1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=68

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

She probably has enough carbs on board now that you can stop testing every 30 min, but if you want advice on shooting her tonight, you'll want to post her +11.5 BG. I'm not sure I'll be around for that. I know you'd like an answer, but it's really difficult to predict what Ella will do with a skip vs. BCS vs. full dose. I still feel like she should get something tonight unless she decides to re-visit the 40s in the next hour. I think those extra carbs are gonna show up, and she will need that insulin. Just my opinion -- others have more experience with plummeting/bouncy sugarcats. Donovan was blessedly flat once he was on the right insulin.

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

Hi Mj, Just to clarify I only fed her a small amount at +8 and 8.5 (probably a tablespoon and a half altogether of lc with hc/syrup). Will she still have these carbs in her system?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

the assumption is that 2 hrs is enough to clear out a carb-influenced number. that's why the no-carbs in the 2 hours prior to a shot guideline.

i'd probably keep testing every 1/2 hr in the 50's . . . so if mj would lean towards 60 minutes, you could choose one or split the difference and do 45 minutes.

are all of the test numbers in the ss? i just thought there were more 1/2 hr tests, but maybe not.

i agree with mj that we can't predict for you what will happen in each scenario. if i were you, as long as she's above 50, i'd probably shoot the 1.0u. if you don't want to do that, then you'll want to weigh the options - reduced dose, skipped dose, and decide what you want to do. personally, i'd hate to see you skip a shot because ella is doing really well. but the choice is yours.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

just tested =11 =39!
More hc i presume?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

holycarp-1.jpg


OK, this kitty is making her own rules. I think tonight's gonna be a skip. Get her back >50. Are you sure the 39 was legit?

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

well that's what my metre told me. should i re-test in 20 minutes? I had to blend ff to get her to eat it with her wellness. i didn't add any water to it but the gravy just disoved into the turkey. should still work right?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

if she ate it, it doesn't matter what form it's in, it's still carbs.

20-30 minutes retest. you can just repeat exactly what you did earlier today with the 43.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

I'm supposed to be shooting her at 6:40pm . She usually has her first supper now but I'm assuming I have to make her wait? She's really hungry!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

Miss Ella has pretty much shredded the diabetic cats' rulebook today. Let her eat, give her carbs, get those numbers back over 50, and no shooting tonight. Wow.

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39

ok she's back up to 52...
What will happen to her if I skip the shot and she goes into the pinks? does that mean we have to start all over again?

other option: I can stall and give the shot at 8:00pm tonight. But would stalling mean holding off on dinner?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

you can stall and as soon as you see a rise, shoot then. you do not feed while you stall.

you can shoot a reduced dose now.

you can skip the shot and regroup tomorrow morning. no way to know what will happen with a skipped shot, other than looking at a previous time that it was skipped. the thing is things change within cats, so you can't "know" that what happened before will happen again.

with option 1 and 2 you have to monitor tonight.

with option 3 you still want to watch since she's skating so low until she's clearly holding her numbers up, then you could skip testing the rest of the night and see what she is in the morning.

what's your choice?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

in the "official" words, here are the guidelines:

You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?

There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.
If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

~ written by Libby and Lucy
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

Thanks Julie (&Punkin) :cool: I need to run but will check back later tonight.
I suggested feeding only because she had dipped into the scary zone again. She's playing by her own rules, it seems!

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

If I stall, how long do i have to wait until the carbs are out of her system so I know I'm shooting a safe number?

I don't really know what choice to pick. I want to keep the momentum becasue it's good for her and frankly I've put a lot of effort into the past 24 hours (with the help of everyone in ll)
I don't think I can take another day off tomorrow. I can possibly stall until 8:30pm. geez i don't know!!!!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

the standard saying is 2 hrs without food gives a clear reading . . .

i don't know how to advise you on it. i think a lot of it depends on what you are up for tonight. i also don't think it's a fatal flaw to skip because she will get back on track. you have to work within "real" life and your own limitations.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

I'm going to test her again right now. Not sure if you can answer this question but could getting back on track mean that she has to go back up to 1.25 and work her way down again?

If I shoot her now can I still do a bcs and what would that be? .5?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

no way to answer Q#1.

Q2 - sure, .5u is a good option for a BCS dose. you could even give .25u. there's not a particular rule about what constitutes a token dose. i'd probably lean closer to the .5u if i were looking for a BCS.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

she's at 68 now...hc is working and/or insulin wearing off? It's past 25 minutes where I shot yesterday, is it too late for a bcs?

if I stall and shoot at 8:30am tomorrow i won't be able to get a +1 or +2. if I do bcs now then I can get atleast a +1.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52

is it too late for a bcs?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Just got back..let me catch up and look at her SS. Keep in mind that with a BCS, this cycle will still play out pretty much the same as a full dose. Pls don't shoot yet and hold the food. Brb.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

FYI: it is now 40 min late since I was supposed to shoot her. I thought stalling would act like a reduced dose?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

didn't mean to abandon you - my vet called about punkin. i have to leave, however, to go pick up my husband from work.

good to see you marje.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

i undesrstand julie. thanks for all your support today:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Typically, if you stall, you shoot the full dose. Ella earned a reduction today so you would be shooting 1u tonight.

