I'm glad you're keeping records on Smudge even if you can't post very often.
Looking at Smudge's SS, it looks like his numbers were below 200 when you were dosing between 1.5u and 2.75u. Since you've dropped the dose, he's been consistently in the +200 range which is above renal threshold. I'm not sure why you were reducing the dose. If you're opting to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, you only reduce the dose if numbers fall below 50 or if a cat is in a normal BG range (50 - 120) for a week.
I'd encourage you to increase Smudge's dose and to get at least one spot check in the PM cycle.