1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Good morning,

I had a really long night with Ms. Ella. Her lowest number was 55 but I'm wondering if it could have been even lower as that number may have been infuenced by a food spike. Does she earn a dose reduction?

Here is yesterday's VERY long condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69342&start=50
Thanks to all who visited and stayed up with me giving me moral support and advice.I truly appreciate the time you shared with me:)
Seeing as I have hardly slept, I am in no shape or form able to go to work. It's unfortunate but that is how it has to be today.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

I got up in the middle of the night, and was lurking, and following your post and Orange's. You all did great.
Like Barb said, she didn't quite earn that dose reduction, yet, but I think that's a big yet. If you're going to be home to monitor today, and she's starting off at PM +11 of 129, then maybe it will happen today. Good job, last night.
You must be exhausted.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

Hi Dyana,

Thanks for lurking in the middle of the night:) That means a lot to me:)

I don't recall Barb visiting my condo last night or reading about Ella not earning a dose reduction. I'm very sleepy though...but are you sure it was in my condo?
I'd also like to move the shot time 15 minutes earlier as I'd rather shoot at 6:15am. Can I do that when she is low or is it too risky?

edited: Unless Daphne's mom is Barb and I was calling her Daphne the whole night ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

Barb is Daphne's mom :cool:
It should be safe to shoot only 15 minutes early this morning.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

Thanks Carolyn! So she is now at 100! Dropped 29 points from +11. Is is still safe to shoot?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

I would shoot, if I was going to be home to monitor all day. It looks like she's trying hard for that reduction.

You have 3 choices:
Shoot the full dose now (or if you're not going to be home to monitor you could shoot a BCS dose).
Stall and wait for a rising number and then shoot the full dose
Skip the shot (not generally recommended)

Here are some links to read through, when you have a chance today.
Dealing with Low Preshots
Don't Panic, or How To Handle Low Numbers
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

My vote is for shooting the full dose since you're going to be home. Give her a chance to earn that reduction. I can hang around with you :-D
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

I shot her the full dose about 10 min late...silly air bubbles were not co-operating! Thanks for volunteering to stick around Serryn:)

So much for sleep or relaxing. Hope I can get some work done.

Wishing everyone a happy Tuesday:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

See you at +1

You might want to add a little . to her ss - looks like you shot 125 :shock:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

Thanks for posting the notes Dyana! I have read and printed them. They will come in handy if there isn't anyone to confer with today.

My apologies to Barb for calling you Daphne!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

Silly air bubbles. I had to empty the syringe into the sink 3 times this morning, before I got a dose measured without bubbles.

Have a good day.

Thank you Serryn, for helping.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

tpr said:
They will come in handy if there isn't anyone to confer with today.

I can stay with you all night if needs be, we won't desert you when we encourage you to shoot low ;-)

Don't forget to update your subject line with her AMPS and then when you get her +1, I'll be checking.

I'm glad you could be home with her today and shot the full dose she is on such a good roll :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100

+1=95 Ella is alert and aleady had a second breakfast of 1/8. I will try not to fill her up too much!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

Looking at the end of her cycle last night, would the blues be considered just part of the curve? Could they have been food influenced?
She usually dips down at around +8.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

Nice on the +1, not dropping like a rock today.

The blues look like just part of the curve. I'm not seeing a consistent +8 nadir in Ella's ss though, it actually looks like she nadirs earlier than that to me but at any rate not all kitties have a consistent nadir - Vyktor's was all over the place.

See you at +2

ETA: your +1 was earlier than I thought I will be back to check for +2 earlier, I think I know where we are now :smile:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

Thanks Barb!

+2 77

She still needs to eat 2/8 of her breakfast. Should I spread it out until +3?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

Sounds like a good plan with the food, it might help her surf along here. She is sliding down nicely so far but that's still quite a drop since AMPS so I think we can expect some action :mrgreen:

See you at +3
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

Good Morning, Tamara,
Nice job last night. Sorry that it was such an exhausting night for you. I hope Ella will earn that reduction today. Yes, you should certainly give Ella the rest of her food. As long as you feed before nadir, you can work out a schedule. Many people divide up the morning's food and feed at AMPS, +1, +2, +3. Feeding a lot of food after nadir is generally not done because the food will counteract the working of the insulin (unless, in special circumstances, you have to feed to keep your kitty from dropping too far or too fast).

