1/24 Ozy AMPS-188,PMPS-112,+3-179,+9-195

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112474

AMPS-188,+3-265,+6-180,+9-166

Thanks, Wendy, for the advice on Pepcid.

He gave us some trouble with his shot last night, just when I was thinking that shots were going so well..

Ozy is doing well this morning. Nice to see. He is teetering on the edge of blue and yellow. This is his seventh cycle on 6.5 units. If he doesn't come down today, we will probably raise his dose again tonight. If he goes up this morning, it may be time to try R instead (we wouldn't both). Torn about which way to go.

Update: Looks like we should have gone up this morning...
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188

Good morning:) That is a typical cat, to keep you guessing when you think they are good at something like shots ;-) I always think one thing, and Chyna proves me wrong :lol: . Ozy looks nice in blue today, I hope he slides down to green for you! Happy Friday :-D
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188

Hi guys . .no advice on R from us .. but I hope whatever you decide to do helps bring ozy to some nice solid flat blues and greens! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188

Hi there ~O) :cool:

Blue skies prevailing in Ozyland today :-D

Sometimes BK would give us trouble with shots. I can't say I blame him. I probably would not have been as tolerant as he if I was on that end of the deal!

donaleen and Ozy said:
If he goes up this morning, it may be time to try R instead (we wouldn't both).
A few questions to help better understand what you have in mind- Do you have a threshold in mind in terms of 'if he goes up' '? In other words up to where?
If he does reach that threshold and you want to shoot some R, what is your expectation in terms benefit , for both the short term and considering the larger picture?
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188

Sandy asked:
A few questions to help better understand what you have in mind- Do you have a threshold in mind in terms of 'if he goes up' '? In other words up to where?
If he does reach that threshold and you want to shoot some R, what is your expectation in terms benefit , for both the short term and considering the larger picture?

This dose looked promising when he got a nice green in the second and third cycles. But no green since then and he seems to be creeping higher and higher, which I believe is what he does when the dose doesn't work. He is almost yellow.

As for R, I am still confused about R. I am not sure it is the right thing for him now. Maybe he just needs more insulin.

What I DON'T want is for him to creep up and up. If he is going to come down on this dose, I think it will happen in this cycle. Do I know that for sure? No. No one does.

Sometimes I am sorry I got him tested for high dose conditions. I can't see that it has been the slightest bit of help.
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188

donaleen and Ozy said:
This is his seventh cycle on 6.5 units. If he doesn't come down today, we will probably raise his dose again tonight.
donaleen and Ozy said:
This dose looked promising when he got a nice green in the second and third cycles. But no green since then and he seems to be creeping higher and higher,
donaleen and Ozy said:
Maybe he just needs more insulin.
That's what it looks like to me, he just needs more insulin right now. At this point in time, right now, if it were my cat cruising along in safe numbers but not quite where I wanted him to be, I would not take the chance of R causing a steep or fast drop. I would not want to risk causing a bounce. FWIW That's how I see it, based on my experience with BK (who was not at all like Ozy). There may be other R users with SSs that have more in common with Ozys than BKs. Hopefully they will chime in.
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188,+3-265

Sorry Ozy gave you trouble with the shot last night. Good luck if you decide to increase tonight.
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188,+3-265,+6-180,+9-166

i think i'd go with the Lev dose increase tonight. he's looking pretty good but to get him in an overall lower range of numbers, it's likely going to take a little bit more Lev.

nice that he came right down from that 265 today.
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188,+3-265,+6-180,+9-166

Thanks Julie and Sandy. I look at those nice relaxing blue numbers and I think, "let's just stay here" but I think going up is the right thing to do because he won't stay in those blues.
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188,PMPS-112

hmmm.... hard to raise a dose on that PMPS even if he isn't green. Is he toying with me or getting ready to go a nice green?
 
Re: 1/24 Ozy AMPS-188,PMPS-112

Nice PMPS!

I know you have to be more aggressive because of the IAA and that is the value in knowing the test results. For example, if he hadn't come down like this tonight but stayed mid-blue, the knowledge of the IAA would have encouraged you to increase. But if we didn't know, we'd probably suggest you wait 10 cycles since he's got blue (and a titch of green) at this dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top