1/24 Rustsy AMPS 190/+2 86/+4 132/+6 160/+8 151/+10 198

emilyrose

Member Since 2023
First thread in Lantus, wasn't sure how to post at that time. That was my bad.

Today was his curve day as req by vet. I was almost afraid to give him insulin this morning; he's never been below 200 in the morning, and since his feet continue to be so bad today to the point where he can't comfortably get up and walk very far, I automatically went into paranoia thinkin something is wrong.

I was thinking, if he's back to the 300s again in the morning tomorrow, I will redo curve just for the sake of being accurate to what has been his "baseline" pattern. Should I do another curve tomorrow anyway, to monitor a potential new "normal" for him?
 
Today was a perfect day to do the curve! It showed you that this dose is taking him below 90. And since you are following SLGS for dosing, that means a 0.25 unit dose reduction. Other than that, it was a very lovely set of numbers today. :cool:

No need to curve again tomorrow. He'll probably be bouncing from today's great numbers. No need to show the vet what a bounce cycle looks like. You do want to show the vet the data from a "normal" Lantus cycle for Rusty as you captured today. Well done.
 
Today was a perfect day to do the curve! It showed you that this dose is taking him below 90. And since you are following SLGS for dosing, that means a 0.25 unit dose reduction. Other than that, it was a very lovely set of numbers today. :cool:

No need to curve again tomorrow. He'll probably be bouncing from today's great numbers. No need to show the vet what a bounce cycle looks like. You do want to show the vet the data from a "normal" Lantus cycle for Rusty as you captured today. Well done.
Thank you Wendy

My only concern is that this is out of the norm for his history, and with his condition having gotten worse the days before, I have difficulty believing the Lantus is suddenly kicking in. Just my paranoia. He may also need a recheck as I think one of his thyroid glands (or lymph nodes?) is swollen.

I'm hoping tomorrow he will not be back in the 300s, for his sake. This is truly the first day he has automatically been under the high 200s AMPS since dx.

Everything is happening all at once. Lol.
 
Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It can take their bodies a while (think weeks) to learn how to utilize it properly. Celebrate those good days when you have them. Hopefully this is a sign of more to come.
 
Back
Top