Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
Yes ...I meant Marje. Sorry I wanted to catch her to look in another sick kitty.You meant Marje right?![]()
Yes ...I meant Marje. Sorry I wanted to catch her to look in another sick kitty.You meant Marje right?![]()
Could you summarize the last bit of test and feed? ie:
+4.25 41 gave 15cc honey and 1.6 oz LC
+4.5 50
+4.75 66 "some gravy" (number tsp?)
+5 67
Am I missing any tests of food/honey since then? You'll want to be up for a least a couple hours after that first low. Honey/gravy can wear off and the numbers can come back down.
Also, it helps to keep the subject line up to date. You can get rid of the AMPS test numbers if you run out of room.
Never mind...it is worth doing.Yuck, I think I will have to go through the posts and take notes because his +4 was when I first fed.
Test treats are so important, it's the carbs we want to track. Carbs can take 20-30 minutes from the plate to the bloodstream, so testing every 15 minutes isn't as necessary for the 40's. At +5 you might not yet have seen the boost from the gravy. And by the way, you might want to get something higher than 13% food around if Bear is one of those that needs a litte more carbs. 15% and above is considered high carb.
+4.25 (?) 41 gave 15cc honey and 1.6 oz LC
+4.5 50
+4.75 66 gave 1 oz of 13% gravy
+5 67
+6 77
I am heading off, but a last couple notes. You could feed him a couple tsps of his regular LC food now. LC at this point can help them surf and not wobble back down. The high carb (honey/gravy) can take two hours to wear off.
If that +4 was first honey, then that +6 number is a good one. You want to see a couple hours sustained or rising after giving carbs, before calling it a night.
Thank you again Wendy!I am heading off, but a last couple notes

If he's over 50 you can just feed low carb..+7 (76 1 Ckn Treat and 1 Tablespoon of Tiki Kibble 16.5% Carb.
I hope this does the trick.
Since he went down 10 points from +6 to 6.5 I wanted to boost him.If he's over 50 you can just feed low carb..
I hope you enjoy the coffee!
Understandable!Since he went down 10 points from +6 to 6.5 I wanted to boost him.
I am getting so tired......

Oh dear...it always happens like this, doesn't it?This is one of those the worst cat timing things. My son is flying in from Seattle and I am cooking for a family get together.
I planned on an early get his room ready and the house and fix food.![]()
Yes... Bear did one other Hypo on Jan 8th but I wasn't home and my husband handled it.Our kitties like to lead us a merry dance
You are doing really well.
Is this your first pyjama party?
ROFL! Ha, Ha, that is sooo funny. I have been writing my checks correctly, (2019).I just looked at Bear's SS. Did you realise you have written 2018 for all of this year so far?
Bear is not finished yet..I'm afraid you will have to stay up longer..Lord have Mercy, he dropped 8 points.
+8 =80
Yes he will probably bounce.This is a set up for one heck of a bounce later..
This is what happens when the insulin dose is too high...and why we reduce the doseI can hardly believe the Insulin is overcoming the carbs.
You could leave it an hour to test next time..+8.5 123
We made it to blue!
No cry, cry.You could leave it an hour to test next time..
If you set the alarm to wake in an hour would you hear the alarm?
Oh, that's a shame. You are going to be very tired for tomorrow.No cry, cry.
I am hard to go to sleep but once I do fall asleep an alarm won't wake me in an hour.
I live with sleep deprivation so my body refuses to wake up if I have gotten less than 4 hours.


I think he will be ok now..Thank you Bron for hanging with me and Bear. Your company was a pleasure.
Bear was 155 @ +9.5.
I have to go do my chores so I can catch a nap.
You have been great!
When we get to five units, the suggestion is increasing by 0.5 units, unless you are tweaking a dose that has some gre n already.