1/25 Karamelle PMPS 383 +4 324 +7 268

JoM

Member Since 2023
Yesterday 1/24 Karamelle AMPS 289 +4 245 +9 206 PMPS 155 +3 108 +4 96 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Yesterday was a bit stressful. Karamelle decided she didnt want to eat after her PMPS. She threw up a small amount of bile, I syringe fed her a little bit but she spit a lot of it out. I gave her some cerenia and Mirataz. Tried to feed her some Fancy Feast, but she wasnt having it. I tried her low carb dry and she didnt want that either. I tested again +3. I honestly cant remember the order I did anything last night as its all a blur. I ended up giving her some high carb dry and she ate some of that. Then tested her again at +4, it was 96, so I gave her some high carb wet and went to bed. This morning her AMPS was 383!! I dont know what to make of this. I think maybe shes gone off her food a bit. She isnt so excited about the Young Again Zero mature anymore. I know its best she stays on all wet so I will try and feed her more often. I just hope she will eat enough to maintain her weight and she will eat the Fancy Feast. She really liked the Merrick (16%) I gave her.
 
Last edited:
Sorry about the bouncy high numbers today. But she did get down to a lovely high green just before hand. With SLGS, we stay with a particular dose if you are seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range, so this dose is looking good for now.

Maybe there's another Merrick flavour she'd like. The Purrfect Bistro Duck is 5%. There is also the limited ingredient duck. It's listed as 15% on Dr. Lisa's food list, but I know that's wrong. Must be a typo as the ingredients are very similar to the other LID flavours. I fed it to Neko, who loved it, and it didn't bump her numbers. She was very carb sensitive.

A clarification from yesterday:
was kind of panicking so I gave her some high carb dry but remembered that it doesnt work as fast.
Dry food does work as fast. The problem is that dry food takes longer to get out of their system once they've eaten it. Meaning the high numbers will last a little longer.
 
Sorry about the bouncy high numbers today. But she did get down to a lovely high green just before hand. With SLGS, we stay with a particular dose if you are seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range, so this dose is looking good for now.

Maybe there's another Merrick flavour she'd like. The Purrfect Bistro Duck is 5%. There is also the limited ingredient duck. It's listed as 15% on Dr. Lisa's food list, but I know that's wrong. Must be a typo as the ingredients are very similar to the other LID flavours. I fed it to Neko, who loved it, and it didn't bump her numbers. She was very carb sensitive.

A clarification from yesterday: Dry food does work as fast. The problem is that dry food takes longer to get out of their system once they've eaten it. Meaning the high numbers will last a little longer.
I looked up the Merrick Purrfect Bistro Duck (which is what i gave her) and saw 16% DM carbs on this site. Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Duck Pâté Cat Food Review (catfooddb.com) The problem I was running into when trying to calculate it myself using the carb calculator, is that no ash is listed on the label. I dont know how this site got that number. Since you are saying is lower, then it must have been the dry that bumped up the #'s. I guess I need to buy some higher carb food. I have a list, I just thought this one would be ok.
 
That 16% is on a dry matter basis. We want %calories from carbs on an as fed basis. This post gives an example that shows why the DMB can be so much different: Calculating % Calories from Carbohydrates
Ok, I dont understand why you are using as fed #'s but if thats the case then it looks like Merrick isnt high carbs after all. I was just using this site Carbohydrate & Calorie Online Calculator | Feline Nutrition Center (felinenutritioncalculators.com) to calculate. But the can doesnt list ash. I did find it however on a site where they had this for sale and it lists ash as 2.5 so i did a calculation using that and it did indeed come out to 3.5 as fed carbs. I guess at lease with the dry (I was using Origen Regional red), that she likes, I know I can raise the numbers if need be. I will buy some of the higher carb wet foods tho.
 
Back
Top