1/25 Hendrick AMPS 437 +3 279 +5 196 PMPS 301

AMPS 437, fed half breakfast meal at shot time (sub-5% carb) and will feed other half at +1 as per @FrostD

Unless I miss-understood and the split meal approach is only for evening feed.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hendrick-amps-543-possible-missfire-on-shot-guidance.258287/
It's best to do both AMPS and pmps spilt. You may find as he becomes more regulated and numbers are lower that splitting even furthur will be helpful.

Once you learn how he reacts over first 3 to 4 hours after shot he may need a small boost the first couple hours. Some days LM gets very small micro snacks at each hour for first 3 to 4 hours after shot. Micro as in a tsp or so at a time. It helps keep him surfing in good numbers safely without harsh drops. But ECID (every cat is different) .
 
I cannot believe I did it, again. Solo BG test. I lied to myself and said I would give it a go, but if I make an attempt and after one poke I do not have blood, I'll just call it off because today has sucked for him, poke-wise

but naturally once I have the bit in my teeth I get determined to get a droplet. Luckily only took two pokes, second was was the tiniest of tiny droplets but I massaged and massaged that ear and got enough!

Much better than vet curve +5 of 360, he registered a blue 196! However, I was hoping we would find the nadir with this +5 (closer to 5.5 tbh)

Am I correct that this test does not reveal the nadir @FrostD

without at least one more in a hour or two, I dont know how we would know whether or not he nadir'd. I mean, chances are he's on his way back up but...not sure

I really can't bear to poke his ears again until PMPS but tomorrow, I guess I should look to obtain a + 7 and/or a +9, no?
 
Last edited:
You're getting the hang of it!

Correct. We know it's likely sometime +4 or later, but without any historical test data at +4, +6, or later we can't say for sure. It can and does move around, but helps to know the typical nadir.

Pairs of tests are better to help "draw" the curve. A +7 on its own doesn't tell us a whole lot, but a +7 and +9 (combined with PMPS) tell us how he rises at the end of his cycle. I would actually try a +4 and +6 next, that pairing would probably get you nadir.
 
You're getting the hang of it!

Correct. We know it's likely sometime +4 or later, but without any historical test data at +4, +6, or later we can't say for sure. It can and does move around, but helps to know the typical nadir.

Pairs of tests are better to help "draw" the curve. A +7 on its own doesn't tell us a whole lot, but a +7 and +9 (combined with PMPS) tell us how he rises at the end of his cycle. I would actually try a +4 and +6 next, that pairing would probably get you nadir.


thanks, will do. Well, I'll give it my best shot anyway. Kinda boggles my mind every time I solo test successfully

so tomorrow he gets four ear pokes...AMPS, +4 , +6 , PMPS.

is there any concern about hitting a spot on his ear that was poked the day before? Like how much can these ears take
 
Look at the SS of anyone following TR, they can take quite a bit lol

I always try to alternate ears and locations. So for the AM test I'd do upper portion of left ear, next test upper portion of right ear, next time mid left, then mid right, etc. As long as you aren't repeatedly hitting the vein it'll be alright, that's the part that really hurts them and causes bruising.

To this day I hate giving the insulin more than BG tests
 
Yes looks like the 23rd. He seems to bounce for 2 cycles, then the 3rd cycle he clears it. May not always be the case, but hopefully that drop today was slow enough he doesn't bounce again
 
thanks, will do. Well, I'll give it my best shot anyway. Kinda boggles my mind every time I solo test successfully

so tomorrow he gets four ear pokes...AMPS, +4 , +6 , PMPS.

is there any concern about hitting a spot on his ear that was poked the day before? Like how much can these ears take
You are really getting the hang of this testing!
 
Look at the SS of anyone following TR, they can take quite a bit lol

I always try to alternate ears and locations. So for the AM test I'd do upper portion of left ear, next test upper portion of right ear, next time mid left, then mid right, etc. As long as you aren't repeatedly hitting the vein it'll be alright, that's the part that really hurts them and causes bruising.

To this day I hate giving the insulin more than BG tests
Yeah! And that’s the place they always try to hit at the vet! The vein. They always come back from the vet with hugely bruised ears!
 
so far, the last evening feeding is a small snack right before wifey and I hit the hay at about 930p (+3).

At some point should I bite the bullet and get up at midnight and 2-3am to BG test so we know how low he goes overnight? Setup a RFID feeder so he can potentially have a snack if he gets too low? Not sure how we would ensure he doesnt go for that snack at like 430 am which would be no bueno as AMPS is 6-630a
 
Back
Top