1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167, PMPS 499

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461 dose incr

Morning Debbie ~O)

Good luck with the increase, I hope the numbers improve :smile:
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461 dose incr

Good luck with the dose increase.

Again, PLEASE get PM tests. You need at least one test each and every night. It's the only way to insure Lucian is safe and what's going on with his numbers.
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 Blue!

Finally a Blue #!! Hope he likes it and sticks around.

He hadn't eaten in 4.5 hours, had couple treats about 3 hrs ago.

I laid down to take a nap and he came in meowing, I called to him and he got up on the bed, by himself, snuggled up and napped for about 30 minutes. Was so nice to see, had a good purr going on, with some love and petting.

He wants to eat now, boy's hungry

Thanks all.
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 1st Blue!

Yay for blue! It's like finally being able to see the light at the end of the tunnel, isn't it? ;-)

How is the testing going? Still having some difficulties or do you now have it licked? :lol:
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 1st Blue!

I worry he'll bounce since this is the lowest he's been.

Once I chucked the lancing device, testing was much easier :-D , it just didn't work for us. Last couple days, I've been doing it a little faster and it's better still, was concerned about his ears hurting. So I'm able to do a quick small poke free hand and it's better for both of us. I just had to pick up my speed and use less pressure. It's hard to figure out! :smile:

Hoping this dose will be better for a few days anyway, can't stand those HI readings. :sad:
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 1st Blue!

Hi Debbie :smile:

Blue! Very nice to see!

Don't be discouraged if he does bounce, many kitties do. The liver is in a state of shock at the
lovely low number, and tries to get them up where it "thinks" they belong ;-) Bounces clear, and
blues (and greens) will become much more regular over time. Don't forget to try to get some PM tests in :idea:
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 1st Blue!

Very nice! Glad things are getting easier for you and Lucian. Don't let up your guard. Once the numbers start getting lower you need to be extra cautious about hypos. Keep getting those tests in!
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 1st Blue!

Congratulations on your First Blue :mrgreen: !!!
I fourth the asking to get those PM tests, please.
 
Re: 1/24 Lucian AMPS 461, incr , +2/359, +8/167 1st Blue!

Just to be my usual PITA self, if you're seeing a late nadir during the day, you may get similarly late nadirs at night. Test at night please!
 
Yeah, I expected the Roller coaster! :o PMPS @499, still not 600+. I know it will take time.

If he is dropping late, how will getting the BG @+1 'before bed', help me any? Especially since it takes a few hours to drop as the norm.

I can see it being a help if I get up at 4-5 AM, I can't stay up drinking coffee all night and forgoing my meds, which has made me sick from the last time. I'll set the clock for 5 and hope I hear it.

Thanks ya'll! :-D
 
Debbie

I think the point Sienne was trying to make is that if you did not get that +8 today, you would have never known he came down. Cats are quite often lower at night. Look how far down he came today and then he popped back up by PMPS.

Now look at the pm cycle on 1/21. He was obviously clearing a bounce that day. I bet you 90 to nothing that he went lower that night; not necessarily low but you see how hard he has bounced from 167. So he could have been in low blue or even green that night and then up he went like a skyrocket into black the next day.

That's why none of us have been suggesting you raise his dose. Might he need more insulin? Sure....it's possible. But do we know based on the numbers we have? Not really.

The +1 is only going to tell you if he has a food spike. The +2 is usually more indicative of the kind of cycle he might have. Look at today....his +2 was lower than his PS value even considering 20% meter variance. And...he came down. It's also "possible" that the 167 was not his nadir; he might have nadired a little earlier at a little lower number. But, we know he's getting down there and guess what? That 167 was not from the new dose that you shot this morning. It was from the 1.5u dose you've been shooting.
 
Then if I can't test all night, I shouldn't raise his dose?

Damned if I do, damned if I don't.

I'm sorry, I have to consider my health first and I'm doing what I can for him. At least I didn't do as the vet prescribed and give him 3 units bid, no testing and no diet change.

I set the clock for 5am. I'll try to get up.

I'll just have to handle it on my own, we'll get by.

Thanks.
 
Debbie

No...I don't mean test all night. I mean grab a +2 and see where he's headed. If it looks like he's headed down, you could perhaps get up later and test? If you get up at 5 like you suggested, what test is that?

We understand you must sleep at night. But didn't you say you shoot early enough at night that you can easily get a +2?

eta: not trying to add to your stress level or make demands. I was just trying to teach you how to look at the patterns on his SS. I apologize if I upset you. You're doing fine....we're just trying to help you help Lucian :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top