1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS PM BG 108=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
continued prayers for Sooty and Perry...
tough night again...mainly because he is not the Rocket i knew...it saddens me

from pm testing to +4 (5:30 pm to 9:30 pm) he spent it in the tub....food brought to him and he ate...he came out and i let him out on the balcony at +4 only for less than 10 mins...then brought him in...he was cranky...and i placed him on the coffee table...the constant licking/grooming does not stop...

the way he sleeps too is hunched over...and since i don't know if he is in pain or if he is uncomfortable...if he is eating, could he be in pain and still eat? so many questions go thru my head...at +4.5 i gave him a token dose 0.1ml bupe to see how it would go...he stayed there grooming then watched tv..or so it seemed...and at +6.25 i fed him...

+7 still on the coffe table i sort of managed to push him gently to lie down and he slept....i didn't want to leave him on the coffee table so when he was really sleepy i picked him up to place him on his bed in the bedroom..well that was a disaster and he bolted and went straight to the tub...

+9 i got up to feed him...he ate everything i gave him...still in the tub...

am bg 83 found him in the litter box...i think the lower bg would be from the lil bit of bupe i gave him but it's hard to tell....he came out of litter box and i fed him still near the litter box...after he ate a lil bit he went back to lie on the box...i couldn't get him out of there...+0.5 pheno in place....waited 15 mins and he was getting sleepy but i still couldn't get him out of the litter box...didn't want a repeat of yesterday (i have huge scratches on my arm)...i coaxed him with more food to come out...he ate some more and then headed to the tub...i let him be 5 mins...i had to get him out of the tub as DH needed to get ready for work...

picked him up...he complained...i placed him on the futon in spare room....he stayed there...

+3 still on futon...fed him, gave zofran...soon after back in tub
+3.5 fluids and chicken dust...back in tub

we are now at +4.5 he is still in the tub....

so overall he eats...but i'm not sure if he is still in pain from the cp...when i took him to the vet on sat i asked for another fPLI but she said it was a waste of money and said the free T4 and T4 would be the ones to run....so i'm still waiting...emails sent to her on sunday have still not been returned...i called yesterday before they closed to find out she didn't work this past monday...hence why she has not returned my emails...i keep checking this morning and nothing yet....

it is frustrating not knowing...frustrating to see him like this...

sorry if i'm still venting...

please continue thinking of us and prayers too....


yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35186
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS

Hi Claudia,

Prayers for your baby.....


Something that sticks out to me in your post today is the grooming.

Cats can groom themselves for a number of reasons:

Normal grooming behavior
Fleas

But the act of grooming has also been found to be a self-comfort and self-calming reaction too. It is a way to reduce emotional tension due to psychological reasons such as stress, nervousness, fear or anxiety. Your post indicates he has a lot of stress due to illness right now. Grooming that doesn't seem to stop, litter box snoozing (usually pain), and your scratches from him being disturbed. He is probably also picking-up on your stress too.


Just some things to consider....

(((((((((((((((((((((Claudia & Rocket)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS

I am sorry this is still going on .. it's so hard to see our babies not like themselves .. I'll continue to pray for you guys ...
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS

continued prayers, positive thoughts and healing vines coming your way, girl.

hang in there, rocket-man...we're with you in spirit...
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question

RocketintubJan252011.jpg


question to anyone out there....

is this normal the position on how Rocket is sleeping in the tub?

to me this is not HIS normal...he is snoring though...but i don't know if this position means anything...he is in the tub....

thoughts anyone???????
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

I don't know Claudia. I feel for the both of you. Wishing the results come in quickly. Sending hugs.

His BG is looking great. Did he relax at all with the bupe - sleep more comfortably? Are his gums slippy?
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Karrie and Maverick said:
I don't know Claudia. I feel for the both of you. Wishing the results come in quickly. Sending hugs.

His BG is looking great. Did he relax at all with the bupe - sleep more comfortably? Are his gums slippy?
Karrie, he stayed on the coffe table grooming away when i gave him that token bupe dose...and wouldn't sleep...the bupe makes him not sleep...but later i managed to sort of gently push him to his side to sleep...but it was short lived...as he went to the tub...and i went to bed...i was literally drained...

just now i fed him +6 and he ate it all...grooming away and i gave him another 0.1ml bupe...i know it's a token dose...i took him out of the tub and placed him on his bed...he is still there after 5 mins...so i can better monitor him and see if it helps if it does then i will email the vet...mind you she still has not replied to my 2 emails i sent her...i think she is still mad at the fact that i was telling her to send the blood work for the thyroid test to a different lab than the one she uses...but whatever!

