1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263 pmps 409 +3/398

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

usual morning routine - except that i put his breakfast for now and for +3 (with 2 ice cubes) in the auto feeder. i hope he can find it in 3 hours! silly kitter. he seems fine this morning, clean plate club maintained for both him and anya.

i increased his dose to 6.0u lantus and gave him the .25 R. the son will be home for a couple of hours to check him and at the latest, i'll be home by +5.5. i think he'll be ok. if my child at school doesn't show up again i'll be home before then.

have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415

Julie - I missed out on all the meter drama and Punkins dosing. Do you mind doing a recap for me? Great job on the ketones test yesterday. I laughed about re-using the lima beans. I didn't think you meant in the kitchen, but the thought that someone else may possibly have thought that is hilarious. Think of all the lurkers that don't post.
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415

Oh Punkin! No red allowed! Hope the R brings him down for you. Good luck on the extra juice. Use it wisely big guy.

Have a great day Julie!
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415

Hi guys .. oh punkin punkin punkin .. what are we going to do with you? I hope that punkin finds his auto feeder today and I hope the extra juice get's him down to lower numbers again .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R

i feel like i'm slamming the poor little guy, but we gotta get him down out of those sky-high numbers! i guess i'm grateful i haven't seen black on his SS!

gave him another .25R at +6 - he was 287 and if i'm understanding right, using it now can keep it from rising too high in the last half of the lantus cycle, giving a better preshot and letting lantus do its work better.

yes, he ate from the autofeeder. it was clean as only punkin can make it clean! :lol: if anya had eaten it, lots of cooties would be left. no cooties=punkin's work! :lol:

karrie, several people have reported over the past 6 weeks that the freestyle lite meter was significantly lower than other meters. my husband checked ours on himself when going to a doc appt one morning and the numbers were only 10 apart. i knew that meters are more accurate in lower numbers, but i figured since dosing is based upon the lowest numbers i wasn't too worried about it. thought even though it might be off, probably not enough to change the dosing.

was i ever wrong! i had a read a ton on glucose toxicity on friday and saturday about how remaining even 3-7 days in the 540 range was enough to turn off the beta cells in the cat's pancreas. so i decided we needed to know how high the high really was. got a relion confirm since there's so much chatter about them, plus the strips are cheap. when we tested him saturday night with the same drop of blood, the FSL was 258 and the confirm was 400. :shock: so now we're trying to fast track him out of those dangerous numbers. you can only move the lantus up in dose every 4 doses, so we added on R to try to bring him down in the meantime.
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R

Hi Julie,
It looks like Punkin is on the right track. Nice +6 with the R. And good news that he is eating out of his automat. We serve Rusty all of his meals in his automat (we use it as his "table"). The lids are open most of the time, but when we go out we set the timers. We have the Cat Mate C-20, two-compartment feeder. Rusty is so used to eating from it that he considers it the normal way to eat.

I hope everything continues to go well and that Punkin's numbers will begin to come down. Enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R

Sorry Julie the comment that I made in Vyktor's condo came out all wrong, of course there is nothing at all funny about punkin's numbers being so much higher than you thought they were. What I meant to say was that we'd go crazy if we couldn't find things within bad situations to laugh about :oops:
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

oh serryn, i knew what you meant! no worries - absolutely not! and you're totally right - ya gotta laugh to survive all of this craziness! i woke up at 5am worrying about punkin after not going to bed til after midnight. makes a person a little insane!
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

julie & punkin said:
oh serryn, i knew what you meant! no worries - absolutely not! and you're totally right - ya gotta laugh to survive all of this craziness! i woke up at 5am worrying about punkin after not going to bed til after midnight. makes a person a little insane!

Phew, when I read what I'd written back again I was horrified at how it could have been read, so glad you knew what I meant :smile:

I'm a bit over excited here this morning...
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

Julie, I guess I missed your meter drama...

Those darn FSL's are just bad news.... I was enamored with mine until we did a Fruct-test. Dropped that puppy like a hot hard boiled egg!

I am so glad you got a new meter! Maybe now ...real healing can get underway for punkin!
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

I had to go back to yesterday's post and read about the lentils
z7shysterical.gif
..sorry :mrgreen:

I hope Punkin gives you some really nice PMPS numbers, for him, to start his evening. :-D
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

Sorry I missed all that drama Julie. I'd be ticked, but very glad you figured things out now and not further down the road. Must be nerve wracking using the R also. Give him and Anya a belly rub from me pleeease and belly kisses if he's cool with that ;)
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

So nice to see sunshine in punkins condo once again - real sunshine :-D

So, what did you end up doing with the lentils???
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263

:-D nothing. they're in the box in the garage. i like to deal with things that way. set them aside until you HAVE to deal with them! if i get the urge to check him again i'll probably let it get used one more time and then toss them. perhaps i'll toss them in the compost and see if lentils sprout after they've been "fertilized!" :lol:

all of you with R experience or knowledge: am i doing this right with punkin?

keep using .25R at shot time and again at +6 until the lantus dose gets high enough to see lower numbers?

do i have enough data that i don't have to check the R every hour now, as long as the starting number is over 250 or so?

we had 2 doses of 6.0 today, so thursday morning i'd go up to 6.5u lantus.
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263 pmps 409 Q?

Fingers crossed for you on the new dosing regimen for Punkin! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/24 punkin amps 415 R +6/287 R +8/263 pmps 409409

julie & punkin said:
all of you with R experience or knowledge: am i doing this right with punkin?

keep using .25R at shot time and again at +6 until the lantus dose gets high enough to see lower numbers?

we had 2 doses of 6.0 today, so thursday morning i'd go up to 6.5u lantus.
I'm only 1 of several folks around here with R experience and our reasons for it's use differ.
However, our most heavy use of R was prior to BKs IAA dx and any testing for HD conditions.

we started on R due to ketones coming back on the scene. And continued after recovering from DKA episode 2.
BK was at a Lantus dose of around 5u at the time and that was exactly the plan - keep the BGs in check and enough insulin on board until we found a Lantus dose that took care of business. at that time I shot at PS and at +6, around the clock, depending on the numbers. That's a good place to start.
Gather your data and work up a scale, based on the data. As the picture changes you adjust to best go with the numbers. You'll come to a point where you will need less R, less often.
And then perhaps none at all.

we continued to use R regularly until his IAA broke and after that just here and there. Eventually - none :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top