1/24 Eddie PMPS = 371, +4 = 274, +6 = 274

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMPS - 151 No Shot

There's the Eddie we know and love = confounding, that is.... I don't know. He does seem to take a while to react to a dose, or to stop bouncing from a green several cycles ago. Both of which are not the usual patterns for most PZI cats. But, the amps is lovely and a nice change from the pinks. What are you planning to do with it? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMPS - 151 No Shot

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
What are you planning to do with it?

Ha! I haven't really given it a lot of thought yet. I'm just taking a deep breath knowing that eventually I WILL see a good cycle. :-D He had 8 hours in almost healthy numbers, so that makes me feel good. :mrgreen:

It's like he's handling the PZI like it's a depot insulin almost. And LOTS of bounces and taking a lot of time to clear those bounces. Eddie's such a good patient though, even if mom bean is not being patient. He relaxes in my lap and purrs while I check his BG. For ketones, I know lots of people struggle with this, but I just put him in a box, and he pees! And he doesn't mind me sticking the stick under his butt while he's going!

If it were the weekend, I might try a CS shot of like 0.8 and see what happens, because I suspect he's just getting a longer duration than usual on last night's shot, so he'll shoot back up within a few hours. But, I'm too chicken to try that if I'm not home to keep an eye on him.

I think I'm going to stick with my 1u/1.2u/1.4u/1.5u schedule for the time being. It might be that the 1.4u is actually a little high given how much duration he got from last night's shot, but given how long he seems to take to settle, I think I'm going to ride it out and see what happens. If he gets a really low number, I might have to reconsider, but for now, sticking to the plan! We will see what PMPS brings!

I definitely needed the reminder yesterday that Eddie is not a number. He is definitely doing better, and I love seeing him run around and he's so snuggly with me and DH. Eddie used to be at the top of the hierarchy of our pack before he started to not feel good. He's started to assert himself again with his civilian roommates. It's not a good thing obviously to encourage disputes between cats, but I silently cheer him on when he bops one of his roommates.

Thanks! Jen
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMPS - 151 No Shot

Nice to see I'm not the only one with a 'Predictably Unpredictable' cat. :lol: If they would only read the FD Manual...........

Lookin' good there girl! :thumbup
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMPS - 151 No Shot

nckitties3 said:
Nice to see I'm not the only one with a 'Predictably Unpredictable' cat. :lol: If they would only read the FD Manual...........

I know, RIGHT?! I'm a lawyer by day, BG tester by night, so it's in my nature to analyze and study something until I figure it out. It makes my brain want to explode that there is not a mathematical formula that applies to this. Thankfully, Eddie is much more laid back about the unpredictability than I am. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMPS - 151 No Shot

I hear ya! Doesn't seem to bother Lucian in the least! ohmygod_smile But it makes me nutz! :lol:
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMBG = 151, PMPS = 371

PMPS is not surprising given no insulin for poor Eddie today. Gave 1.5u to test out the sliding scale for over 350.

If I happen to get a long duration in the AM tomorrow like this morning, is there any reason I shouldn't try a 0.8u dose, if Eddie is above, say for example, 150 tomorrow AM? I will be home to monitor so I can test this dose out. We end up with a scheduling mess if we wait to dose for more than about an hour, and I hate to skip a dose altogether if I can avoid it. Every time thus far that he's had a AMPS below 200, he's popped back up into the 300's within just a couple hours. He just randomly seems to get long duration on shots sometimes.
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMBG = 151, PMPS = 371

Thank you for your questions! It helps me to read the advice from others, since I know nothing about PZI. Helps me to learn. :thumbup

Of course Lucian decided to head back to the 'Black Hole' again today. :YMSIGH: 371 looks good to me! :lol:

I read, that if one shot time is below your no shot limit and the other spikes, that you should reduce the dose, so you can shoot both times. Is that how you understand it too?
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMBG = 151, PMPS = 371

nckitties3 said:
Of course Lucian decided to head back to the 'Black Hole' again today. :YMSIGH: 371 looks good to me! :lol:
I saw that, what a bummer. :sad: Hopefully he'll settle into a dose and get a longer duration out of it. He had some good mid-cycle numbers at least. Either dosing more frequently, or possibly even with a dose increase, you might get some longer duration. You may very well have to experiment a bit. That's the nice thing about non-depot insulin, is you can move on if one method isn't working.

As I understand it, PZI isn't supposed to necessarily have a variable duration based on the dose amount, however the manufacturer site says duration between 10-14 hours, which leaves a lot of room for variation!

nckitties3 said:
I read, that if one shot time is below your no shot limit and the other spikes, that you should reduce the dose, so you can shoot both times. Is that how you understand it too?

Generally, yes! :smile: The thought process being that a dose that's a bit too high may result in a longer duration than you want, and you want to be able to shoot two doses. We got off schedule by almost 4 hours one weekend when he had 14 hour long duration on back to back cycles. It's possible that the 1.4u that I'm working on with Eddie might be a smidge high, but I'm going to stick with it for the time being, because in the last 8 or 9 cycles, it hasn't been consistently a long duration, and Eddie is a rebel and doesn't follow the rules! :mrgreen:

A nadir that occurs later than +6/7 can also suggest a dose that's a bit high. We've seen this one too! E.g., nadir at +11. :shock:
 
Re: 1/24 Eddie AMBG = 151, PMPS = 371

Thanks for the info. Gotta love our 'rebels'! :lol:

Gonna see what a 10 hr cycle does for Lucian. It's a shot in the dark, but hey! something HAS to work. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top