1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=68

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

hahaha!!! I still get nervous! Ella is eating my hair which let's me know she is hungry. I'm going to check her bg in a minute...stand by...she might have dropped.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

+7 64 she's looking for food. Shall I give it to her or see if she goes lower for a reduction?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

hehe - surely you know my answer to that by now! ;-)

i would feed her the normal schedule today. there's nothing in her numbers to say to feed her extra food.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

It's not extra food...it's the leftovers she didn't eat this morning. If she was isolated with food today she prob would have gobbled it up!
She's settled a bit now but I know it's only time before she gets anxious again. I don't want her to bounce!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

she doesn't look to me like she's intending to bounce. when i see more than 24 hours of greens & blues, i'm thinking she *might* be done with bouncing from low numbers. of course, i shouldn't have said that because now she'll bounce. they like to make us (or at least me) look like fools! :lol:

just go with your gut on the food. you know her best!

this is awesomely super.

edited to add - when i say she might be done with bouncing from low numbers - the idea is that the liver reacts to the lower numbers because the body's gotten used to high numbers. when they get accustomed to being back in normal ranges, the liver is supposed to stop reacting. so what i'm saying is that maybe ella's liver has gotten used to this range now. which is a good thing.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

43!!! Ok should I give her HC now?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

I'm new at this, so I don't have the experience to help you out. I can't answer if you should or shouldn't feed but I thought I would paste in the instructions from the stickies on the board incase you don't get another reply soon. Hopefully, someone will be here to help soon! Until then, I'm here for moral support.


If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)


Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

give her 1 tsp of the gravy from a can of high carb. wait 20 minutes and retest.

tonight's dose decreases by .25u.

i'll keep watching for you
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

gave her 1 tspn gravy hc mixed in with tbsp of her own food. do i re-test from when she finishes food or from last test?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

sorry for missing your post, btw, i thought you were testing at :10 after the hour.

but good catch. not a crisis. we're just going to lather, rinse and repeat to keep her above 50.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

Thanks Julie (&Punkin) :cool:. I wasn't sure if anyone else was on top of this.

Start counting from the last test, but keep in mind it may take 20+ min for the carbs to kick in after eating.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

julie there wasn't much gravy in the ff i had. i had to mix in one tsp of the hc with her wellness. should i just have given her the gravy?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

10 after the hour was the .5 ark. 40 minutes after the hour is the hour mark!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

i have trouble squeezing gravy out of the fancy feast too. so i just give punkin the gravy with the food - the thing is that i can ALWAYS count on punkin eating more. for a cat that has a normal appetite, you don't want them to overfill with food so that you can continue this process as long as needed without them refusing to eat.

another option is to add 1 drop of karo syrup to your regular lowcarb food instead.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

glad you were there MJ!

i'm on hold on the phone and just thought i'd refresh ella's ss and saw the 43 so clicked over to fdmb!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

20 minutes later and now she is 45....i think it was 20 minutes since i gave her the food....not totally sure. I tested her bg @2:48 and now it's 3:20. Do i give her more food..she's looking
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

yeah. what MJ said! (good thing you were here today!)

give her the tsp, set a timer and wait 20 minutes. retest. if she's below 50 repeat the process.

if she's above 50, you can just recheck her in another 30 minutes.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

she won't eat the squished gravy. i'm going to put a drop of maple syrup in her wellness
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

ok that will work. honey works also. i don't know if there are any problems giving those two - most people use karo (corn) syrup.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

I recall very well the panicked feeling of seeing a low number you haven't seen before. Donovan preferred to do it after 1 am :roll:. I checked to see who was online and decided I should jump in, since a 43 is definitely not a number to ignore!

Funny, the gravy part is what my cats love best. Can you get it in her mouth or will that p!ss her off?

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

I know Julie and MJ gotcha covered but don't overdo the honey/karo. I have found it takes a good 30 mins to see numbers rise and so if you give too much and retest too soon, you could overcarb her and
have her shoot up. So breathe...she's at a safe number. And I'd give her 30 mins after the last food/syrup to test.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

I put in one drop of maple syrup in her wellness 1 tsp and she gobbled it up. Check in 20- 30 minutes. Is it better to give her the hc than the syrup?
If she carbs up will it affect her being able to get back in the greens easily?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

Hi Tamara, its Barb and Daphne here…

Glad to see you made it through the night. Sorry, I had to go to bed, but I knew Daphne would need me at +3. Looks like you are covered here with the more experienced now. I'll visit later to see how things go.

Just one thing, I think you were asking about the +9 and a snack,… sometimes the +9 will kind of jump start their pancreas if its at all working. So I see that in Daphne when I do a +9 it does bring her numbers down a bit.