You have to answer the hard questions, Tamara
1. Can you afford to be any later with the shot tonight...even +13 would be fine to shoot as long as she is up and you haven't fed for a bit (at least an hour but longer is better).

2. Do you have supplies and are you rested enough to stay up and test frequently?

3. What does your gut tell you that you need to do for YOUR situation....do you need to skip so you all can take a breather (she will get back on track and no one knows if she'll have to go up or whether she just might keep coming down in dose over the next several cycles). Are you emotionally and physically prepared if she comes back down tonight?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

the questions marje is posing is really what this is about. it's about you as much as it's about her. i will say that i've been on the computer the entire day and know i am not going to stay online tonight. there will likely be others around, but you've now been through the low numbers dance today - from this point on when you see a below 50, it's all just a repeat.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Marjorie,

My gut is not telling me anything as I am totally exhausted. I do know that she is benefiting from the greens and we are finally getting somewhere and I worry that we will have to start all over again if i skip the dose. At this point, it sounds like the bcs is out of the question so it's either skip the shot or stall a bit longer and shoot 1u.

I 'm having a tough time making the decision becasue I feel I gave it my all helping her get to where she is at...with all of you of course!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Julie,

I know I can't expect you to stay up with me any longer. You put in your time and I greatly appreciate it. I feel like I can handle the low numbers dance now. Thank you:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

I wish we could help you make the decision but we can't. I will tell you that if you skip and she does need to go back up...it isn't the end of the world. It's OK!! We've been up and down the dosing ladder many times and Gracie is fine. Safety is number one....so factor that in your equation...if you shoot can you get enough sleep in between tests?

She will get back on track if you skip. It might be immediately or it might take a few cycles but she will.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Marjorie,

If I skip the dose and she goes super high, will I be shooting 1.25 u or does she still earn the reduction. If a cat feels those high numbers again do you think it will it be hard for her to get back on track? She hasn't had food in about 2 hours.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

She still earns the reduction and I'd shoot the new dose because if she goes high, it's not necessarily a bounce. It's from skipping a shot....maybe a little bounce although she's really calmed down on that alot.

Keep in mind that if you shoot, you (1) are reducing the dose because she earned it and (2) also have the effect of reducing because it's a stalled shot

If you decide to shoot, I'll be here to watch you. Also, if you decide to shoot, since it has been two hours since she ate, I'd test her and shoot now.

It's not about whether the "cat" feels the high numbers and decides to stay there. If the high numbers are just from a skipped shot, then as soon as she refills her shed, she "should" come back down. If the high numbers
are a skipped shot and a bounce, she could take up to six cycles to clear a bounce. Or she could take one....who knows....no crystal ball here.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Marje,

i just tested her and she went back to 55. Does that change your opinion?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

This is why I don't like stalling and why I like to shoot a rising number as soon as possible because it's best to shoot so you can feed and then get on with it. I think she's surfing. If you are going to shoot, you should do it now and get her fed a MC food. If you are tired, then skip. It's alright. She will be ok.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Tamara...the doc gave me pain meds and I must lay down for half an hour but I will be right back after that to check on you in case you shoot. If you do shoot, why don't you get a +.5 just to be sure you are feeding her right and she's coming up?

Be back in 30 mins.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

I'm exhausted and at this point not thinking clearly. I feel disappointed that Ella went through a thousand pokes and I lost 24 hours of sleep and I'm faced with choices that I am having difficulty making. I don't think I have it in me to stay up all night. I'm really upset about this:( I know she will be alright but I don't want all my hard work to go to waste. I'm sorry for taking up your time Marjorie. This sleep deprivation is making me a bit emotional.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Tamara...If you skip this shot, the shed will drain a bit, and you can start fresh tomorrow..then you can start with the new dose..A 39 number is an automatic reduction for any FD cat..
You did a great job today..Ella is coming along well.. Good job today!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

(((((((((Tamara)))))))))))
Your last 36+ hrs has been unreal. I can't even begin to imagine how drained you are (emotionally and physically).
Please don't be hard on yourself. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Tamara. You didnt take up my time and I didn't mean for it to sound that way. I did not sleep last night and then with the pain meds on top of it, I could barely keep my eyes open while posting on your condo.

