1/24 Milo AMPS =308, +6.5=171, +8 89 , +9.5=139, PMPS =253, +1.=272, +3=397,+5=517

Status
Not open for further replies.

milosmommy

Member Since 2009
Milo yesterday
Previous thread discussing dosage

I was happy with Milo's number this morning for being day 2 on Levemir.

I do have one question. You aren't supposed to wait 30 minutes after eating to inject are you? I did the normal from Prozinc where I test, feed, inject in about 15 min.
 
Last edited:
Hi! I hope Lev will work well for Milo. Yes, with Lev and Lantus we try to test, feed, and shoot all within about 10 or 15 minutes. No need to wait to inject. Also, keep in mind that Lev onsets much later than Lantus or Prozinc. For Rusty onset usually begins at +4 or later. The late onset is good to know about, because if you have a low bg number at PS, Milo's bg will probably be rising until onset kicks in.

ECID, so keep good records. And don't forget that it takes about a week to build the "shed" and therefore not all of the insulin is available to work on the bg because it is going into the shed. (and every time you adjust the dose, it takes a couple of days for the shed to adjust to the new dose).

Best of luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Still learning how to post properly. How do I add link for yesterdays thread?

Go to your old thread and "copy" the subject heading in your browser; In the main text block of your new thread, type the word(s) you want to use (e.g., "Yesterday") and highlight it. Click on the link button (looks like a chain link). A box will pop up. Where it says to enter URL, go up to the "edit" button on your browser and click "paste."

Ella
 
Here is yesterday's post and the one for the day before where Levemir dose was discussed.

I would get a +9 test today, given how fast he dropped to +8. It could be that he's reached nadir already. A number of us had suggested 1.25U as a starting dose. It could be that 1.5 is a bit high, but let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out.
 
Thanks Wendy for linking previous threads. I hadn't made it up to computer to do. Just slowly figured how to do from phone.

+9.5 139, ate at +8 reading some low carb FF.

CAN/SHOULD I REDUCE DOSAGE TONIGHT?
 
Last edited:
You can lower the dose if you want to, but you don't need to. He only got down to 89 so plenty of room before reduction point. However, if you don't, I'd be prepared to do some spot checks tonight. It looks like he might be onsetting around +4 and nadiring around +8. There's always the chance he'll bounce in reaction to the green today, in which case you might not need that +8 test at night.
 
Thanks Wendy.
Since shot at 7AM I can do +3 and +5 test.
Since dx he gets a treat feeding at 3am. I was always worried he'd drop so a small low carb FF makes him happy.
 
One of the thing I love about Lev is the ability to feed later in the cycle. Normally you don't want to feed much after nadir, as that puts the brakes on the insulin action and they can zoom up to PMPS. Neko was very happy to get her +9 snack put back on the roster.
 
I'll stop by occasionally.
You've got medium and high carb available in case you need to steer the numbers?


He's having a good response to the Levemir. Another couple of days to see how low 1.5 units takes him.

Also, when you start from a low number, it may not drop as much; it may just keep him from going up. This is how some folks are able to shoot low to stay low.
 
If you can get a +4 tonight, it could be interesting. If he doesn't onset until +4, numbers will sometimes keep going up until then. Neko's Lev onset is more like +5.5, so she goes up until then.
 
He ate at the last reading so it'll be about 1230 or +5 when I test next. I'll update then
thanks for keeping an eye oN us
 
I don't get what's up with the numbers tonight.
I could have done a fur shot...he wasn't happy when I gave it to him and I had to try twice. Know dosage was cortect5.

Not a bounce I'm assuming.
 
Yuck! Could indeed be a bounce. Lev has a strong smell which you should be able to detect on the fur if it was a fur shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top