1/25/2020 Blackie AMPS 312

Hi Sherry, I noticed that he likes to start dropping and then he really goes for it!

For example on 1/18 he was dancing around with lower numbers all day - so you shot a nice 185 in the evening...and he dropped to 114 - that was a clue that he was headed back to the lagoon...would have been good to get another test at 3+ that night to see if he was still moving down - by the time you tested him at 4+ he had dropped too low - and was given a reduction. Sometimes when you reduce after one drop below 50, they don't hold the reduction well...and the end up going back up. So after many trials at this myself - we were told to feed that downward curve - I finally got the hang of that - and now I can - most times - keep Luci from dropping down under that line by 1)Frequently testing her when she's dropping and 2)Adding a little MC food to her LC food...just a teaspoon so as not to send her soaring either...I want her to surf, not soar and not drop...and it's a fine line when you're trying to figure out what foods Blackie is sensitive to - if any.

In this case, every cat is different...so if you can, jot down in your remarks what you've fed and when and see if you can strike a balance on slowing him down when he's headed down, down, down...and just enough medium carb food to keep him in that good green zone.

I have to admit, that's a tricky one and we worked hard at it for a long time...and still sometimes Luci slips by me and throws me a lime green...and then sometimes I think I know she's headed down because of a big 100 point drop (like yesterday) and I fed her a little MC and she jumped way up high. So there are no guarantees - but it is worth the effort to see if you can steer Blackie with the foods...just a little with each test...

Best of luck to you and let's hope this new dose is 'the' one that is the magic for Blackie!
 
Hi Sherry, I noticed that he likes to start dropping and then he really goes for it!

For example on 1/18 he was dancing around with lower numbers all day - so you shot a nice 185 in the evening...and he dropped to 114 - that was a clue that he was headed back to the lagoon...would have been good to get another test at 3+ that night to see if he was still moving down - by the time you tested him at 4+ he had dropped too low - and was given a reduction. Sometimes when you reduce after one drop below 50, they don't hold the reduction well...and the end up going back up. So after many trials at this myself - we were told to feed that downward curve - I finally got the hang of that - and now I can - most times - keep Luci from dropping down under that line by 1)Frequently testing her when she's dropping and 2)Adding a little MC food to her LC food...just a teaspoon so as not to send her soaring either...I want her to surf, not soar and not drop...and it's a fine line when you're trying to figure out what foods Blackie is sensitive to - if any.

In this case, every cat is different...so if you can, jot down in your remarks what you've fed and when and see if you can strike a balance on slowing him down when he's headed down, down, down...and just enough medium carb food to keep him in that good green zone.

I have to admit, that's a tricky one and we worked hard at it for a long time...and still sometimes Luci slips by me and throws me a lime green...and then sometimes I think I know she's headed down because of a big 100 point drop (like yesterday) and I fed her a little MC and she jumped way up high. So there are no guarantees - but it is worth the effort to see if you can steer Blackie with the foods...just a little with each test...

Best of luck to you and let's hope this new dose is 'the' one that is the magic for Blackie!
Hi Sue! Thanks for looking his SS over and the advice. I will definitely try and incorporate more testing. I'm trying to work on having food available to him more often. I feed at am then +6 (lunch break from work) then pm and then +4 before bed. I just purchased a microchip feeder to see if that will help. I've 2 other cats and there's no way to free feed wet without one getting most of the food. lol
 
Hi Sue! Thanks for looking his SS over and the advice. I will definitely try and incorporate more testing. I'm trying to work on having food available to him more often. I feed at am then +6 (lunch break from work) then pm and then +4 before bed. I just purchased a microchip feeder to see if that will help. I've 2 other cats and there's no way to free feed wet without one getting most of the food. lol
I'm also trying to figure how much food to give as I fed dry for 11 years. He's about 12lbs and he gets about 1 and a half can of friskies pate.
 
Be vigilant at the 3.5 units dose. He got to the low 30's just over a week ago on 3.5 units. I rather suspect he got lower than 92 on the night of the 23rd on the 3.25 units dose. I might not have increased cause it looks like the higher numbers after that were from a bounce from however low he got that night.
 
Back
Top