I know it's hard to make these decisions when you are tired and you have no idea what she will do. I did not want to push you either way ...there is no wrong path to take unless you do something that goes against your grain.

She will get back on track....really! Now get some rest and don't spend another second anguishing over any decision.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Marjorie,

Thanks for your hugs. I feel ridden with guilt for not shooting because I know how good she was feeling but I'm so tired and I have to be on the ball at work tomorrow. I really hope that everyone's hard work doesn't go to waste. People took shifts being with me the last 24 hours and I'm humbled by the generosity of the people in LL. I can only hope that I can pay it forward someday. I'm going to try and eat something before bed and hope that I can sleep through the night or I'll be extra sad that I didn't have my pajama party with you.

Thanks to everyone who supported us in our condo today. Every message added positivity and hope to our day.

Hugs to you all:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Tamara, do NOT feel guilty for not shooting. No matter what her numbers do tomorrow the past day was not a waste. She earned a reduction. You gained experience to be able to handle her numbers with less stress in the future (although this was quite a crash course!). She spent time getting her system used to greens. And your helping out other newbies like me reading how to handle this. Very good things all around! You deserve a break!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Tamara,

All that time you spend with Ella in the last 36 hours has got to be good healing time for her. I'm sure the liver is much more comfortable at those nice levels now. However, in order to be ready to do the same good for Ella again, you need to get your own sleep. Making a decision that is good for you is good for her. Plus I learned so much just reading your condos in the last two days. Thanks!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

oh tamara, you should feel GREAT about this day. ella spent HOURS in a wonderful healing range, you've learned how to take care of her if she goes below 50, and - well, you've done a fabulous job.

no one helping you would be here if they didn't want to be. i had to come check on you and ella even after i said i was going to be disciplined and not be on the computer this evening. hehehe the husband is across from me in his fav chair on the computer too. ;-) i hope i didn't seem irritated, because i was happy to hang out with you today. i'm a little cranky on other fronts, but not about you.

i suspect everyone here skips shots. as low as she was skating, honestly, if i was feeling overwhelmingly tired, i'd probably have skipped too. i have skipped shots with punkin if i thought they were too low to shoot. people often say these are just opportunities to gather data. it's entirely possible that she's had a breakthrough the past couple of days and she just may skate along and overnight not rise too much. don't worry one iota (a word you should use whenever you can!) ;-) about having skipped the shot. i was also trying not to influence your decision because you're the person who lives with the staying up all night if you shoot.

i think you made a good choice. ella will be fine. it's not like you're going to be starting all over again in the morning.

have a wonderful night's sleep so you can teach tomorrow. all is well. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Tamara,
You did so well today. You learned a lot. Skipping the shot was the best option for you and for Ella (if you are tired, she must be also; she didn't have her 20 hours of sleep! :smile: ). Her shed will drain a bit and tomorrow morning you will shoot your new, lower, dose (1 unit).

Wishing you and Ella a good night's sleep!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Tamara I too think you did well today - very well, and I know you are exhausted. IMHO - skip the shot. this is as much about you as it is Ella. She is surfing excellent numbers right now, and even if the numbers do shoot up with a missed shot she will recover. Good luck, and congrats on the reduction. Get a goods night sleep - I am sure both of you will enjoy that very much!

Congrats on a job well done!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Tamara, I was going to stay off the site tonight because I just finished a reduction and it always takes so much out of me. But I couldn't help but read the rest of your condo. I just wanted to say what a great job you did. I wish I could have been on longer, but I know you had the BEST on with you today and I even learned some things too!

I hope Ella gets back to the nice green numbers, even if she goes up in the AM, I know she will find the green again.

I hope you and Ella have a great nights sleep, you both sure have earned it! :YMHUG:

Barb
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

I am overwhelmed by all of your kind and caring responses. It makes me happy to know that my experience helped others learn more:)
You are all great treasures to me and not a day goes by without me thinking what a great family I have here in LL. I am touched and very grateful:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Hi Tamara!
WOW - what a day you had! You managed the low numbers really well - good job!

I am not an expert to give dosing advise, but I do have experience with my Kitty. I actually skipped even 2 shots at one time because I did not feel comfortable on shooting to a low number (which was then around 90 or so). Even after missing 2 shots, his BG did not sky rocket, but remained in a good range, and after that it actually was when Kitty started his determined trip to OTJ! :-D I know skipping shots was against all guidelines, but I just did not feel comfortable, and at the end everything turned out just fine (you can see the impacts of skipped shots in Kitty's SS). I hope this will be the case for Ella also.

So, just wanted to share my and Kitty's experience so that you will not feel like that you will start for the beginning again. I have a feeling that Ella will be doing just fine :mrgreen:

- Mia
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=

Thanks Mia!!! I hope Ella can follow in Kitty's foot steps:) Her liver certainly wants to!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top