Re: 1/24 Eddie AMPS - 151 No Shot
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
What are you planning to do with it?
Ha! I haven't really given it a lot of thought yet. I'm just taking a deep breath knowing that eventually I WILL see a good cycle.

He had 8 hours in almost healthy numbers, so that makes me feel good. :mrgreen:
It's like he's handling the PZI like it's a depot insulin almost. And LOTS of bounces and taking a lot of time to clear those bounces. Eddie's such a good patient though, even if mom bean is not being patient. He relaxes in my lap and purrs while I check his BG. For ketones, I know lots of people struggle with this, but I just put him in a box, and he pees! And he doesn't mind me sticking the stick under his butt while he's going!
If it were the weekend, I might try a CS shot of like 0.8 and see what happens, because I suspect he's just getting a longer duration than usual on last night's shot, so he'll shoot back up within a few hours. But, I'm too chicken to try that if I'm not home to keep an eye on him.
I think I'm going to stick with my 1u/1.2u/1.4u/1.5u schedule for the time being. It might be that the 1.4u is actually a little high given how much duration he got from last night's shot, but given how long he seems to take to settle, I think I'm going to ride it out and see what happens. If he gets a really low number, I might have to reconsider, but for now, sticking to the plan! We will see what PMPS brings!
I definitely needed the reminder yesterday that Eddie is not a number. He is definitely doing better, and I love seeing him run around and he's so snuggly with me and DH. Eddie used to be at the top of the hierarchy of our pack before he started to not feel good. He's started to assert himself again with his civilian roommates. It's not a good thing obviously to encourage disputes between cats, but I silently cheer him on when he bops one of his roommates.
Thanks! Jen