? 1/24 - Wally - AMPS: 242, +6: 205, PMPS: 173.... shot usual?

I printed out TR regulations so that I can refer back to it often, in case I get nervous. :bighug:
Plus Wendy has told me at least twice that with TR you give the shot if it is above 150 and to post for help if it is below 150.
 
This is the first time she told me because I said I was nervous about shooting Bear's first blue number.

Copied response from Wendy:
Ask yourself the question “how low can this dose take my cat”? That’s the number you look at. I would suggest the first time you see below 150, do not feed, and post here for help.
 
I also remember the rule was to shot anything above 150 and ask for advice otherwise.

But the TR page says to shot anything above the 50 range.

I'm waiting for some expert advice.
 
All I can offer is this from the TR Protocol Sticky:

General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
SHOOOOT! And get a couple early tests.

Sorry, can’t stay longer, taking my mother to medical appointments.
 
But the TR page says to shot anything above the 50 range.
This particular guideline is something you work up to. When a cat becomes more regulated, their pre-shot readings get progressively lower too. You then gradually can shoot at lower pre-shot readings but it is a gradual process. You're not there yet but the day will come. For now stick with the 150 as your guide and ask for advice if Wally is lower than 150 at pre-shot. :)
 
Thank you MrWorfMen's Mom.

Considering that the last week Wally's nadir is around AMPS, I will expect a 150/something tomorrow morning Italian daytime.... any suggestion to be ready for tomorrow in case no one of you is online?
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Wally & Stefano

So I am guessing with the 7 hour difference from my U.S. Central Standard Time that you usually give Wally his shot around 7PM and Wally's shot was about an hour late?
Stefano how late was Wally's shot?

If you give a Lantus shot 30 minutes or more later it is like a dose decrease.
 
I will expect a 150/something tomorrow morning Italian daytime.... any suggestion to be ready for tomorrow in case no one of you is online?
Don't say that around Wally. He might be listening and he'll jinx you!
antijinx-emoticon.png
:woot:

If he is truly reaching nadir at PS that could suggest the dose is too high and I don't think it is. Is it possible for you to get some random tests in those big white areas on the spreadsheet? Random testing throughout the cycles vs. always at the same time each day, will give you a broader perspective on what Wally is doing with the insulin. Nadir can move and doesn't always occur right at +6. I know at night it's harder to get tests later in the cycle but if you wake up in the middle of the night, it would be helpful if you could grab some tests then too to see what he's up to.

Are you home to monitor as needed during the day? If so, then you could shoot a slightly lower pre-shot than 150 but making those decisions takes all the current data into consideration so it's difficult to give you a precise cut off point or dose reduction ahead of time.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom tonight I will collect some data hoping to catch something interesting... and hoping Wally will cooperate with positive numbers :)

During the day I am always out for work, this is why the only measurement I take is at +6, that is 1.00pm when I come home a few minutes for lunch break.

Different story on weekend which I'm mostly home all the time!
 
If he is truly reaching nadir at PS that could suggest the dose is too high and I don't think it is
I don’t think the dose is too high either. Wally could be a late nadir cat or he could be breaking a bounce, or finally reaching a dose that gives him some better numbers. Stefano has previously mentioned he can only get the one mid cycle test during the week, so weekends are a good time to get tests at other times.

Stefano, are you only able to get a +6 tomorrow as well? Just looking for your ability to monitor if Wally should give you a blue AMPS instead of doing that other thing we won’t mention,
 
Stefano, are you only able to get a +6 tomorrow as well? Just looking for your ability to monitor if Wally should give you a blue AMPS instead of doing that other thing we won’t mention,

If he gives a blue AMPS tomorrow I will remain home with him to monitor strictly....that will not be a big problem I can always work from home!

Hope I'll be able to reach you in case of need :)
 
Check the Sticky Note on shooting low and see if you have any questions. Also, you could always get a +11 or +11.5 test in the AM and post to give time to get an answer if needed. I might still be up at your AMPS. Gotta do thentime zone math.
 
If he gives a blue AMPS tomorrow I will remain home with him to monitor strictly....that will not be a big problem I can always work from home!

Hope I'll be able to reach you in case of need :)

Lol! Stefano your 7AM is Wendy's 10AM and Linda's 1PM.
I wish my Canadian friends lived closer.
Linda, I think you should consider moving closer to Wendy, it is much warmer in her part of Canada. ;):bighug:
 
I'm waiting for some expert advice.

