numbers, with Alpha-trak (for cats) numbers listed in brackets. Yes, the two types of meters are closer in numbers in the lower ranges and usually farther apart in the higher numbers.
You don't have to try to think of the differences or the error margin, for the most part. Just go with the numbers you see and compare them to each other. You'll go crazy if you try to compare all of your tests to what the vet might have gotten and what the error margin might be. :lol:
I love seeing your brand new spreadsheet! Great job getting the home testing going!
Here are the starting guidelines for a new kitty on Lantus:
Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
Theo's ears will bleed consistently after about 2 weeks of poking. the poking causes his ears to grow more capillaries, then it's not as hard to get a blood test.
As you get new tests in, edit the subject line of your first post here and add those numbers. It has to be the subject line of
the first post or the new subject line won't appear on the main page. If you have questions, you can put the topic in the subject line or add the ? icon. You can also do a reply to your own thread so it bumps it up and it doesn't get lost. We do ask people to keep one thread (= condo) per day so we don't lose anyone off onto the second page. For any topic, you can just keep editing and adding your question.
When you get a chance if you could do a profile on Theo and tell us his story, that's helpful. I see a mention of DKA in your sig line - can you tell us about that, too?
How to create a profile
What can we help you with? We are full of advice on just about everything! ;-) :lol: