1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR????

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarenAmelia

Member Since 2012
ADDED at 8pm on 1/25: Frustrated at being passed over. Why did no one give any responses to this condo. I can certainly use the help, and I assumed because there were lots of good responses yesterday, that there might be some continuity. I see that there are many folks looking for assistance here so it's possible I was just simply overlooked. Thanks for all the help and please, keep it coming!

Numbers continuing to be high. This is 8th cycle at 2.5. Should I hold the dose one more day?

Good kitty welfare today: that is, she seems to be comfortable. She continues to be lured into playing with the bug on the string, and is purring right now.

She only eats a teaspoonful at a time - pushes the food around a lot , disperses it on the plate, so it looks on the surface like she's eaten. Is this not only a kid trick but a cat trick as well? To be truthful, I'm more of a dog person and don't know cats all that well. Terra has been an aloof kitty most of her life, having started out semi-feral (her mom was feral.)

In response to some questions about diet late yesterday I'm posting the reply here. Terra's eating habits are nowhere near consistent. She has been a free feeder for her whole 15 years. In this transition, she is proving completely unpredictable, and yet I try to crack the code :smile: I have been responding to her hunger by feeding every hour or couple hours since she is so newly diagnosed and was pretty thin at the start. She has put on a little more mass -her spine doesn't feel so prominent. I was putting out about a tablespoon at a time but it turns out that she ends up eating about 1/2 of that or less, and then sometimes refuses to eat what's left in the bowl. Sometimes I refresh the old food (only hours old so not gross) with a little new. I know she needs around 150-180 cals/day, as her weight has always been 10-12 pounds. And that this translates to about one of the larger cans of food (5 oz or so) or about 2/3 cup of dry food. I am trying to not give dry food but when she refuses to eat the canned I have felt I had no alternative...yet. I tried pulverizing some of the Iams yesterday and sprinkling and it helped! And fortiflora is on its way.

I don't think she's eating as much as she needs to, but I haven't been good about quantifying it. One complicating factor is that she eats a little, then goes away then returns within a couple minutes to eat more. And there are dogs in the house. So..all of this is a great trial and I'm chipping away at the obstacles little by little. Lucky I'm here a lot during the day and can observe and try to see what works. I'm taking all of the suggestions that come in and trying them out.
 
Re: 1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR?

I'm glad the sprinkling of the pulverized IAMS on top of the wet food helped, and that FortiFlora is on it's way. My cats LOVE FortiFlora. I used it just yesterday, to get them to eat.

Sorry, your condo sunk so low on the page. If you want to you can bump it up, by replying to it with just the word bump in the box, if you want.
I think Terra is bouncing from the 128 and is bouncing from that bg that she isn't quite used to yet. Hopefully soon, she will become more used to and comfortable in the 100s. These bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear. It is not advised to do any dose increases until the bounce has cleared.

It looks like tonight is the 5th cycle after that pretty blue test on the 23rd. If she has not cleared the bounce by tomorrow night, then we can think about an increase. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR?

Also, the dry food will cause her numbers to go up, and usually causes them to stay up for a good long time, like a cycle or two. I wish you the Best Of Luck in transitioning her over to an all wet food diet.

I know when I come home from work, and there is cat food left, my cats will still eat it, and often dig into the second I walk in the door. And, if I leave that leftover food out during the evening night, they'll eat it, usually. I don't think it spoils very quickly. At least the Fancy Feast, Friskies, 9 Lives and Sophisticat that I feed seems edible to my cats almost to the next day.

Sometimes I "trick" them. I can come home to leftover food in their bowls. I can spoon that leftover food from their lunchtime bowls into fresh bowls for dinner and they gobble it up. Not that I do that often, but they seem to think it taste better in a new bowl other than the one it's been sitting in.

Sorry, I'm rambling away. I came home from work tired, and now it's time to test my cat, and soon time to head to bed for me.
 
Re: 1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR?

Hi, karen!

it's such a busy forum that sometimes a question can get lost in the shuffle.

we usually try to keep an eye out and keep the question posts bumped up for better eyes...
we'll keep bumping you up toward the top :-D
Dyana's right...every response bumps your post up...so if you reply to your own post...even just with the word "bump"...
it goes back up to the top of the forum.

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR?

Hi there, I'm pretty new as well. Hang in there! Just dropped by to say hi and bump you :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR?

Karen:

I'm sorry you were missed today. Many of us work and today was my work day. When I work, I am off line all day. I know it's hard when you're looking at these numbers and don't get a response. I'm sorry
you had to stall waiting for a response. But, in the future, if she's high like this and someone doesn't respond right away, just go ahead and shoot the current dose on time again. When you stall, it acts like
a dose reduction and now you have to get back on time tomorrow.

So I would not have raised her dose tonight so you did good!!! Tonight is her fifth cycle after the 128 on the am cycle of 1/23 so it looks to me like she is still in a bounce. It can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce so
tomorrow morning WOULD have been that sixth cycle. Unfortunately, because you stalled tonight, you have to start counting the cycles over again.

Please read this Sticky on Counting Cycles: Counting Cycles

So..what does this mean and why do you have to wait? We increase the dose after six consecutive cycles if numbers do not come down. By stalling, it acts as a dose reduction and drains the shed a bit. Without the stall, she
might have come down in the morning. Now, we have to wait for that shed to refill that small amount and then see what she'll do. So try not to stall unless her number is low (check out the info on "Dealing with Low Preshots" in
my signature block).

How to get back on your time? You can shoot early 15 min tomorrow morning, 15 tomorrow night, 15 Fri morning, 15 Fri night OR 30 min tomorrow night and 30 mins Fri night.

Please let us know if you have questions...thanks, Karen.
 
Re: 1/25 Terra AMPS 443 +4 393 +10 369 PMPS384 HOLD OR INCR?

you've already been given some excellent advice not only about bumping your own condo, but whether or not to increase the dose. like marje said, the cycle count starts over because of the stalled shot.

i'd also like to address the food issue. while you're transitioning terra it might be helpful to chart terra's response to wet and dry on her ss. from the few notes you've made, it looks like terra could be getting up to a 100 point rise from a tablespoon of dry. tracking her response to food on her ss will explain a lot of her numbers.

also, i highly suggest you increase doses more slowly than the TR protocol suggests. afterall, one of the requisites of the TR protocol is to feed a wet low carb diet exclusively. holding each dose for at least 7 days is a safer route to take until the transition is complete. once you drop that last bit of dry we can help you become more aggressive with her dosing.

just my thoughts...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top