1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331, +3-256. +6-301. 2nd shot of Lantus.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoo Kitty

Member Since 2011
Good morning. I do not have my AMPS # just yet. Fed meal at 8:15. Will check in a few. Just wanted to start a condo because this is the 1st day of starting Lantus, and this is what i have so far as far as directions go from this board...

Start with .5.
Hold dose for 5 days unless need change after 3 days (of course I will get advise as we go on...)
Test at +3, +6, and +9.

Anything else?

The pen looks kind of intimidating. Do I just open it like a regular pen, then I will know what i'm doing? I will be using my own syringe in it...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

OH NO!! I think I missed the shot! Now what? I saw liquid on her fur... What do i do if the shot didn't get in her? I hate being nervous!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

Does her fur smell like Lantus? I believe it has a particular smell.
At any rate, as a rule you don't want to do another injection since you can't be sure how much she got. Get a +3 to see if her numbers come down anyway. Start over tonight.

It happens to everyone.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

MJ+Donovan said:
Does her fur smell like Lantus? I believe it has a particular smell.
At any rate, as a rule you don't want to do another injection since you can't be sure how much she got. Get a +3 to see if her numbers come down anyway. Start over tonight.

It happens to everyone.

MJ&Donovan

The smell is not as stong as Humulin N so not all sure but there was wet liquid around the fur where i gave the shot. Also is it true that you have to pull out the plunger to make sure if I am not in a blood vessel or something? Cause that's where I got screwed up. I pulled back on the plunger before i pushed it and might have fallen out of the skin... So bummed :sad:
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

Hi guys .. don't worry about the fur shot, if it did happen .. You can get back on track tonight .. I always think the smell of lantus reminds me of a band aid ... know what I mean? Just hang in there guys ...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

Lantus has an antiseptic sort of band-aid like smell. Fur shots happen so don't worry :smile:

You don't need to pull back on the plunger before injecting. Just tent the skin, stick the needle in, and inject.
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

squeem3 said:
Lantus has an antiseptic sort of band-aid like smell. Fur shots happen so don't worry :smile:

You don't need to pull back on the plunger before injecting. Just tent the skin, stick the needle in, and inject.

Cool, much easier...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

It's not gonna hurt her if her #'s are high today?
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

Stephanie,
Great your starting on Lantus!! The fur shot happens to EVERYONE at one time or another. So just start over tonight. Are you feeding BEFORE checking BG number???? You want to get BG, feed then shoot. Hope his number comes down a little even if it was a fur shot. Will check pmps tonight.
Jan
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

This is only the 2nd red number I see on BooBoo's SS, and you've been testing for ketones.
She'll be OK. Give her some snuggles and try again tonight.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

Will do!!!

So I need to check AMPS before feeding? Woops, i've been checking after feeding. Do I still need to wait 1/2 hour after feeding to give the Lantus?
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

binks has hit reds and even black numbers before...which threw me into a panic...but i tested for ketones all the time back then...and it didnt seem to harm him.
i'm sure they don't feel very good, but...

and don't fret...i think i pulled a furshot this morning...happens to us all!

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443 starting today on Lantus... nervous

get up, test ,shoot and feed right away. takes lantus at least 3 hours to start working. a few cats maybe 2 hours but this is a gentle insulin. there is no reason to feed half hour before shooting/testing. a true BG reading is always before eating no matter what insulin you use
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

Ohhh... Okay. So different rules completely for Lantus! Just did her +3 and got 230! Maybe I did get some in there after all! I feel better now (phew!). So now I am feeding her lunch. I did the test pre lunch and haven't fed her since breakfast... Will test at +6 before dinner...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

Good job Stephanie!! And yes, we ALL do fur shots so it's ok. Typically, you should test, feed, shoot within about 10 mins. Once in a blue moon if I'm running a little behind, I'll test, shoot, and then feed (IMMEDIATELY) just to be sure my shot time is always at the same time because, as someone said, it does take time for the lantus to kick in. But I also mean I feed immediately...like within one minute of shooting. You'll get the hang of it!!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

if you are home and you are feeding more than 2 meals (a lot break the amount of food you would feed in 2 meals into 5 or 6 small feedings). they do this so as to not overwhelm pancrease. I never have. wheezer gets a snack only if he is lower at +3 than I like and I use a TBS to slow the drop. the fosters always get a +3 or +4 snak and this is only a tbs or little more cause they are usually dropping then
do not feed anything at least 2-3 hours before AMPS or PMPS
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

She is a bit underweight right now because she lost alot of weight before we found out she was diabetic. What i have been doing is giving her 2 (5.5oz) cans a day broken up into 4 feedings. Is that too much?
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

I'm using Lev for Buddy, and my shot time is 6am, so I get up at 5:30 sometimes 5:45, Buddy is usually waiting for me on kitchen floor, I test, get cans out (have 6 to feed) mix in bowl, scoop out for cats. While there all eating I clean up cans in sink, get Lev out of fridge, fill syringe, put under arm to warm, by then Buddy is usually done eating, sit on floor with him and shoot, all within 15-20 min. and haven't even opened my eyes yet!!! LOL LOL Just kidding, but you will eventually get into a routine, and sometimes it does feel like I'm still asleep. But I'm lucky, Buddy is a very mellow cat, and he knows I'm helping him so he just waits there on floor for me to do what I do. So trust me I was so SCARED when I first started this, and very nervous, there is still a lot to learn and I just take it day by day.
Your doing GREAT!!!!!!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

Keep it up! If you furshot, it obviously wasn't much. And yes, we've all made our mistakes!!

