1/24 Thumper PMPS/166 +2/162 +4/150

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
I haven't posted in a couple of days since there was no action. I had reduced to 1 unit for PM dose the 20th due to getting a 33 on AM cycle. I held that for 6 cycles & since nothing was happening I went back to 1.25 last night. She's blue now but staying kinda flat. I'm not complaining I just don't know what's going on. Is this normal? I'm on a merry go round between the 1 unit & 1.25!

Also, do any of you know anything about Methyl B12? Thumper limps, not really walking on her hocks & she was doing this before her diabetes DX. I'm thinking it may be some sort of joint pain. My civvie (they are littermates)was doing it also. She has been getting B12 injections for about 5 weeks now (after a crisis with constipation & kidney troubles) but it's the Cyanocobalamin. I really think it has helped with the limping. I was thinking about asking the vet if I could give the injections to Thumper also. I do have the Xobaline but never gave it to her. I was afraid of it messing with her #'s & she never finishes her food so I hate mixing stuff in. Any advice/info is appreciated! Thanks!

Barbara
 
B12 (any form) is water soluble. You can't give too much. I don't know what form of Xobaline you have. Some are formulated with sugar/flavoring and/or starch. There is a different product, Zobaline, that's formulated for diabetic cats. It's a little cheaper on Amazon than through the manufacturer. I think (I'd have to research this to be sure) that cyanocobalamine is the precursor to methylcobalamine when the vitamin is metabolized. Do you know whether this may be arthritis? If it is, you may want to consider Cosequin. It's over the counter and a glucosamine and chondroiten compound. Some people here use Dasequin or Adequan which I believe are both prescription.

If the dose reduction didn't hold, you did the right thing by increasing back to the last good dose. When Thumper needs a reduction, you might consider shaving the dose rather than taking a full reduction. Although, with a number in the 30s, Thumper was clearly sending a message!

Oh, and flat blue is a good thing!! Unlike other types of insulin, the ideal Lantus cycle is flat. We all want flat green!!
 
just saying hi, barbara. the greatest consolation with a flat cycle is you don't have to stay up all night testing! thumper's numbers look pretty good, even if they could come down a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top