i keep wondering and no one seems to have an answer...not even the vet....if he is in pain...wouldn't he stop eating?????

he eats when i bring the food to him...i don't spoon feed him i just bring it to him and sometimes i hold the dish...so the mistery lingers as i don't know if he is in pain or not........
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Perhaps the coolness of the tub feels good to him. If he's hyper-T, he may be running 'hot' and want to hang out in the less warm areas of the house.
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Just from my own cat experience and with being a tech for years Claudia I think Rocket is telling you he is in pain or just not feeling good from the way he takes to laying in the tub or LB
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Claudia: I'm sorry I missed your condo yesterday and the chance to give you more moral support although I know it probably doesn't amount to much because it doesn't help Rocket any. Even still...

I don't know about the sleeping position or why he is in the tub or lays in his LB. I am also sorry if my suggestion to send his bloodwork to hemopet has caused a riff between you and your vet. Sometimes I think vets need to be reminded that it is about the cat and not their ego but now is not the time for that with your vet...you need her.

I do know that our Gussie still eats when he is in pain with his arthritis although we do our best to control it with bupe. But he is a stoic guy and I have to believe that some times are more painful than others. I wish I could give you some ideas.
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Just from my own cat experience and with being a tech for years Claudia I think Rocket is telling you he is in pain or just not feeling good from the way he takes to laying in the tub or LB
i think you are right Lisa....i gave him 0.1 ml at his +6 and now almost 1 1/2 hr later...and he seems all relaxed...i had to help him gently to lie down as he was just sitting there in the spare room....

RocketinspareroomJan252011.jpg


i did ask the vet on sat if i should give bupe and she said no....but even the token dose seems to be working...as he is more relaxed

i'm beyond upset....but i will continue to watch him...
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Claudia & Rocket said:
Lisa and Do Lou said:
Just from my own cat experience and with being a tech for years Claudia I think Rocket is telling you he is in pain or just not feeling good from the way he takes to laying in the tub or LB
i think you are right Lisa....i gave him 0.1 ml at his +6 and now almost 1 1/2 hr later...and he seems all relaxed...i had to help him gently to lie down as he was just sitting there in the spare room....

RocketinspareroomJan252011.jpg


i did ask the vet on sat if i should give bupe and she said no....but even the token dose seems to be working...as he is more relaxed

i'm beyond upset....but i will continue to watch him...
why did your vet recommend not give bupe?? did they say Claudia?
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Lisa,
her reasoning was that at this stage he would have cleared the flare up and that she thought it was something else brewing here than pain...perhaps a tumor or something...in all after the was mad at me...she said "you know he is not gonna live forever".....so i was not impressed....she kept saying at anything i suggested that i was grasping at straws...

even now i got her email replying to my 2 emails of Sunday...saying Calcitriol is to be started only when he gets his iCa/PTH values checked...anad regarding the pheno to hold the dose as is...until pheno levels checked...

i have emailed her asking her if a round of bupe for a few days is the way to go and what dose? but he gets Rx all the time the highest doses...the buprenex i have is 300mcg/ml he is to get 0.7ml every 8 hrs...and he did not do well on that dose...and frankly i think it's too high..but i'm no vet...

i told her in one email that i always go lower on her doses for certain meds cause frankly they scare the living daylights out of me...and cause he does not do well on them...so she is mad that i do that...she is not the one dealing with Rocket and making sure he eats while he is high on drugs and the effects it may have on his kidneys and liver...

so i'm torn...not knowing which way to turn....

he slept for a full hr like that...he has been just sort of hanging on the futon (i placed him there and fed his at +8.5)....i would love to give a round of bupe but not sure on dose if vet won't go for it....if he is in pain i want to help him...

Marjorie, no worries on the vet thing...i have always questioned everything they tell me...she knows i do my own research...they may not like it but because i do my own thing this is why Rocket is still with me 2 1/2 yrs later after the previous vet he saw for 14 yrs of his life sent me home with a bag of LRS with no instructions on how to do subq fluids...and said to me if he was hiding in the closet he was telling me it was time to let him go....so from that experience i question everything any vet tells me...
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Claudia, I wish I could say something to make you feel better. I know you are feeling helpless right now and I wish Rocket could tell you just what he is feeling. His position lying on the floor looks more relaxed to me than when he is in the tub. I will continue to pray for you and Rocket and I know there are lots of others praying and sending you healing vines. Lots of hugs!!
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Claudia & Rocket said:
Lisa,
her reasoning was that at this stage he would have cleared the flare up and that she thought it was something else brewing here than pain...perhaps a tumor or something...in all after the was mad at me...she said "you know he is not gonna live forever".....so i was not impressed....she kept saying at anything i suggested that i was grasping at straws...
isn't jen and squeak in your area? how about getting a second opinion from her vet?

