1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269, +7 = 176, PMPS = 215

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=112507

AMPS = 269 (1.2u)
+3 = 239
+4 = 238
+5 = 208
+6 = 184
+7 = 176
PMPS = 188/215 (1.0u)
+2 = 268
+3 = 209
+4 = 208
+5 = 194
+6 = 204
+7 = 166
+8 = 190

Good start this AM with 269. That's the first yellow AMPS we've seen in a while. Eddie sure likes to keep us on our toes! Using 1.2u on the sliding scale.

Also, cat food popsicles are a success so far. The ones in the silicone tray worked wonderfully! The ones I froze in a regular muffin tin, however, are sitting on my counter while I think about how to get the frozen pucks out. Eddie and one civie have figured out that they can be licked, although now I see one of them has been removed from a bowl and is sliding around on the kitchen floor.

:?: And a question: I don't like skipping shots, obviously, like I did yesterday. Normally cut off is 200, and I have not been at this too long. However, for future reference, if I can monitor and can test this out, is there any reason I cannot try a 0.8 shot if he's got a PS of around 150+? Thus far, Eddie has consistently risen to 300+ within about 2-3 hours of a pre-shot that is in the mid-100's since he's occasionally getting longer duration. I know the general rule is that if a dose is getting extra long duration, that may mean a dose is too high. However, Eddie doesn't really like to consistently do anything, and I'd prefer not to reduce the 1.4u for 300-350 just yet.

Wishing well to Debbie and Lucian today! Fingers crossed for no more black holes!
 
Re: 1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269

Also, cat food popsicles are a success so far. The ones in the silicone tray worked wonderfully! The ones I froze in a regular muffin tin, however, are sitting on my counter while I think about how to get the frozen pucks out. Eddie and one civie have figured out that they can be licked, although now I see one of them has been removed from a bowl and is sliding around on the kitchen floor.

We had that problem too. They work well for our Civie, but Oliver dragged them around the house until pieces were falling off. They work best for us in an automatic feeder as we can leave it them overnight to thaw. Other beans have cats who wait for them to thaw....

And a question: I don't like skipping shots, obviously, like I did yesterday. Normally cut off is 200, and I have not been at this too long. However, for future reference, if I can monitor and can test this out, is there any reason I cannot try a 0.8 shot if he's got a PS of around 150+? Thus far, Eddie has consistently risen to 300+ within about 2-3 hours of a pre-shot that is in the mid-100's since he's occasionally getting longer duration. I know the general rule is that if a dose is getting extra long duration, that may mean a dose is too high. However, Eddie doesn't really like to consistently do anything, and I'd prefer not to reduce the 1.4u for 300-350 just yet.

I hope this happens first when you can monitor. It is certainly okay to shoot at 150, but if you won't be there, you want a dose that won't be dangerous. Maybe you'll get the chance this weekend? If not, I think I'd rather seen lower dose than .8 on 150 - at least the first time.
 
Re: 1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I hope this happens first when you can monitor. It is certainly okay to shoot at 150, but if you won't be there, you want a dose that won't be dangerous. Maybe you'll get the chance this weekend? If not, I think I'd rather seen lower dose than .8 on 150 - at least the first time.

Thanks Sue! I'm sort of hoping it actually does happen this weekend, or even during the evening, since this bean is usually up half the night anyway, so I can try this out and get some data.
 
Re: 1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269, +4 = 238

You might 30 minutes and re-test to see if he's rising and then shoot if he is.
 
Re: 1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269, +4 = 238

BJM said:
You might 30 minutes and re-test to see if he's rising and then shoot if he is.

Thanks BJM. We have done that on the days that he's a bit on the low side. For example, on the weekend of 1/12, we tested for close to two hours waiting for him to come up to a shootable number. Of course then, we ended up off schedule by 4 hours when Eddie had back-to-back long duration shots, which resulted in a wonky Sunday PM shoot schedule to get him back on schedule for his Monday morning 6 AM shot.

Yesterday AM, I tested every 30 mins. to an hour past his normal dose time and he was hanging in the same range, not clearly rising.

He tends to skyrocket up 200 points in an hour around +2/+3 when he hangs in the blues pre-shot. I had to go to work (darn work! :mrgreen: ), so I had to leave him without insulin. You can see that when I stopped home at lunch time (AM +6) he was back up in the 300's.

If I can test out a lower dose for when he's between 150-200, and know how he's going to respond, then I don't have to leave him without insulin for a cycle if he happens to have a slightly lower AMPS. I won't dose under 200 until I've had an opportunity to test this dose when I can closely monitor his response.
 
Re: 1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269, +3 = 239, +6 = 184

Good enough.

You might consider making 190 the no shot cut off, then 180, etc. as you get data to show it is safe.
 
Re: 1/25 Eddie AMPS = 269, +3 = 239, +6 = 184

BJM said:
Good enough.

You might consider making 190 the no shot cut off, then 180, etc. as you get data to show it is safe.

That's a good idea! Thank you!

We might just get to try this out tonight. PMPS first test = 188. Wait and retest in 30.
Edited: Re-tested at +12.5 = 215. 1.0u shot.

Eddie's had a wonderful surf all day today. :-D Fingers crossed for a good PM cycle too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top