1/24 Tiggy AMPS 234 +3 315 +9 263 PMPS 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

Barely grazed blue last night so he got another dose increase. I am starting to wonder about insulin resistance although this SS doesnt remind me of other cats that have it... thoughts? We just seem to be getting higher and higher. I know I have a tendency to hold the dose too long but...??

Seems a little lethargic today.
 
Re: 1/24 Tiggy AMPS 234 +3 315 +9 263? insulin resistance?

Have you ever thought about getting him tested? Just to know for sure. It's rather more expensive in Canada compared to the US for getting the tests done, but it might give peace of mind to know one way or the other.
 
Re: 1/24 Tiggy AMPS 234 +3 315 +9 263? insulin resistance?

No because I wasnt high enough to be concerned but now he has hit the 6 unit mark i start to wonder...
 
Re: 1/24 Tiggy AMPS 234 +3 315 +9 263? insulin resistance?

Hard to say....he did pretty well on 5u there for a bit and not so long ago.

The thing is, if you are worried about it, have him tested. Then you will know for sure.
 
Re: 1/24 Tiggy AMPS 234 +3 315 +9 263? insulin resistance?

I would just be a bit more aggressive with the dose. You are able to test so stick with the protocol and see if this is just a plateau and once you're past it, if the numbers start to come down.
 
Re: 1/24 Tiggy AMPS 234 +3 315 +9 263? insulin resistance?

Ok will do. I want to be very aggressive with the dose now!! 1/2 unit increases now right cos he is a higher dose cat?

What about the protocol where it says if nadirs are under 200,hold the dose for 3-5days.. Do I go with the 3 or 5?
 
Hey Just wanted to say that sometimes it takes a lot to find that break through dose so dont give up just yet, OK?? Barb's Tuffy was on like 5-6 units & eventually went OTJ,so Ya never know!!
Tiggy may come down, seems like he liked 5U. But sometimes you have to go up, to come back down again!!!Sending Hugs & Love from us!!
 
For where he is, I'd probably go with every six cycles but just increase by .25u. If you want to increase by .5u, I'd hold it just a bit longer.
 
I know an owner of an acro cat in Surrey, BC who was on insulin for maybe 4 months, got to about 6u and after a few cycles at 6u, plus a change to low carb wet food diet, she shot one dose of 7u, and the cat suddenly stopped needing insulin.
Chuck's been off insulin ever since.

Not all acros are high dose, and some may even be just IAA. The only reason Chuck's owner knows that he was acro was due to their vet suspecting resistance and had Chuck tested.

A low dose, a short time on insulin, a food change.... if he had not been tested, I bet everyone would have said ah, food change; that must have been the problem.

ETA: follow the protocol for your increases, and do not hold longer than the 6 cycles if you are getting nadirs that call for a bit of an increase. When increasing by .5u at higher doses, you don't need to hold the dose longer because the percentage is much smaller at higher doses.
If your dose is 6u and you increase by .5u, what's the percentage? Much lower than a .5u increase to a 3u dose.

You can stick to the .25u and .5u increases until you reach around 10u in dose, then you can move to .5u and 1u increases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top