
You are correct. I forgot your last shot was Tuesday night. Please do put +35 in your title.+35 I thought?
You can feed and shoot at the same time but the pre shot test should come first. Some cats are very hungry then so you could try giving a teaspoon or so of food the take the edge off just before or while you test.Typically I shoot him while he's eating and test him immediately after. I can see now where that's wrong and was a part of my bad practice. The only thing that encouraged the change though was his excitement before meal time, he obviously didn't want to get poked when he's all hungry but was way easier after. Am I the only one that feeds and shoots at the same time?
It'll be interesting to see what the 0.5 u dose does. Can you get a +2 before work?Amps (+36) is 290
I can't reinforce Marje's comments strongly enough. It's looking like there were several occasions where Jasper's dose should have been reduced but wasn't. I would also like to encourage you to get some spot checks in whenever you can. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle. For most cats, the low point is somewhere around +6 (give or take). You may want to read through both the Start Low and Go Slow and Tight Regulation sticky notes. These are the two approaches we use for dosing. Picking one and using that as your guidebook for dosing is likely to be very helpful.Just as a recap:
I know you have worried about skipping and that’s good that you’ve been aware of that. But there are options, like stalling, when he’s below 50 at shot time that we can usually get some insulin in him as numbers rise. That’s where the members here can help you learn how to do that and keep him safe.
- Please do not shoot without testing first; Kris’s idea to give a little morsel of food so you can test before you shoot is a good one.
- Please do not shoot a number below 50; if his preshot is below 50, please do not feed him but post for help. The goal is to be able to get “some” insulin in him as long as he needs it so we stall, test every 20 minutes, and shoot (even a small token dose), on the rise over 50.
- If he drops below 50, he needs a dose reduction of 0.25u. There are times when he might drop below 50 in back-to-back cycles due to the depot. In that case, we might not recommend you take another reduction (depends on how low he went) but please ask for help. If no one responds, in the situation of a potential back-to-back reduction, if I was unsure, I’d take the second reduction for safety. You can always go back up if need be.
Get a test when you walk in the door so we will know if PMPS is a rising or dropping number.I'll be home around +11


I’m here@MrWorfMen's Mom
@Kris & Teasel
What should Aaron do? Remember Marje said not to skip because of DKA history.
Don’t feed until you retest.Well should I feed? I've halted the food and the shot, and yeah holdon