i have emailed her asking her if a round of bupe for a few days is the way to go and what dose? but he gets Rx all the time the highest doses...the buprenex i have is 300mcg/ml he is to get 0.7ml every 8 hrs...and he did not do well on that dose...and frankly i think it's too high..but i'm no vet...
how much does he weigh? is that a typo - 0.7 ml? Meowzi's 12 lbs and iirc her dose range goes up to only around 0.4 ml. (i'm using crude estimates here, too lazy to recalculate).
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

WCF and Meowzi said:
Claudia & Rocket said:
Lisa,
her reasoning was that at this stage he would have cleared the flare up and that she thought it was something else brewing here than pain...perhaps a tumor or something...in all after the was mad at me...she said "you know he is not gonna live forever".....so i was not impressed....she kept saying at anything i suggested that i was grasping at straws...
isn't jen and squeak in your area? how about getting a second opinion from her vet?

i have emailed her asking her if a round of bupe for a few days is the way to go and what dose? but he gets Rx all the time the highest doses...the buprenex i have is 300mcg/ml he is to get 0.7ml every 8 hrs...and he did not do well on that dose...and frankly i think it's too high..but i'm no vet...
how much does he weigh? is that a typo - 0.7 ml? Meowzi's 12 lbs and iirc her dose range goes up to only around 0.4 ml. (i'm using crude estimates here, too lazy to recalculate).

Jen and Squeaks vet WAS Rocket's old vet!!!! so i won't use her or that clinic at all....sorry Jen and i had mentioned to you via pm

he currently weighs 6.98 kgs the dose says 0.7ML and i have a syringe with a marking on it...the syringe is BD with a tape around it for me to measure the 0.7 but since i know i can not use the same syringe i had to buy some...the one i was given to the right it has 0.7 and to the left a 14 number....and the whole syringe it's 1.0 ML

the ones i bought are the same except with no numbers to the left of it...so no 14 to see....and only other difference is the syringe says 1.0 ml in lower case....does that make a difference? i don't think it does...or does it?

PM BG 108 so no shot
 
Re: 1/25 Rocket AM BG 83=NS/question to anyone

Hi Claudia,
Prayers for your sweet Rocket and you. I am remembering my GA kitty would also lay curled up in the bathtub when he was really sick. He also had arthritis so maybe the coolness of it made him feel better. The tub seemed to be the place where my kitty could escape; it's hard to describe. I hope you get some answers soon. I know how hard this must be for you.
 
Claudia, I'm of little help to you with the medications or even with the medical issues, but I want to keep sending healing thoughts for your dear Rocket. I do have one observation for what it's worth: Stu was diagnosed with Hyper-T and one of the things he did was to "groom" himself so vigorously that he would actually pull out clumps of fur and dander. But from your description of Rocket's obsessive grooming, he is just licking his coat, not trying to pull it out. I hope you get the results of the tests back soon so that you will know what might be going on.

Many healing vines tonight for Rocket (and you, too).

:YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
I think Rocket is definitely telling you in his own way that he's not feeling well. And just because he's in pain, it doesn't mean he won't eat. I just find that they're less likely to seek out food (means of survival) when they feel yucky. I hope you figure out what it causing his discomfort and I'm really hoping it's not a tumor.
 
Claudia, I wish I could help in some way. I couldn't see anything troubling about the position of Rocket's tail. When Kitty is ready to tuck in and sleep, he curls his tail in. Looks much the way Rocket's does.

sending many hugs to you. I know Rocket feels the comfort of your presence, and knows you are there to protect and watch over him.
 
Will update tomorrow. Gave bupe and I managed to get him out of the tub. He's on coffee table sleeping and my laptop is in my room. Typing from mobile. He is relaxed. I'll stay on the couch making sure he doesn't fall. It's been over 1 hr there. So hopefully he'll stay out of the tub

Til tomorrow
 
Claudia, you guys remain in my thoughts and prayers. Hoping you have the answers you need soon to better deal with his care. I know that when Willie isn't feeling well, he will seek out the cooler spots in our apartment (which right now, appears to be everywhere BUT in front of the the heat dish, or in the bed with the electric mattress pad!).

Hang in there, and try to get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top