I made the same mistake with feeding prior to testing before. Here's why it matters... If BooBoo is in the low blues to greens, you really need to know if that number is rising or falling in order to make an informed decision on when to shoot and how much. Food can have a big impact on that number... Willie will spike around 40 points after eating, and he's on a raw diet with virtually no carbs! If BooBoo eats within 1-2 hours of shot time, that pre-shot number may be inflated by food. But the food wears off quickly. the last thing you want is to be lulled into thinking you're safe to shoot, only to have the food wear off and you're left scrambling to get BooBoo's numbers up.

Because Willie will often dip at the end of a cycle, I try to always get a +11 or at least a +11.5 so I have a comparison number. I know if he is rising or falling, and it helps me gauge how critical it is for me to get a +1 or a +2 (especially in the AM when I'm trying to get to work!). Then, he gets to eat his 2 Tbsp of food (we feed mini meals throughout the cycle as much as possible) while I prep his insulin and pill, then when he's done, he gets his pill and shot.

Just keep asking questions, and know that so many of us before you were asking the same things not that long ago! Hang in there!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3 230. New to Lantus today...

on food. guess it all depends. food does play a factor in it to some degree. maybe right now it is ok cause he is not regulated and needs the food. my guys get and equivalent, I think, of maybe 1- 5.5 oz a day and get fed 2x a day unless numbers say to feed to slow drop or too low already and need some food and then it is not much. just comes out of what would have been their next meal. their weight usually evens out.
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3-230, +6-260, +9-373. 1st day on

well guys, wish us luck on this PM shot. Hopefully it will go smooth. I will test, feed, shoot as stated...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3-230, +6-260, +9-373. 1st day on

You're doing fine. You've gotten some great information. Don't be confused if people tell you how they do things with their cat. The rule here is ECID -- every cat is different. Gabby gets her food broken up into 4 mini-meals at pre-shot, +1, +2, and at +3. I do that because Gabby tends to drop quickly during the early part of the cycle. I know that because I have the data to show me how Gabby reacts to insulin.

Right now, what you need to focus on is gathering data so you will have a solid understanding of Harry on Lantus. Go back over the sticky notes. Read and re-read the tight regulation info. Remember to get test data like you did today. Before you realize it, the entire process will be second nature. And, we'll all be here to answer your questions.
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo AMPS 443,+3-230, +6-260, +9-373. 1st day on

Hope your PM shot is going well! Know that I'm in week seven, and I STILL have to go back and read the stickies to remind myself of the overall plan! :) Have a good night!!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331... 1st day on Lantus

Seems I am wasting some of the Lantus each time I try to draw up the shot.

1)Do you hold the pen upside down, like I did with the Humulin N?

2)Also what about bubbles?

I had to use 2 different syringes because the 1st one had a bubble in it that I just couldn't get rid of by tapping. So, I did not want to contaminate the Lantus by putting the same syringe in twice, so i got out a new one and made sure to draw up more than I needed so I could assure no bubbles, but I wasted alot in the sink, being that it is not cheap this concerns me.

If someone could help me with those 2 questions I would be utterly grateful!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331.1st day on Lantus. Newbie Q?'s

I don't use the pens, so I'm not sure about the waste issue... i draw alot extra from the vials!

Ella (and Rusty) has a great tip for bubbles... though, i've had less luck recently with the Relion syringes working with it. You pump the syringe several times before putting it into the pen, and when you insert (I'm assuming upside down?), have the plunger pushed firmly in all the way so that any air is out of the syringe. Draw your insulin, tap any bubbles to the top (I turn the syringe upside down and tap first so I know if I have bubbles, and if so, how big), then instead of pushing the plunger, twist it slowly so that you can more easily work out the air bubbles. Added advantage? You slowly remove the excess insulin one drop at at time, which allows you to measure much more precisely.

Good luck!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331.1st day on Lantus. Newbie Q?'s

oddly enough that's what i was doing with the N, pushing the plunger up and down 1st. I had become very comfortable with the N, so I guess I'm just a little wigged out making the switch to a new insulin that sounds sooo fragile!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331, +3-256. 2nd shot of Lantus.

Hope these #'s will go down eventually. Monitoring 2nd dose of Lantus, still giving just .5...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331, +3-256. +6-301. 2nd shot of Lantus

#'s still in the yellows... Do I still need to stick with the .5? I know it says stick with a dose for 3-5 days, but by the looks of these #'s looks like .5 might not be enough...
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331, +3-256. +6-301. 2nd shot of Lantus

Yes, stick to the 0.5u. BooBoo is buidling his shed, remember that I told you that his numbers may be higher for a while? With Lantus/Levemir, you have to allow time for the insulin to build the shed under the skin. While that is going on, it often looks like you are shooting nothing because not much insulin is working on the BG....yet! It's just part of how this insulin works....be patient and you won't be sorry. I know it's hard to see the higher numbers, none of us like it, trust me! Just keep testing for ketones as often as you can, and keep shooting the 0.5u.

You're doing great!
 
Re: 1/25 BooBoo PMPS 331, +3-256. +6-301. 2nd shot of Lantus

Thanx for the reassurance. She was negative for ketones this am so that's good. She did throw up this morning, clear liquid, but she has always been prone to a little throwing up ever since we've had her. I'm thinking she was just REAL hungry because I hadn't fed her in a while and was waiting for now... She's much happier now and I am about to give her the shot...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top