Here's my technique for avoiding air bubbles:

1. work the plunger back and forth a few times to loosen it up.
2. push the plunger all the way in FORCEFULLY and hold it there.
3. still holding the plunger all the way in, invert the insulin pen or cartridge and insert the needle, ease up on the plunger, and SLOWLY draw out more insulin than you need.
4. with the tip of the needle over a paper towel, slowly TWIST the end of the plunger until you reach your correct dose. (Twisting is easier and more accurate than pushing).
5. give the shot.

The key here is step #2, forcefully holding the plunger all the way in. This expels any air that might be hiding in the syringe and doesn't allow any additional air to get into the syringe.

Best of luck today. I'll be around off and on, too.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

Nice greens last night and Ella looks on a mission already today! Glad you are there to test. I bet she earns that reduction today.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

How's she going with all the pokies? You could probably leave her for an hour and a half until the next test if you like.

That +3 really isn't any different from the +2 given meter variance.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

+3 =81

Could be going up due to food or meter variance. She's not hungry anymore and I don't want to force her. She's only got an 1/8 left which is fairly typical during the week but I usually make it up to her at the 'forbidden' snack time of +9. I know we aren't supposed to feed past +6 but could Ella's glucose drop due to the lack of calories? If so, and she drops below 50, then am I right in saying that we can't say she earns a reduction solely on insulin dosage.

I've noticed that when I don't give her snack at +9 and she is low she will generally bounce and I do't want her to do that at this point!
Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

Thank you Ella for the air bubble advice. I will try it tonight!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

Hi guys .. no advice from me, but wow on last nights condo and maybe wow for today's! You are doing really awesome at handling this .. I'm so glad others are here on this board to help walk you through it .. Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

tpr said:
She's not hungry anymore and I don't want to force her. She's only got an 1/8 left which is fairly typical during the week but I usually make it up to her at the 'forbidden' snack time of +9. I know we aren't supposed to feed past +6 but could Ella's glucose drop due to the lack of calories? If so, and she drops below 50, then am I right in saying that we can't say she earns a reduction solely on insulin dosage.

No need to force her to eat now. Really the only 'forbidden' time for food is after +10 (unless low numbers dictate otherwise) so that you know you are getting a BG number that has not been influenced by food at PS. Many lantus kitties (including Vyktor) are free fed so eat whenever they like throughout the rest of the cycle. If you are feeding meals rather than free feeding many people front load the meals rather than serve them after nadir because this is when the effects of the insulin aren't as strong so the food may cause a greater spike than it otherwise would.

Ella's not going to drop below 50 solely on the basis of not having eaten for a few hours. There aren't many (if any) reasons that a newly diagnosed kitty on insulin that drops below 50 isn't going to get a decrease.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

Hi again,
I don't see any reason for avoiding the +9 snack. From your observations, it seems that Ella benefits from it. As Serryn says, it's only after +10 that you should not give food (so as to get a more accurate reading at PS time).
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

Thanks for the posts regarding food. I fell asleep for less than an hour and then woke up with a terrible feeling of thinking I forgot to give this morning's insulin. I jumped off the couch totally confused! Geez I need more sleep!

When shall I test next? I just did a 4.5.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

It looks like Ella is surfing now. You could test again at +6 or +6.5.

Sometimes I wonder if I have given insulin even when I'm awake!!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

Based on the events of last night I would get a +5 in half an hour. Good that you got a nap in but still woke up in time - got to take those naps when you can ;-)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

ok:) that will be in 20 minutes. poor kitty and all the poking:(
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

On further reflection you're probably okay to wait until +5.5 but I wouldn't be waiting any longer than that
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

+ 5.5 =73 She's surfing. I wonder whether she likes this dose.
Serryn, it must be getting late for you. Please let me know if you have to go. I appreciate your help:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

That is a very nice surf Ella cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

thanks Dyana:) Is it the food that helps her to surf or are her carbs long gone?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

She is surfing beautifully but I don't trust her! We don't have a lot of data on what Ella will do in such situations as yet - except for last night when she was surfing beautifully until she decided to duck down into the 50s at +5 (which was also beautiful but something you want to catch). I would get another test in an hour to make sure she is staying on the 70s surfboard.