Good luck, and really great job all day and night, hang in there, and congrats on the reduction! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

She will come back down but I, personally, have found that HC/karo seems to lead to a little more in the bounce unless the kitty has snapped and decided to quit bouncing altogether. So I try to be really judicious with the HC/syrup and try to use a higher LC to steer.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

I have a good mc with gravy at 12% carbs. I would be so disappointed if she bounced into a high number!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

i see marje's point - i confess i have sometimes overcarbed in my anxiety! :lol: plop down a whole can of HC as insurance, you know - it's not the best tactic but i have been scared by the finest of acrocats stories! ;-) now i'm into the little bit, just to bring them up.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

but she won't eat that HC..it's flaky, shredded and she hates the texture. I can only mix gravy in with her wellness. I have a good 12% gravy I can try next if she is still low.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

The only issue with her staying in the 40s is you don't have as much as a safety net as you do if she's in the 50s. She's not unsafe in the 40s as long as she is going up and not coming back down. I am just more comfortable with them in the 50s for the extra room between 50 and 39. And....seems that being in the 40s can also cause a little bounciness UNLESS, again, her liver has decided to be comfortable in lower numbers.

I have to go now and didn't mean to hijack Julie's and MJs great job here helping you out. You're doing great Tamara!!!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

ok thanks marrjorie! hope julie and mj come back soon:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

+9=59 SO I guess I wait half an hour from here..correct?

If she does bounce does that mean will don't get the reduction?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

reduce anyway. if she is more than 300 you *could* theoretically shoot one more dose of the 1.25 and reduce in the morning, but because this is her first earned reduction and you probably want to sleep tonight, i'd just take the reduction to 1.0 tonight.

julie is trying to do a couple of things at home but keeps refreshing her browser to see if you've posted. :-D

sure - give it 30 minutes and retest. 59 is awesome. maybe she'll just surf through the rest of teh day.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

You're awesome Julie :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Go do what ya gotta do!

THANK YOU!!!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

Thanks Marjorie! :YMHUG:

I'm going to be testing again in 15 minutes. The 5 sec counter on my contour sometimes feels like an eternity cause I just can't wait to see the numbers!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

sorry, stupid PC keeps freezing up :?
I agree with what has been said about overcarbing. You want to give enough to get Ella back into the safety zone (>50), but not so much that she soars into crazy high numbers. Unless you know your cat really really well, it's hard to say how s/he will react to [1] the low BGs plus [2] the extra carbs. And even when you do know your cat, they like to surprise you. Right Gracie?!?

I'm here for a while so will keep checking unless my computer poops again.

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

Thanks MJ!!!

52 +9.5.... do I wait or give her more hc or mc?

edited to add: i gave her ff grilled turkey in gravy. that's 18% carbs i believe
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52

i'd either give her a teaspoon of low carb or nothing. 52 is very safe. we want to keep her above 50 because of that margin of safety that marje referred to.

tell ella i'm very sorry, slather her ears with neosporin with pain relief, then in 30 minutes wipe it all off and test her again. hopefully her ears will survive!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52

I know poor ella:(

Theoretically speaking....if she is this low by pmps, do I still give her the shot?
And just being proactive here: what happens if I continue to have to give her hc all the way to shot time. Wouldn't that influence the pre shot number?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

+10.5 +54

she was drooling...i think it was b/c of low numbers.

Am I going to be shooting this 50? I thought I was going to sleep tonight????
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

i didn't think you were giving her any more high carb. don't give her any if she's above 50. we're just hoping she'll surf right along without help. it would be ideal if she doesn't have any more food and will still surf.

if she's over 50, and you're able to monitor, you can shoot the 1.0 dose.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52

I don't think you'll have to continue the HC to PMPS... she's gotta reach carb saturation soon.
As for shooting later, depending on the number, you can either skip or go the BCS route (maybe 0.5U). I see that last month when you skipped, she went through the roof, so I'd hesitate doing that again. She's going to need a little something to maintain the nice momentum she has started over the last few cycles, as well as counteract all the extra carbs she got today. But if you're a zombie and need to sleep, skipping is always an option.

MJ
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

i would doubt the drooling has anything to do with her numbers. 50's aren't low. non-diabetic cats get into the 40's without trouble. maybe it's something else.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

I haven't given her any food since the last time i gave the syrup. I was just curious for future reference.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

ok, well the answer is that if someone's carbing a cat all the way to the next shot time, no we wouldn't have them give a shot like normal!

having them not eat 2 hrs before each shot lets us see more clearly what's going on with the cat.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

SO three choices were given regarding dose: bcs,no shot or 1u.
I don't think I will skip but we'll have to see where her numbers go. If i do the bcs, is there a chance that she will relapse in high numbers?

am i still testing every 30 minutes?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top