1/24 Lee Lu Curve Test Results - lots of "HI"

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandabur

Member Since 2014
Update:
Curve testing today - 1/24. Results:
+10 327
AMPS HI
+2 HI
+4 498
+6 HI
+8 597
+10 HI
PMPS HI

She's been on 0.50u 2x daily since 1/17.
Just in case the insulin pen was the issue, changed pens on PMPS 1/22.
Upp'ed the dose to 1.0 PMPS 1/23 as it would not affect today's curve test, and she's obviously high.


SS up to date.

Thoughts? Ketones negative.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Ruth! I checked out Tiger's profile, wow he's a lot like Lee! Born same year, similar marking. I'm worried Lee has Hyper T but I am trying to get her BG back down (something happened mid Dec to make her go all un-regulated!) before we move forward

Nice to see a fellow Seattleite here too - Cats Exclusive is a great facility. I used to work for the construction company that converted that building into a vet facility (from a Shakey's pizza!!)
 
Last edited:
Any health issues possibly going on? I see she is peeing outside the box alot. Have you had her checked for a UTI?

Dropping the dose back is called a "rebound check". If you've taken the dose up slowly and systematically as you have, there is no reason to do a rebound check because she will be at high numbers for longer as you take the dose back up.

If you can continue to get at least one spot check at night....even a before bed test....I would take her up 0.5u after four cycles unless she comes down. And good you are checking ketones...I'd stay on top of that.
 
UTI was checked earlier this month. They could have missed something? No dental issues. Twice I caught her sniffing the dining room table area and I shuffled her to the box to pee. I think it's convenient and behavioral now. Am considering adding a box there at least she regulates.

I'm more concerned about bringing her to better numbers as quickly as possible moving up the dose scale but not missin thr dose, as I was concerned of doing when the vet told me to go from .75 to 1.5 as she was obviously not getting enough based on her numbers.
 
Hi Amanda,

There is something going on - i see your note in the comments section this morning that she vomited last night. Did the vet check her for pancreatitis? The link to read up on that is here in the "where can I find?" post, click on the New to the Group Sticky, scroll down to the single topic posts at the bottom and look for "Primer on Pancreatitis."

One reason the BGs are so often lower at night is because in the early morning hours, all diabetics have a hormone release called "Dawn Phenomenon." That is responsible for the higher day cycles. For that reason, if I had to choose between getting a midcycle test during the day or one during the pm cycle, i'd choose the pm cycle - since you're going to be aggressive with dosing because she's so high, i'd just want to be certain she's not dropping low in that pm cycle at some point. The way she looks right now, I'd want to increase every 4 cycles until you're seeing some blues.

From the Tilly Diabetes Homepage (same protocol, some different wording): However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

(she is getting a "low" dose as far as the guidelines above go.)

In the meantime, I think continuing to look at what's making her so high would be worthwhile. If she fits the descriptions in the pancreatitis section, I'd ask for a spec fPL test (note you have to fast her for several hours first). If not, I'd explore with the vet what might be making her vomit.

Is there any possibility the boxes aren't clean enough for her? some cats can be incredibly finicky about that. Maybe all fresh litter would be worth trying. Also, i think you said she was checked for a urinary tract infection, but there is always the possibility of sterile cystitis, which is an inflammation, rather than an infection. It causes pain and can cause inappropriate urinating, like she's doing. Antibiotics don't help because it's not an infection. Same link as above, but scroll to the very bottom section of interesting posts, one of the last ones is a post on UTI's by Dr. Lisa. She talks about sterile cystitis as well in it. Are you adding lots of water to her food to help dilute the urine's acidity so it hopefully doesn't hurt her as much? Also, cosequin can help heal the lining of the bladder so it isn't so sensitive - if you aren't already giving her that, it might be worth trying.

Good luck - i know how worrisome it is when your beloved little one has high numbers and isn't doing well. Sending our best healing thoughts to Lee Lu and a big hug to you, Amanda!

ps - i didn't know you were in seattle - i'm between Salem & Eugene. foggy today!
 
Thanks Julie! Interesting enough, she hit me with a AMPS of 245 this morning. Huh?
+2 (post meal) was back up to 477.

I assume she was the one who vomited, although I have two other kitties, but she's the likely culprit. She does it on occasion, maybe a couple times a month. It usually right after she eats, like she ate too fast. They did a full battery of tests on 1/8 when I took her to the vet, no crystals or anything, but unsure if they tested her for pancreatitis. I will have to call them tomorrow. Yes, I add some water to their wet food and also have her water bowl available. Where she is peeing now is across the dining room (< 6 ft) from where they eat. Its as if she comes down to the food area, grabs a couple nibbles, drinks some water, then looks around for a pee spot and hits it. Which is why I'm going to buy another box today to put where she's choosing to pee.

The boxes are cleaned 2-3 times a day, replace what I scoop with new litter. I use the Dr Elsey's Precious Cat clay litter. My UPS man hates me b/c I buy two 40 lb bags via Amazon for delivery once a week LOL She's never been finicky before, this is pretty new around mid Dec. Maybe its time to buy brand new boxes.
 
hmmm, well i don't think it sounds like there's anything wrong with the litter boxes. sounds like you're really on top of that.

i'd look at the sterile cystitis and ask if they did a spec fPL, just in case there's pancreatitis. the more you say the more i think it might point to the cystitis. I don't know that much about it, but that link has a lot of info on it. If a pain reliever worked with her (bupe) then it might confirm the cystitis.

one other possibility - some senior cats develop dementia. At 13 that doesn't seem that old to me, but I don't know much about it. We have seen cats here with dementia though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top