Excellent! I'm so glad you are waiting for advice from the people that have a LOT of experience! We all want to help:) But when it comes to your cats safety you need to be careful who is giving dosing advice. I've been here nearly a year & do not feel qualified to give dosing advice.
When I first started someone came on & started giving me advice, I was cautious & asked what experience she had.This person got very upset with me! It turned out she had just started and had less experience than I did.

Brought tears to my eyes to see the blue #'s . So Happy for you & Wally! I see you're trying to get more tests in at night. Eventually reach for an 8 9 or 10 test. Fill in the Puzzle!

Wally is only 8 yrs old. My Ravan is 16 1/2 & has Kidney disease.Recently had a seizure, Unknown reason. Our kitties can live a lot longer than we expect. My Daisy lived to be 23!

I'm wishing you & Wally the best of Luck! I'll be checking in. Remember to BREATHE when you get stressed!:):bighug:
 
Great job shooting! Sorry I missed the fun :)

I would suggest you gradually lower the BG at which you ask for help. This time it was 173; maybe next time you get a 150, you so you ask for help; the time after that, maybe it’s at 130 or 140. However, any time you get a 150 or below and aren’t sure, always ask for help...that’s why members are here.
 
Great job shooting! Sorry I missed the fun :)

I would suggest you gradually lower the BG at which you ask for help. This time it was 173; maybe next time you get a 150, you so you ask for help; the time after that, maybe it’s at 130 or 140. However, any time you get a 150 or below and aren’t sure, always ask for help...that’s why members are here.

Regretfully today in the afternoon, no one answered his dosing question in his title because people were living their lives. :)
At least all the experienced /veterans were, so after almost two hours with no response I became concerned for Stefano and Wally and thought he was stalling Wally's shot.
So I quoted what Wendy&Neko's advice that was given to me prior a few times and TR Protocol.

I hope the situation doesn't repeat itself because I know I am too inexperienced to give advice and (Never Have) but in this circumstance my concern for Wally & Stefano led me to make an exception for their sake.

@Wally & Stefano in response to your message: You are welcome. I know we both watch out for each other, that's called friendship. :bighug:
 
Regretfully today in the afternoon, no one answered his dosing question in his title because people were living their lives. :)
At least all the experienced /veterans were, so after almost two hours with no response I became concerned for Stefano and Wally and thought he was stalling Wally's shot.
So I quoted what Wendy&Neko's advice that was given to me prior a few times and TR Protocol.

I hope the situation doesn't repeat itself because I know I am too inexperienced to give advice and (Never Have) but in this circumstance my concern for Wally & Stefano led me to make an exception for their sake.

@Wally & Stefano in response to your message: You are welcome. I know we both watch out for each other, that's called friendship. :bighug:
Please understand I have absolutely no criticism at all. You did just fine! I wanted to just instill a little confidence in Stefano and let him know he will, in fact, gradually get used to lower numbers.

I appreciate you being here and helping as many of us really experienced members no longer have our babies with us and so we aren’t on quite as much.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Please understand I have absolutely no criticism at all. You did just fine! I wanted to just instill a little confidence in Stefano and let him know he will, in fact, gradually get used to lower numbers.

I appreciate you being here and helping as many of us really experienced members no longer have our babies with us and so we aren’t on quite as much.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you soooo much! I absolutely and sincerely did not think you were criticizing me at all!
I REALLY prefer not to give advice at all.
The consequences of advice would be too heavy a weight for me to carry at this point in my journey.
I agree with your motives to help Stefano.
Anyone that reads his threads can tell he has a kind heart and suffers with some anxiety and worry all in the name of love for his cat.
You should read all of this thread, it is very touching and pulls on the heart strings. :bighug:
 
Thank you soooo much! I absolutely and sincerely did not think you were criticizing me at all!
I REALLY prefer not to give advice at all.
The consequences of advice would be too heavy a weight for me to carry at this point in my journey.
I agree with your motives to help Stefano.
Anyone that reads his threads can tell he has a kind heart and suffers with some anxiety and worry all in the name of love for his cat.
You should read all of this thread, it is very touching and pulls on the heart strings. :bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello guys&girls, thank you so much for your help! :bighug:

Today I think we can relax he gave us a high AMPS: +424

So sorry I didn't read all your posts yesterday night in time, I went at sleep when I saw he started moving the up direction and didn't catch the +10 +11 values...

Please forgive me, I will do better next time
 
Back
Top