Re: 1/25 Rocky AMPS 389 +2 397 +4 357
Tina:
I suspect it feels like we're ganging up on you. That's not the intent. Let me provide some context. The Tight Regulation Protocol, by its very nature, is aggressive. If you compare it to the
Start Low Go Slow approach where doses are increased every 5 - 7 days and decreased occur when numbers drop below 90, TR is very aggressive. SLGS was the way most people here dosed their cats until the research on TR was published. From what some of the members who have been here longer than me have said, TR was met with tremendous resistance. The value of TR is that it is geared to getting cats regulated or into remission as quickly AND as safely as possible. That means that doses are increased systematically giving each dose enough time for the insulin depot to stabilize and for you to evaluate the effectiveness of the dose.
When you speed up the increases by raising the dose with fewer than 4 cycles, you could potentially put Rocky at risk because you are being more aggressive than an already aggressive approach. Doing so, despite all of the jumping up and down to get your attention that folks have been doing communicates your worry about Rocky, which is completely understandable, but it also communicates that either you aren't hearing what experienced Lantus users are saying (or you don't care which is OK) or you haven't had time to develop an understanding of how Lantus works. No one here wants to see Rocky remain in high numbers. My goal, and I suspect everyone's goal, is to help you get Rocky into better numbers as quickly AND as safely as possible. At a personal level, I'm not willing to sacrifice safety for speed.
You said that Rocky is different that the cats here. You wanted to see spreadsheets. The SSs below are just a few recent ones. All of these cats are OTJ. None of them are high dose cats.
One of the things you will see is that these cats got to a dose and the numbers snapped into place. Overly aggressive dosing won't necessarily get you to that point more quickly. It could put Rocky over what is a good dose and set up a lot of bouncing or also put him in higher numbers. I realize the latter point is counterintuitive but it does happen.
While none of us want to see Rocky in high numbers, we especially don't want to see his numbers crash. I can't by any means tell you that this will happen. However, you need to see the big picture and understand the risks. You hold the syringe. It's our job to do our best to help you look at the pros and the cons even if we're yelling, "No!"
As to this latter point, I agree with Marje. I do not think you are in a good place to try Humulin R. While this can be a very effective tool, it is potentially lethal. It is a very potent form of insulin and it works quickly. An itchy trigger finger with R can kill your cat. Using it with the respect it deserves can be very helpful. R is most effectively used in conjunction with Lantus. In Rocky's case, R would be used to slightly lower numbers so the Lantus can "grab on" and do a better job. That also means you need to be able to adjust the Lantus dose in an effective manner. A less than conservative use of R can set off a huge amount of bouncing.
I'm probably saying things you don't want to hear. As I said, my goal is to help you get Rocky's numbers into a better range as quickly AND as safely as possible.