She picked a good night to turn green from my perspective, it's a public holiday here tomorrow so I don't have to go to work :-D I will feel more comfortable if she's still surfing along in an hour and might go to bed then numbers permitting - tee hee I haven't had to say that for a couple of weeks now
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

Serryn,

Hopefully, you'll get to bed real soon, here. Thank you so much for being here for Ella. Unfortunately, I am work and have to log off again soon.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

I feel poorly keeping you up as Vyktor is OTJ and this is your chance to finally sleep!!! It's super lucky for us that you have a holiday:)

Thanks for your support Serryn :-D
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

just stopping in to see the excitement. what a perfect day for ella - not so great for your job, tamara, but this is a fabulous cycle. look at all these hours in great numbers!

i want to clarify on the +9 feeding - if you find that it HELPS ella, then give her a bit. i think back when we first started talking about this there was some evidence that it was making her ps higher. if a pancreas is sputtering, sometimes their numbers will drop 3 or 4ish hours after eating. maybe you're seeing that.

in all of these things, you want to take what you are reading and being told and see what fits and doesn't fit ella. so if something works better for her - go for it. you're there, you're seeing her responses - cats are all different and you want to learn and then tweak so she does as well as possible. it's impossible to answer some of your questions - like the last one you asked dyana about the carbs or the insulin making her surf. the question is what makes ella surf and can you repeat it?

does that make sense?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

btw, serryn, i'm home and able to keep checking in with tamara if you want to go to bed! thanks for staying up with her. it's always nice to have company.

tamara, what time is your next test?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

tpr said:
I feel poorly keeping you up as Vyktor is OTJ and this is your chance to finally sleep!!! It's super lucky for us that you have a holiday:)

Thanks for your support Serryn :-D

That's okay I've had two weeks to sleep while he was having his OTJ trial, I'm all caught up now :smile:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

Hi Julie,

Thanks for visiting:) I don't recall if I said that feeding her at +9 had an influence on her bg. I haven't seen huge food spikes but I guess I'm not too sure. There are definitely a lot of what if's. How does one decipher what is helping their cat surf?
All I do know, is that she is very hungry at +9 and when I give her food it doesn't seem to make her ps higher, in fact sometimes she is lower.
I'm still trying to figure it all out. There seems like so many factors to take into account. For now, I just want to make sure she is safe when I'm not home. Today looks good so far but last night could have gotten tricky if I wasn't on top of things. I'm also concerned about dosing .25 u as I'm just eye balling it. I feel I'm being consistent but perhaps she gets 1 drop more or one drop less which could affect her numbers...right? Maybe I should be more cautious in my morning doses and give her that drop less just to make sure she's ok?

I'm a bit sleep deprived now...sorry if I don't make sense. I hope I don't have to do this again tonight.
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

Thanks Julie and Serryn!
Next test is is 17 minutes @6.5!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

wow! very cool Surfing Ella!!! you go girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

+6.5=79

I may take a nap for an hour. I need some sleep and she seems to be holding steady. Do you think it's safe?
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

Yes, and well deserved. For the sake of data gathering I would probably get a +8 and a +10. I'm off to bed now too.

No on the giving her a drop less in the mornings lantus likes to be consistently dosed and because of the shed effect reducing may not effect the current cycle anyway.

ETA: I was too paranoid to leave Vyktor when he went all green on me and started heading OTJ. I ended up taking a couple of weeks holiday towards the end there. Luckily his coming OTJ also coincided with Easter so I got some extra non-working days from that too. It is difficult if you're doing it on your own and working, I don't really know what the answer is for you and Ella. Hopefully she falls into a nice regular pattern for you so you know what to expect from her, Vyktor was prone to dropping anywhere in his cycle so I wasn't able to predict his moves :roll:
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

Good night Serryn! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Thank you SO much for hanging around with us today:)

Will nap until +8:)
 
Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

just remembering the "old days" tamara, when you got nervous when ella hit 200. now you're like an old pro at this!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top